5,594,653 Members 32,762 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] disable screen capture

Tip us?
 
bandito40
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hamilton
Default [Q] disable screen capture

Hi,

Looked around but I didn't see a post on this. Is there a way to disable the screen capture feature? I am tired of taking images of my screen and having the home button capturing images of my screen. If any one knows that would be great.
 
AlwaysDroid
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 246
Posts: 963
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandito40 View Post
Hi,

Looked around but I didn't see a post on this. Is there a way to disable the screen capture feature? I am tired of taking images of my screen and having the home button capturing images of my screen. If any one knows that would be great.
Stock ROM?
Phone Specs:
Phone: HTC One
ROM: Paranoid Android

Galaxy Gio, Galaxy S > Nexus 4 > HTC One
 
SpaceCaker
Old
#3  
SpaceCaker's Avatar
Recognized Themer / Contributor
Thanks Meter 9951
Posts: 12,836
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: netherlands
If stock rom delete screencaptureservice.apk



Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
 

My Github Click Here
Github BroadcomCM Click Here
Github CyanoSpaceMod Click Here
Github MSR-Roms Click Here
Linux HP-Pavilion-G7 3.11.0-14-generic #21-Ubuntu SMP Tue Nov 12 17:04:55 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
 
voetbalremco
Old
#4  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1756
Posts: 4,124
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gelderland

 
DONATE TO ME
Better freeze it then remove

Sent from my GT-S5660 using xda premium
Devices:
iPad 3rd gen. 16GB Wifi
iOcean X7 Youth
Samsung Galaxy Gio

buy me a beer if you like my work
 
bandito40
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hamilton
How would I go about removing or freezing it?
 
voetbalremco
Old
#6  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1756
Posts: 4,124
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gelderland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandito40 View Post
How would I go about removing or freezing it?
you need root, but if you're on XDA ''developers'' , I suggest you already have...
otherwise use the universal root.zip at the dev section of the gio..

then install an app like titanium backup..

freezing is disabling the app, but not removing it.
removing does remove the app ofcourse
Devices:
iPad 3rd gen. 16GB Wifi
iOcean X7 Youth
Samsung Galaxy Gio

buy me a beer if you like my work
 
bandito40
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hamilton
I have titanium backup installed already but I don't see a file called screencapture... My filters are set to "ALL" so I should be able to see everything. Is there another file I should be looking for?
 
voetbalremco
Old
#8  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1756
Posts: 4,124
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gelderland

 
DONATE TO ME
it really is called screencaptureservice.apk , use a file browser and go to system/app , maybe titanium can't find all .apk's
Devices:
iPad 3rd gen. 16GB Wifi
iOcean X7 Youth
Samsung Galaxy Gio

buy me a beer if you like my work
 
bandito40
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hamilton
I found it in /system/app using Root Explorer but how to I go about freezing it do I just back it up and the remove it??
 
voetbalremco
Old
#10  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1756
Posts: 4,124
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: gelderland

 
DONATE TO ME
Move it to your sd card, somewhere..


Sent from my GT-S5660 using xda premium
Devices:
iPad 3rd gen. 16GB Wifi
iOcean X7 Youth
Samsung Galaxy Gio

buy me a beer if you like my work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more