Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Stock Firmware]Restore Barnes & Nobel Nook Tablet 16G 1.4.0 from SDCard

OP AdamOutler

19th March 2012, 03:29 PM   |  #181  
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwood625

I rooted my nook tablet with NTV16gbV4_6 before but trying to get to original software. Itried this file got this error i was wondering if someone can tell what i am doing wrong.

See what happens when you "Toggle script asserts"
The Following User Says Thank You to AdamOutler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st March 2012, 01:49 AM   |  #182  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
It semt to work - but did not work for me !

I have a Nook 1.4.0 that was tweaked to sideload apps. Then with 1.4.2, I mad eseveral attemps to root with indirect method, Albert, Brian. I got some kind of different suystem now but than never worked (neither USB debugging, nor Martket, nor APK installs)

So I tried this acclaim-update.zip and the process semt to go very smooth (installing new software etc). Unfortunately, when it starts again, I get the same broken system as before.
I dont know what do to...

---------- Post added at 01:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 AM ----------

PS: ARG - the procedure did not work, yet it seems the N button does no longer work!

So I tried the 8 times reboot with N+Power, and that one relaunched some kind of reinstall that indeed seems to have reset everything to 1.4.0!

Thanks
Last edited by agnes00777; 31st March 2012 at 02:04 AM.
31st March 2012, 03:37 PM   |  #183  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Unhappy Oh, I need serious help again...
My Tablet is now in no-mode (keeps stocked on B&N "read forever screen) and this resttore no longer works.

- Yesterday, I restored 1.4.0 using this thread method. Worked
- Then I used Albert Wertz s Backup of a rooted 1.4.0 from here
It seems has already OTA bloked
- Then I was to install CM7, and used the CWM flasher apk. That is where somewhere I did a mistake, after backing up and erasing all data, I somehow got in trouble, and restored the old 1.4.0 B&N
- Now I am willing to go back to stage 0, but when I try using this restore it does not work anymore, I guess because my build.prop has been changed in the process
It says "assert.failed: getprop ("ro.product.device" = blaze or somehthing alike.
- The curse is, I cant use other restores I bhave (for some MD5 mismatch after redoing cards etc
- I also cant use ssimple root procedures, as my basic system is coorrupted.

I am lost!
Really would like some help, I'd like find someone I could even pay to coach me back to track!
6th May 2012, 08:02 PM   |  #184  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
If I used team - b final version of cynogen 7 internally for my 16 gb nook tablet, can I still use Acclaim_upadate.zip to get back to original software. If so can I use it using the recovery mode( install zip from sd card) instead of formatting the sd card And putting the zip file in the root of sd card.

I tried with 2gb scan disk card( fat 32) and it's taking me to recovery mode. When I tried to install zip from sd card I am getting this below error. I don't know what I am doing wrong.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	217.2 KB
ID:	1052926  
Last edited by greenwood625; 10th May 2012 at 07:40 PM.
10th May 2012, 03:09 AM   |  #185  
jalenthejiv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ashland
Thanks Meter: 16
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
help im stuck on the please do not turn off your device

Installing new software. there is a green checkmark

what do i do
10th May 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #186  
lavero.burgos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 1,320
 
2,518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwood625

If I used team - b final version of cynogen 7 internally for my 16 gb nook tablet, can I still use Acclaim_upadate.zip to get back to original software. If so can I use it using the recovery mode( install zip from sd card) instead of formatting the sd card And putting the zip file in the root of sd card.

I tried with 2gb scan disk card( fat 32) and it's taking me to recovery mode. When I tried to install zip from sd card I am getting this below error. I don't know what I am doing wrong.

Use this with a 4gb sdcard min. , that has been said before and i think is in OP aswell.
This should work over any rom you have installed but first is better if you flash stock recovery by using recovery flasher app by @Indirect (easiest way), dd, terminal emulator app or fastboot (cyanoboot feature).

~ Veronica

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:09 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jalenthejiv

help im stuck on the please do not turn off your device

Installing new software. there is a green checkmark

what do i do

I saw your post you "wiped" all your partitions right meaning you formatted them, am i right?. If so then please read and use one of this methods that is best for you depending on what you really did to your device:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...39&postcount=1

ADVANCED:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1605664

then if you formatted rom partition:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1610069

If you get stuck using those methods please post in the respective thread so we can help you. Good Luck!

~ Veronica
Last edited by lavero.burgos; 11th May 2012 at 05:59 AM.
14th May 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #187  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lavero.burgos

Use this with a 4gb sdcard min. , that has been said before and i think is in OP aswell.
This should work over any rom you have installed but first is better if you flash stock recovery by using recovery flasher app by @Indirect (easiest way), dd, terminal emulator app or fastboot (cyanoboot feature).

~ Veronica

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:09 PM ----------



I saw your post you "wiped" all your partitions right meaning you formatted them, am i right?. If so then please read and use one of this methods that is best for you depending on what you really did to your device:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...39&postcount=1

ADVANCED:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1605664

then if you formatted rom partition:

* http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1610069

If you get stuck using those methods please post in the respective thread so we can help you. Good Luck!

~ Veronica

I even tried with 32gb samsung class10 sdhc card.
17th May 2012, 04:25 PM   |  #188  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 140
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
after some investigation - factory.zip in /factory is identical to acclaim_update.zip which is different from nook_tablet_1.4.2.zip in the presence of a 423 byte header at the beginning.

So for 8GB units if you do

dd if=nooktablet_1_4_2_update.zip of=acclaim_update.zip bs=423 skip=1

you can get the same effect as long as your MLO & u-boot are OK, to fix that look for succulents cwm and zips in github
7th November 2012, 11:23 PM   |  #189  
Member
Flag La Paz
Thanks Meter: 2
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Awesome
This totally worked, thank you very much
The Following User Says Thank You to jpvasquez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2012, 08:36 AM   |  #190  
SoCalTiger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Newbie question. Just got a Nook Tablet which came with 1.4.3. Can I just follow the instructions in the first post to "downgrade" to 1.4.0? I just want to add the ability to sideload apps and I'm happy.

Any risk I should be aware of? Of the downgrade that is, not the risk of installing random apps.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes