Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM]CM9 4.0.4 ICS Liberty[09.Jul.2012]

OP munjeni

6th May 2012, 04:49 AM   |  #391  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 544
 
1,726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwavesurfer4

hard for me to flash gapps too. I am on at&t and can't set up the htc 2.2.2 ruu because the wizard is only compatible with windows (which i don't have)...anyone out there running gapps on their at&T aria wanna give me a hand on how to flash it?
Matt

Follow my alternative instructions on how to apply the 2.2.2 update here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=145

This method does not require Windows.
6th May 2012, 05:39 AM   |  #392  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
GPS lock
Hey, munjeni.

Is there a known issue with very slow GPS lock (I'm located in southeastern Pennsylvania in US)? I've read through the entire thread and saw a couple of posts very early on in the development of this ROM regarding GPS, but nothing too much since then.

When I start up Google Maps, Google Navigation, Endomondo, or just about any other application that uses GPS for determining location, it seems like the first lock takes 3-5 minutes. Once I have the initial lock in one app, it locks on almost instantly when I start another app.

What is odd is that I downloaded "GPS Status & Toolbox" by EclipSim to test GPS functionality and when I start the app, it locks onto 6-10 satellites within about 2-3 seconds. So, it seems that the GPS itself is working fine, but other apps are having a hard time locking on.

Any thoughts or ideas? Thanks in advance.

P.S. - Everything else in this ROM just rocks, by the way!
Last edited by cgrucelski; 6th May 2012 at 05:40 AM. Reason: Added P.S.
6th May 2012, 07:32 AM   |  #393  
lsusparky621's Avatar
Senior Member
Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 54
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgrucelski

When I start up Google Maps, Google Navigation, Endomondo, or just about any other application that uses GPS for determining location, it seems like the first lock takes 3-5 minutes. Once I have the initial lock in one app, it locks on almost instantly when I start another app.

What is odd is that I downloaded "GPS Status & Toolbox" by EclipSim to test GPS functionality and when I start the app, it locks onto 6-10 satellites within about 2-3 seconds. So, it seems that the GPS itself is working fine, but other apps are having a hard time locking on.

I have the same experience. It has to have something to do with the A-GPS data because GPS Status & Toolbox downloads this automatically, giving you the fast locks with that application alone. That is why I don't use that app as an indicator of initial lock time.

Sent from my Liberty using xda premium
6th May 2012, 08:32 AM   |  #394  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumist

Follow my alternative instructions on how to apply the 2.2.2 update here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=145

This method does not require Windows.

This worked great. it clearly says the hboot has been upgraded. Turned the phone off and booted into recovery and got a phone with a red triangle and an exclamation point...so...am i going to have to go through the steps to reroot my aria...or is this a problem with S-on? Let me know where to go from here.
Matt
6th May 2012, 03:15 PM   |  #395  
themacman1000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 124
 
1,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwavesurfer4

This worked great. it clearly says the hboot has been upgraded. Turned the phone off and booted into recovery and got a phone with a red triangle and an exclamation point...so...am i going to have to go through the steps to reroot my aria...or is this a problem with S-on? Let me know where to go from here.
Matt

That red exclamation mark is the stock recovery. You need to now flash CWM recovery.

Edit: Try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1122694


Sent from my HTC Intruder
6th May 2012, 03:54 PM   |  #396  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 544
 
1,726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwavesurfer4

This worked great. it clearly says the hboot has been upgraded. Turned the phone off and booted into recovery and got a phone with a red triangle and an exclamation point...so...am i going to have to go through the steps to reroot my aria...or is this a problem with S-on? Let me know where to go from here.
Matt

You need to install CWM again, like themacman1000 said. But you need to run Revolutionary first. The full process is this:

1) Use Revolutionary. This will give you S-OFF.
2) Install CWM by downloading Android Flasher and this version of CWM (this is the latest version available now). Run Android Flasher and flash the img file to your phone as a recovery.
3) You're done, but still have an unrooted ROM because this process does not modify your stock ROM. Go into recovery to flash the ROM of your choice.
Last edited by drumist; 6th May 2012 at 03:57 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to drumist For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2012, 04:32 PM   |  #397  
aster190's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwavesurfer4

This worked great. it clearly says the hboot has been upgraded. Turned the phone off and booted into recovery and got a phone with a red triangle and an exclamation point...so...am i going to have to go through the steps to reroot my aria...or is this a problem with S-on? Let me know where to go from here.
Matt

I used this method to root my Aria: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/HTC...l_Update_Guide
6th May 2012, 05:43 PM   |  #398  
munjeni's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 16,490
 
5,213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgrucelski

Hey, munjeni.

Is there a known issue with very slow GPS lock (I'm located in southeastern Pennsylvania in US)? I've read through the entire thread and saw a couple of posts very early on in the development of this ROM regarding GPS, but nothing too much since then.

When I start up Google Maps, Google Navigation, Endomondo, or just about any other application that uses GPS for determining location, it seems like the first lock takes 3-5 minutes. Once I have the initial lock in one app, it locks on almost instantly when I start another app.

What is odd is that I downloaded "GPS Status & Toolbox" by EclipSim to test GPS functionality and when I start the app, it locks onto 6-10 satellites within about 2-3 seconds. So, it seems that the GPS itself is working fine, but other apps are having a hard time locking on.

Any thoughts or ideas? Thanks in advance.

P.S. - Everything else in this ROM just rocks, by the way!

I allso have problem with slow gps lock... so what is your experimence about first patch for gps in my rom (it was gingerbread librpc) ? If it was worked better I will back librpc to gingerbread librpc! Also please try gps.conf from attachment and let me know, I'm curently on another device and have not time to try
Attached Files
File Type: rar gps.rar - [Click for QR Code] (665 Bytes, 46 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2012, 07:20 PM   |  #399  
redd920's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Apps wont find my location right away have to press the button like 5 or 6 times

Sent from my Liberty using XDA
6th May 2012, 07:41 PM   |  #400  
lsusparky621's Avatar
Senior Member
Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 54
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by munjeni

I allso have problem with slow gps lock... so what is your experimence about first patch for gps in my rom (it was gingerbread librpc) ? If it was worked better I will back librpc to gingerbread librpc! Also please try gps.conf from attachment and let me know, I'm curently on another device and have not time to try

I believe the gingerbread librpc worked better. I can try it out an see how it goes. Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes