Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Auto-start GPS recieve when using Google Maps...Possible?

OP Sigma47

20th February 2010, 03:38 PM   |  #1  
Sigma47's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag MPLS
Thanks Meter: 8
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
OK..Hope this is the proper place to post this...

I am horrible at remembering to charge my phone, thus I don't keep GPS on at all time because of battery drain. However, I find it frustrating that every time I start Google maps that I have to enable the GPS. It seems to me that there should be a function built into that app which would enable the user to have it automagically enable the GPS reciever on the apps start up. To my knowledge this isn't possible but I feel it would be very useful. So, does anyone know how one would achieve this? Would it be possible to write a script that would accomplish this?

Thanks in advance for the input.
20th February 2010, 05:37 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Menu button, Settings, Security & Location, set "Enable GPS satelites"
23rd February 2010, 07:47 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
if you enable gps it wont actually turn on until you open google maps or a location based program (you will see a satellite dish at the top letting you know if it is on). the gps setting basically just tells the phone if a program requests gps location it is okay to turn the gps antenna on.

otherwise its off and battery doesn't get affected
23rd February 2010, 08:23 PM   |  #4  
Sigma47's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag MPLS
Thanks Meter: 8
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Thanks...
Hey dk75 & averma, thanks for the posts. I should really read the fine print on some of these menu options prior to asking these questions...oops!
27th December 2010, 09:03 AM   |  #5  
pbecks1963's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zutphen
Thanks Meter: 86
 
639 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Hello!

My wife and me use latitude (from google) to see where we are on Google maps. Latitude works best if the GPS is on. HOWEVER, we just need to see each other on google maps when we are driving home (between 17:00 and 18:00). If i turn on the gps, latitude will eat the battery the whole DAY...) I would like to know if there is a way to schedule the activation of the gps...
29th December 2010, 04:27 PM   |  #6  
mooch777's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbecks1963

Hello!

My wife and me use latitude (from google) to see where we are on Google maps. Latitude works best if the GPS is on. HOWEVER, we just need to see each other on google maps when we are driving home (between 17:00 and 18:00). If i turn on the gps, latitude will eat the battery the whole DAY...) I would like to know if there is a way to schedule the activation of the gps...

Try looking up "Locale" on the market. App isn't free, but most of the plugins for it are, and you can combine the functions of the plugins to do almost anything.
I use it for exactly what you're talking about myself.
2nd February 2011, 02:58 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Kent
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Google Maps doesn't Auto-start GPS
Hi all,
I know this thread is pretty old but hoping for a reply all the same. I'm using the Galaxy S in the Uk with Google Maps & Navigation. I used to have the HTC HERO running maps & navigation and whenever I started either of those apps, the little atenna would appear to show that it was trying to find a gps position.

However, on my Galaxy S, whenever I start Maps or Navigation nothing happens. Even though I have "use wireless networks" and "use GPS satallites" both checked.
I cant imagine that technology would have taken a step back from such a useful feature and it is really irritating having to remember to disable/enable GPS (using SwitchPro home screen widget) before being able to use Maps or Navigation.

Anyone have any ideas how to fix this??
3rd March 2011, 11:07 PM   |  #8  
dedraks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belo Horizonte
Thanks Meter: 182
 
386 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Install Tasker app and create a profile that enables GPS when you run Maps app.
The Following User Says Thank You to dedraks For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 01:39 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
tasker
tasker does not let you autostart gps... is there any other way. i also hate having to turn on gps and right under enable gps in blue words under settings it says< uses more battery. i can send pic
8th May 2012, 02:32 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 127
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thumbs up [TUT] Enable GPS automatically for Maps
Quote:
Originally Posted by antinee_s@yahoo.com

tasker does not let you autostart gps... is there any other way. i also hate having to turn on gps and right under enable gps in blue words under settings it says< uses more battery. i can send pic

i have spent sometime now lurking behind the scenes in this group and
have read, in detail, my share of the posts. Make no mistake, the
guys here are experts and being experts their methods/explanation
often goes way over the head of the typical noob. this post is to
introduce this wonderful application of tasker to the inimitable
noob. i hope my effort would ease someone's labour.

imagine this scenario: you switch on maps on your phone and keep
wondering why it does not show your precise location and then it hits
you! you did not switch on your GPS. this post explains how to create
a profile that switches on your GPS automatically when you fire up
maps.

Just remember this: Profile is the context i.e. what you want to do.
in the present case, you want to first start maps and when maps is
started you want to switch on GPS. then when you exit maps, you want
GPS to be switched off. this is the object.

Stage 1: In profile tab click the + sign. give a name like 'MAP'.
this name will identify the profile that is currently active. after
you name it press the green tick and you are shown several options
like application, time, day etc. Now maps come under applications, so
press applications and all the appliations in your phone are
displayed. scroll down and select maps and press the tick mark. at
this stage you have told tasker that whatever you want to do revolves
around maps.

Stage 2: Now that you have hinted to tasker about the application
that is to be run, we should next state what should happen when the
appliation is started. after you press the tick mark you will be
shown a window asking for task selection. press new task and give it
a name like switch on GPS.

Stage 3: after baptising the task, you will be taken to a broad
window . press the + mark on the bottom left and the confusion
begins. a pletora of options is thrown at you (this is why tasker is
so darn powerful). this is called the 'select action category'.
digressing a little here you should know that google has changed
something with android and you cannot in the usual course toggle GPS.
so you should download an app called 'secure settings' (from google
play) and install it. once it is installed open it and it gives you an
option to install a helper. install the helper also. this activates
the GPS option.

Stage 4: once that process is completed, come back to tasker and get
yourself to the 'select action category'. here press on plugin and
then on secure settings. in the next window, touch 'edit' and then
scroll down to GPS and touch it. three options are displayed viz. on,
off and toggle. choose on and press the floppy disk icon to the
bottom left. press the tick mark and again press the tick mark. at
this stage you have succeeded in activating GPS when maps is started.
however, when you exit maps you find that GPS does not switch off by
itself.

Stage 5: to make it switch off by itself, you need to create the same
task again. just long press on the task which has already been
created (called here as switch on GPS) and you are presented with
several options. select the first one - 'add exit task' and follow
the process as in stage 4. however, instead of choosing 'on' select
'off' this time. once this is done come out and test it.

Stage 6 - and the most important - Feel happy and satisfied.

i am sure there should be some easier way to do this. however, in my
limited understanding of tasker this was how i did it. i really am
confused about the variables. i hope someone will help. when i say
confused, i should clarify that i have no inkling of what it does. :
( could someone tell me where to read up on it? i have searched on
google and i havent found any satisfactory explanation.

i will continue to post my profiles and i hope it is of help to the
group here.

J.RAM

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to capaxdoli For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
google maps, gps
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes