How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unlock Verizon HTC Trophy?

OP fad4507

11th May 2012, 03:20 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Hello!
I was wondering if anyone could please help me with an issue I am having with my HTC Trophy (locked for Verizon)
I am looking to unlock it to use with a Trinidadian SIM card for when I return home, but it is prompting me for an unlock code when I put the phone into GSM mode. It says "This SIM card can only be used on specific networks. Contact your customer service center for the unlock code"

On Global Mode it also says locked/PIN required, on CDMA it does not show a carrier but will prompt me over to Verizon customer support to activate the phone (which I do not want to do)

I called Verizon; they won't give me an unlock code and the Unlock-code eBay the sellers I have contacted said it MUST have a 14 digit code; but I only have 13...
I am attaching a photo of the information of my phone. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
photo link (no space between http) http ://c1205.hizliresim.com/x/c/5nlrq.jpg
13th May 2012, 09:20 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Corry PA
Thanks Meter: 113
 
477 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Check the inside of the phone, under the battery to see if there is another digit to your IMEI.. it has 14 digits in your photo.. so I don't know why you'd think there was only 13 O_o.. that's the number you need.

I wonder if anyone knows a good service for doing this on Trophy 7 for Verizon. I know mwang has his security unlocked to use his on T-Mobile., I wonder if he used a service?

Verizon will normally provide you with an unlock code if you have service with them, and you tell them you are traveling internationally.
The Following User Says Thank You to TheXev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2012, 05:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Thumbs up
Ah sorry I meant the eBay unlock code sellers told me I would need a 15 digit, not a 14 digit IMEI to unlock this dual CDMA/GSM device. However I found a seller that was able to do it; r.ebay.com/FYDQfX

and now; SUCCESS img: e1205.hizliresim.com/x/f/5tm57.jpg
13th May 2012, 07:49 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Also to clarify; what was causing me grief was that by dialing *#06# gives you the MEID, which starts with 'A' and to my knowledge is not used to unlock a dual CDMA/GSM device.
23rd May 2012, 07:54 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
IF you press *#06# you should be getting 17 digits.
You can also check the Settings sections in mobile, that will also show you the IMEI number, or remove battery from the phone, it should be printed on white sticker.
Thanks
27th May 2012, 10:47 PM   |  #6  
Dalulz's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Just used an unlock code from the eBay seller mentioned in the above post; worked perfectly! The only issue I'm having now is that I'm only getting Edge wireless. I set it to use 3g and GSM on my HTC Trophy using a Straight Talk sim, but it just connects to the Edge network instead. The APN I'm using is att.mvno

Any suggestions? I know the Verizon Trophy supports HSPA+ 2100MHz

Did you ever get 3g on your phone Fad?
30th May 2012, 06:47 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Corry PA
Thanks Meter: 113
 
477 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yeah, try this. Go to the market, HTC.. then download/install "Connection Setup." Run that app and set it to whatever carrier you are using. That should get everything up and running for you.

If you still aren't getting 3G data speeds, check Straight Talk's coverage map and see if 3G is offered in your area. Straight Talk uses AT&T towers in many areas, and I know in my area... 3G is a no go.
Last edited by TheXev; 30th May 2012 at 06:53 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to TheXev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th May 2012, 03:58 PM   |  #8  
Dalulz's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Thank you so much for the response!

I did a lot of reading on the HTC Connection Setup app, and it should help those that are using T-mobile or AT&T, however, it does not have a Straight Talk profile, which is the carrier I'm using; apparently it doesn't work with .mvno APNs very well.

However, they have been bombarded with Straight Talk customers asking for support, and it's only a matter of time before they add one, supposedly.

I've spoken with a few other HTC Trophy users and all of them were also able to get their phones unlocked, but they could only get Edge data as well. Hopefully the connection setup app will help them!
31st May 2012, 08:07 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Corry PA
Thanks Meter: 113
 
477 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Try contacting Stiaght Talk for the apns. They should be able to provide them to you... Then post them here. ;)
9th June 2012, 05:43 PM   |  #10  
Dalulz's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Well, unfortunately the HTC Connection Setup app does not allow you to manually edit the APN. It only allows you to select a preset one and as I said before, they do not have a Straight Talk profile as of now.

The only editing you can do on a Windows Phone without an app, is just the actual APN, Proxy, Port, Username, and Password. You cannot edit the MMS APN settings sadly enough.

The APN settings for Straight Talk are the following:

APN: att.mvno
MMS APN: att.mvno
MMSC: I'll have to edit when I have permission to post an http link
MMS Proxy: 66.209.11.33:80
Max Size: 600

Leave the rest of the settings blank, this has worked on other smartphones for full data speeds and MMS compatibility.

I have since factory reset my HTC Trophy and tried connecting to Straight Talk and AT&T with data above Edge, this was unsuccessful; a reset will not fix the radio. The only thing I can think of is that when HTC and Verizon pushed the Mango update on the Trophy, it changed the radio since it is suppose to support AT&T's spectrum. I purchased an HTC Titan on eBay and am now using that as my phone; I'm getting full HSPA+ speeds. The only issue with Straight Talk on Windows Phone is the MMS APN settings, I cannot receive picture or video text messages since it cannot be edited.

Hopefully HTC will add a Straight Talk profile, or allow its customers to change the settings Manually within the App.

Good luck to anyone with an unlocked Trophy, I cannot get above edge data or MMS working on Straight Talk.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes