FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

External SD CWM backup?

1,266 posts
Thanks Meter: 800
 
By Aquethys, Retired Forum Moderator on 4th May 2012, 12:14 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi guys,
I have my clockwork mod folder on my external SanDisk 16gb sdhc...does anyone know how to be able to restore this way? Does the backup have to be on internal storage? I don't see a "mount ext sd" option in mounts...
While I'm asking this..
When you move apps to external do they no longer show up in your app drawer...? I'm using go launcher but it seems they disappear when I move them to external sd card.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda premium
 
 
11th May 2012, 02:20 AM |#2  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, Fl
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
I would like to know about using the external sd card for cwm instead of internal as well....
11th May 2012, 02:13 PM |#3  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
by default from what I read CWM uses the internal SD card but I believe I heard some people mentioning on the forums that you can modify something in the kernel or a config file somewhere to change this. Unfortunately I do not know how sorry.
11th May 2012, 08:04 PM |#4  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, Fl
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudejb

by default from what I read CWM uses the internal SD card but I believe I heard some people mentioning on the forums that you can modify something in the kernel or a config file somewhere to change this. Unfortunately I do not know how sorry.

Ive looked through every kernel thread and just about every rom thread and dont see anything about being able to switch it over to using your external sd card for backups....it sux but guess its not possible yet
11th May 2012, 08:48 PM |#5  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
There is a few posts in the CWM thread that talk about swapping the internal SD for the External SD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by romanr

Can you please mount external sdcard instead of internal one.
/etc/fstab:

Code:
#/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 /sdcard vfat rw
/dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /sdcard vfat rw

then he says he did it like this below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanr

Thanks, but not needed. I swapped my internal/external storage and this recovery now perfectly fits for me - my .android_secure is backed up by backup tool now - that's only why I asked.

How about adding

Code:
/dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /sdcard/external_sd vfat rw
/dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /sd-ext ext4 rw
to the fstab ?

This may do what you want?
The Following User Says Thank You to dudejb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 10:50 PM |#6  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, Fl
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudejb

There is a few posts in the CWM thread that talk about swapping the internal SD for the External SD.


then he says he did it like this below:



This may do what you want?

Ill have to give it a try, kinda scared too cuz im a noob at that kinda stuff but i appreciate the help!
12th May 2012, 02:44 AM |#7  
drewdown757's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, Fl
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
ok so im using root explorer, opened up the fstab file to edit and am stuck there, not really sure where to add those commands at...i think it would just be easier to leave it on internal storage lol
12th May 2012, 11:28 AM |#8  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Yes it would be easier to leave it as it is. Lol. I have modified the fstab in Linux but not on my phone. If it is the same type of file you need to make sure you are opening it as root and there should already be a line with your current file system being mapped and simply replace it with the new line.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes