5,598,657 Members 39,663 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Stock Firmware]Restore Barnes & Nobel Nook Tablet 16G 1.4.0 from SDCard

Tip us?
 
AdamOutler
Old
#181  
AdamOutler's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 9428
Posts: 5,123
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Louisiana

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwood625 View Post
I rooted my nook tablet with NTV16gbV4_6 before but trying to get to original software. Itried this file got this error i was wondering if someone can tell what i am doing wrong.
See what happens when you "Toggle script asserts"
Flash with Odin on Windows, Linux and Mac. Use JOdin3, Available in a web browser or offline
Check out my developer pages. Add me to your circles on Google Plus.
The Following User Says Thank You to AdamOutler For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
agnes00777
Old
(Last edited by agnes00777; 31st March 2012 at 01:04 AM.)
#182  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2011
It semt to work - but did not work for me !

I have a Nook 1.4.0 that was tweaked to sideload apps. Then with 1.4.2, I mad eseveral attemps to root with indirect method, Albert, Brian. I got some kind of different suystem now but than never worked (neither USB debugging, nor Martket, nor APK installs)

So I tried this acclaim-update.zip and the process semt to go very smooth (installing new software etc). Unfortunately, when it starts again, I get the same broken system as before.
I dont know what do to...

---------- Post added at 01:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 AM ----------

PS: ARG - the procedure did not work, yet it seems the N button does no longer work!

So I tried the 8 times reboot with N+Power, and that one relaunched some kind of reinstall that indeed seems to have reset everything to 1.4.0!

Thanks
 
agnes00777
Old
#183  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2011
Unhappy Oh, I need serious help again...

My Tablet is now in no-mode (keeps stocked on B&N "read forever screen) and this resttore no longer works.

- Yesterday, I restored 1.4.0 using this thread method. Worked
- Then I used Albert Wertz s Backup of a rooted 1.4.0 from here
It seems has already OTA bloked
- Then I was to install CM7, and used the CWM flasher apk. That is where somewhere I did a mistake, after backing up and erasing all data, I somehow got in trouble, and restored the old 1.4.0 B&N
- Now I am willing to go back to stage 0, but when I try using this restore it does not work anymore, I guess because my build.prop has been changed in the process
It says "assert.failed: getprop ("ro.product.device" = blaze or somehthing alike.
- The curse is, I cant use other restores I bhave (for some MD5 mismatch after redoing cards etc
- I also cant use ssimple root procedures, as my basic system is coorrupted.

I am lost!
Really would like some help, I'd like find someone I could even pay to coach me back to track!
 
greenwood625
Old
(Last edited by greenwood625; 10th May 2012 at 06:40 PM.)
#184  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2012
If I used team - b final version of cynogen 7 internally for my 16 gb nook tablet, can I still use Acclaim_upadate.zip to get back to original software. If so can I use it using the recovery mode( install zip from sd card) instead of formatting the sd card And putting the zip file in the root of sd card.

I tried with 2gb scan disk card( fat 32) and it's taking me to recovery mode. When I tried to install zip from sd card I am getting this below error. I don't know what I am doing wrong.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	437
Size:	217.2 KB
ID:	1052926  
 
jalenthejiv
Old
#185  
jalenthejiv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 360
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ashland

 
DONATE TO ME
help im stuck on the please do not turn off your device

Installing new software. there is a green checkmark

what do i do

Rom- P.A.C man rom
Kernel-Sempahore
Case-Trident case with dust filters

 
lavero.burgos
Old
(Last edited by lavero.burgos; 11th May 2012 at 04:59 AM.)
#186  
lavero.burgos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1301
Posts: 2,506
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Guayaquil

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwood625 View Post
If I used team - b final version of cynogen 7 internally for my 16 gb nook tablet, can I still use Acclaim_upadate.zip to get back to original software. If so can I use it using the recovery mode( install zip from sd card) instead of formatting the sd card And putting the zip file in the root of sd card.

I tried with 2gb scan disk card( fat 32) and it's taking me to recovery mode. When I tried to install zip from sd card I am getting this below error. I don't know what I am doing wrong.
Use this with a 4gb sdcard min. , that has been said before and i think is in OP aswell.
This should work over any rom you have installed but first is better if you flash stock recovery by using recovery flasher app by @Indirect (easiest way), dd, terminal emulator app or fastboot (cyanoboot feature).

~ Veronica

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:09 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jalenthejiv View Post
help im stuck on the please do not turn off your device

Installing new software. there is a green checkmark

what do i do
I saw your post you "wiped" all your partitions right meaning you formatted them, am i right?. If so then please read and use one of this methods that is best for you depending on what you really did to your device:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...39&postcount=1

ADVANCED:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1605664

then if you formatted rom partition:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1610069

If you get stuck using those methods please post in the respective thread so we can help you. Good Luck!

~ Veronica
SG Captivate - PAC ROM 4.2.2 | SGS2X - CM10.1 4.2.2 | NOOK Tablet - CM10.1 4.2.2 |

If i helped you please hit
button -
Your files everywhere! Get dropbox 2GB+250mb free: http://db.tt/9DHo4Gi

VIDEO TUTORIALS
My XDA FTP Folder ~ GDrive Folder ~ My XDA Threads
 
greenwood625
Old
#187  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lavero.burgos View Post
Use this with a 4gb sdcard min. , that has been said before and i think is in OP aswell.
This should work over any rom you have installed but first is better if you flash stock recovery by using recovery flasher app by @Indirect (easiest way), dd, terminal emulator app or fastboot (cyanoboot feature).

~ Veronica

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:09 PM ----------



I saw your post you "wiped" all your partitions right meaning you formatted them, am i right?. If so then please read and use one of this methods that is best for you depending on what you really did to your device:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...39&postcount=1

ADVANCED:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1605664

then if you formatted rom partition:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1610069

If you get stuck using those methods please post in the respective thread so we can help you. Good Luck!

~ Veronica
I even tried with 32gb samsung class10 sdhc card.
 
meghd00t
Old
#188  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 112
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
after some investigation - factory.zip in /factory is identical to acclaim_update.zip which is different from nook_tablet_1.4.2.zip in the presence of a 423 byte header at the beginning.

So for 8GB units if you do

dd if=nooktablet_1_4_2_update.zip of=acclaim_update.zip bs=423 skip=1

you can get the same effect as long as your MLO & u-boot are OK, to fix that look for succulents cwm and zips in github
Thanks & best regards

-m

--
my files http://d-h.st/users/meghd00t/ or http://goo.im/devs/meghd00t/
 
jpvasquez
Old
#189  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 52
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: La Paz
Default Awesome

This totally worked, thank you very much
The Following User Says Thank You to jpvasquez For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SoCalTiger
Old
#190  
SoCalTiger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 169
Join Date: May 2011
Newbie question. Just got a Nook Tablet which came with 1.4.3. Can I just follow the instructions in the first post to "downgrade" to 1.4.0? I just want to add the ability to sideload apps and I'm happy.

Any risk I should be aware of? Of the downgrade that is, not the risk of installing random apps.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes