FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[TESTED] ICS on Australian Tablet S

3,207 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,801
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
4th May 2012, 02:15 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
question
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sentinel196

REMEMBER: At present it is not possible to root a tablet which has been upgraded using this method. Once you update, you will loose Root access, which makes changing the region back to your original country impossible. Only use this method if you don't care that you will loose root.

While this worked just fine for me, I'm not promising it will work for others. Try this at your own risk.

Step 1. Install the ADB drivers using the instructions here

Step 2. Download and run the All-In-One tool from here

Step 3. Follow the on screen instructions to Root your Tablet. Once this is completed and the device has rebooted, open AIO tool again.

Step 4. Follow the on screen instructions to change your Region to US.

Step 5. Reboot your tablet and go to settings-About-System Update. It should prompt you to download the 4.0.3 update now.

Step 6. Download and follow the instructions on screen to update.

cna i ask, is the usb cable required for the sony tablet a standard micro usb to usb cable??
 
 
4th May 2012, 02:17 AM |#12  
stifilz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NZ
Thanks Meter: 425
 
Donate to Me
More
Yes. I have used many different cables. If the shoe fits.....
The Following User Says Thank You to stifilz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2012, 02:42 AM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
another question
can you tell me if ics on the sony tablet s supports ad hoc wifi connections, its the main reason id like to upgrade to ics, has anybody tried it?

I have a rooted htc hd2 with barnicle wifi tether, it only has ad hoc as a wifi connection !!
Last edited by plantechbartyn; 4th May 2012 at 02:45 AM.
4th May 2012, 05:57 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 150
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by plantechbartyn

can you tell me if ics on the sony tablet s supports ad hoc wifi connections, its the main reason id like to upgrade to ics, has anybody tried it?

I have a rooted htc hd2 with barnicle wifi tether, it only has ad hoc as a wifi connection !!

Sorry, no adhoc implemented in this tablet. No direct wifi too.
6th May 2012, 02:43 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 82
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebarkh

Sorry, no adhoc implemented in this tablet. No direct wifi too.

I know Ad Hoc is a software patch, but I think Direct WiFi is not possible on this Tablet's WiFi chipset. Needs newer hardware support that we don't have, unfortunately.

Happy to be proven wrong!
8th May 2012, 04:16 AM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
disadvantages to rooting
anyone know of any disadvantages to rooting the tablet and changing it to the US region.

I am thinking of doing this but still not sure.

I am in New Zealand with an Australian version

Thanks
Last edited by rodloc; 8th May 2012 at 04:21 AM.
8th May 2012, 11:51 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 153
 
More
I did this works fine except you lose root if you use the stock OTA

Sent from my GT-P6800 using Tapatalk 2
8th May 2012, 11:52 AM |#18  
Sentinel196's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,801
 
Donate to Me
More
You'll get US content on Sony Entertainment Network services, rather than Australian.

More of an advantage if you ask me.

other than that, none that I'm aware of.

I'm pretty sure the All-in-one tool can set your region back after the update now too. But maybe check with Condi. It's changed since I flashed a week ago.
8th May 2012, 01:53 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
Can changing the region and downloading ICS brick your device in anyway??

I've got a UK Tablet S and TBH I'm close to selling it because I can't stand HC. I'm close to picking up a Moto Xoom just for ICS even though the screen is poorer and its as heavy as a brick.
9th May 2012, 12:59 AM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Warren,

Just be sure to follow the instructions exactly. If you have any questions, just ask around here. I'm not taking responsibility for your device, so I won't say there is ABSOLUTELY NO CHANCE of it bricking, but a lot of people have done it without problems, myself included (I was on an Australian device).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes