Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,164 Members 49,958 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TESTED] ICS on Australian Tablet S

Tip us?
 
plantechbartyn
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sentinel196 View Post
REMEMBER: At present it is not possible to root a tablet which has been upgraded using this method. Once you update, you will loose Root access, which makes changing the region back to your original country impossible. Only use this method if you don't care that you will loose root.

While this worked just fine for me, I'm not promising it will work for others. Try this at your own risk.

Step 1. Install the ADB drivers using the instructions here

Step 2. Download and run the All-In-One tool from here

Step 3. Follow the on screen instructions to Root your Tablet. Once this is completed and the device has rebooted, open AIO tool again.

Step 4. Follow the on screen instructions to change your Region to US.

Step 5. Reboot your tablet and go to settings-About-System Update. It should prompt you to download the 4.0.3 update now.

Step 6. Download and follow the instructions on screen to update.
cna i ask, is the usb cable required for the sony tablet a standard micro usb to usb cable??
 
stifilz
Old
#12  
stifilz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 371
Posts: 1,076
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NZ

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes. I have used many different cables. If the shoe fits.....
The Following User Says Thank You to stifilz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
plantechbartyn
Old
(Last edited by plantechbartyn; 4th May 2012 at 02:45 AM.)
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default another question

can you tell me if ics on the sony tablet s supports ad hoc wifi connections, its the main reason id like to upgrade to ics, has anybody tried it?

I have a rooted htc hd2 with barnicle wifi tether, it only has ad hoc as a wifi connection !!
 
sebarkh
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 1,002
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warsaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by plantechbartyn View Post
can you tell me if ics on the sony tablet s supports ad hoc wifi connections, its the main reason id like to upgrade to ics, has anybody tried it?

I have a rooted htc hd2 with barnicle wifi tether, it only has ad hoc as a wifi connection !!
Sorry, no adhoc implemented in this tablet. No direct wifi too.
 
agc93
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 345
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brisbane

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebarkh View Post
Sorry, no adhoc implemented in this tablet. No direct wifi too.
I know Ad Hoc is a software patch, but I think Direct WiFi is not possible on this Tablet's WiFi chipset. Needs newer hardware support that we don't have, unfortunately.

Happy to be proven wrong!
--agc93----------------

~~~~~~Sony Tablet S~~~~~
~~Rooted Android 3.2.1r2~~~


"The command-line: stopping noobs dead since...forever" (CS351, 2011)

If I've helped out at all, please hit the THANKS button!!
 
rodloc
Old
(Last edited by rodloc; 8th May 2012 at 04:21 AM.)
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2012
Default disadvantages to rooting

anyone know of any disadvantages to rooting the tablet and changing it to the US region.

I am thinking of doing this but still not sure.

I am in New Zealand with an Australian version

Thanks
 
wintermute000
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,468
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
I did this works fine except you lose root if you use the stock OTA

Sent from my GT-P6800 using Tapatalk 2
 
Sentinel196
Old
#18  
Sentinel196's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 3,775
Posts: 3,171
Join Date: Mar 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
You'll get US content on Sony Entertainment Network services, rather than Australian.

More of an advantage if you ask me.

other than that, none that I'm aware of.

I'm pretty sure the All-in-one tool can set your region back after the update now too. But maybe check with Condi. It's changed since I flashed a week ago.




Be sure to check out our new/free Android game - Can you be the Wheelie King?
 
Warren_Orange
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 659
Join Date: Jun 2011
Can changing the region and downloading ICS brick your device in anyway??

I've got a UK Tablet S and TBH I'm close to selling it because I can't stand HC. I'm close to picking up a Moto Xoom just for ICS even though the screen is poorer and its as heavy as a brick.
 
vnqshr
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Warren,

Just be sure to follow the instructions exactly. If you have any questions, just ask around here. I'm not taking responsibility for your device, so I won't say there is ABSOLUTELY NO CHANCE of it bricking, but a lot of people have done it without problems, myself included (I was on an Australian device).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more

Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more