Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,168 Members 50,718 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 8 gb sandisk SDHC help

Tip us?
 
Boristruyens
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leuven
Thumbs down [Q] 8 gb sandisk SDHC help

Hi,
I'm new to the forum
I just bought a new HTC desire Z but there's one problem
When i insert my 8 gb sandisk class 4 SDHC card,
It tells me to format it. When i press format nothing happens :s
Any tips?


Boris
 
EnricoTFYKD
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 109
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milano
Try formatting the card through a PC first, choosing FAT32 and deselecting the "fast format" option. Let it run (might take 15min or more) and then put the card in your phone. See if this way it works.
The Following User Says Thank You to EnricoTFYKD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Boristruyens
Old
(Last edited by Boristruyens; 4th May 2012 at 03:38 PM.) Reason: added extra info
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leuven
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnricoTFYKD View Post
Try formatting the card through a PC first, choosing FAT32 and deselecting the "fast format" option. Let it run (might take 15min or more) and then put the card in your phone. See if this way it works.
I already tried that, thanks for the fast reply anyway
I tried about everything i could find using google and this site's search function, but it all failed.
It sucks because you need a sd card for so many things on an android phone, even thoug it has 1.5 GB built in memory.
 
redpoint73
Old
#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2807
Posts: 6,352
Join Date: Oct 2007
Is it a new card? If so, its already formatted FAT32, and should work out of the box. If its still asking you to format, even after formatting on PC, and format on the phone doesn't work, the card may be defective or damaged.
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Boristruyens
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leuven
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73 View Post
Is it a new card? If so, its already formatted FAT32, and should work out of the box. If its still asking you to format, even after formatting on PC, and format on the phone doesn't work, the card may be defective or damaged.
New card, new phone. Thanks
 
redpoint73
Old
#6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2807
Posts: 6,352
Join Date: Oct 2007
I'm betting something is wrong with the card. That is not a normal message to get with a brand new SD card. Try a different one, if you have access to one, or excahnge the one you've got.
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
 
Boristruyens
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leuven
Thumbs down No luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73 View Post
I'm betting something is wrong with the card. That is not a normal message to get with a brand new SD card. Try a different one, if you have access to one, or excahnge the one you've got.
OK, so i've tried 2 diffirent 8gb sdhc cards and 1 regular 2gb sd card.
still no luck.
the same problem keeps occuring :s
I tried formatting the cards in every possible way, even trough adb with the card inside the phone, no luck.
I think i'm about to sell the phone on ebay
 
demkantor
Old
#8  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2608
Posts: 5,506
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mpls
you can just buy the sd card tray on ebay for about 12 bucks, easy to replace
 
lost800
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2010
Just format it on your computer instead (micro SD card reader or whatever).
I had this problem using IC9 beta, wouldn't format my card.

I used my PC and it was fine...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

How to Root the Sony Xperia Z2 – XDA Developer TV

In this episode,XDA Developer TV Producer TK shows you how to root your Sony Xperia … more

TWRP Now Available for the LG G Watch and Samsung Gear Live

Over the past week or so, we’ve talkedquite a bit about the first … more

Slate Calendar Helps You Organize Your Life

Without calendars in some form or another, most of our lives would be utter chaos. Unless you are … more

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more