5,596,637 Members 41,853 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

External SD CWM backup?

Tip us?
 
Aquethys
Old
#1  
Aquethys's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 788
Posts: 1,265
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Default External SD CWM backup?

Hi guys,
I have my clockwork mod folder on my external SanDisk 16gb sdhc...does anyone know how to be able to restore this way? Does the backup have to be on internal storage? I don't see a "mount ext sd" option in mounts...
While I'm asking this..
When you move apps to external do they no longer show up in your app drawer...? I'm using go launcher but it seems they disappear when I move them to external sd card.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda premium




 
drewdown757
Old
#2  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 102
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
I would like to know about using the external sd card for cwm instead of internal as well....
 
dudejb
Old
#3  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 571
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
by default from what I read CWM uses the internal SD card but I believe I heard some people mentioning on the forums that you can modify something in the kernel or a config file somewhere to change this. Unfortunately I do not know how sorry.
 
drewdown757
Old
#4  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 102
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudejb View Post
by default from what I read CWM uses the internal SD card but I believe I heard some people mentioning on the forums that you can modify something in the kernel or a config file somewhere to change this. Unfortunately I do not know how sorry.
Ive looked through every kernel thread and just about every rom thread and dont see anything about being able to switch it over to using your external sd card for backups....it sux but guess its not possible yet
 
dudejb
Old
#5  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 571
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
There is a few posts in the CWM thread that talk about swapping the internal SD for the External SD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by romanr View Post
Can you please mount external sdcard instead of internal one.
/etc/fstab:
Code:
#/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 /sdcard vfat rw
/dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /sdcard vfat rw
then he says he did it like this below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanr View Post
Thanks, but not needed. I swapped my internal/external storage and this recovery now perfectly fits for me - my .android_secure is backed up by backup tool now - that's only why I asked.

How about adding
Code:
/dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /sdcard/external_sd vfat rw
/dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /sd-ext ext4 rw
to the fstab ?
This may do what you want?
The Following User Says Thank You to dudejb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
drewdown757
Old
#6  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 102
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudejb View Post
There is a few posts in the CWM thread that talk about swapping the internal SD for the External SD.


then he says he did it like this below:



This may do what you want?
Ill have to give it a try, kinda scared too cuz im a noob at that kinda stuff but i appreciate the help!
 
drewdown757
Old
#7  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 102
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
ok so im using root explorer, opened up the fstab file to edit and am stuck there, not really sure where to add those commands at...i think it would just be easier to leave it on internal storage lol
 
dudejb
Old
#8  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 571
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Yes it would be easier to leave it as it is. Lol. I have modified the fstab in Linux but not on my phone. If it is the same type of file you need to make sure you are opening it as root and there should already be a line with your current file system being mapped and simply replace it with the new line.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Sony Xperia Z, ZL, ZR, and Tablet Z to Receive Official KitKat Update in May

It’s no secret that although Sony is one of the most … more

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more