Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] SQLite3: Dramatically Improve Entire Phone

OP p2kmafia

10th May 2012, 02:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
So I've used the sqlite vacuum/re-index feature of V6 SuperCharger blindly without knowing what it does getting a placebo effect sort of thing, and I started doing some research on it and realized that this feature has started getting stripped out of a lot of stock roms and what not on android devices and that basically it makes it wayyyy easier for the system to index and sort out system/app files a lot of it was over the top for me but I figured there could be no negative effects to this at all.

So long story short I downloaded SQLite Installer from the market

Restarted and everything on my phone has been quick and painless it's been up for 6 hours now since the restart and have yet to have any lag/problems.

here's my set up:
Tweaked 2.0
0504 PBJ Kernel
OC'd to 1.2ghz (SIO i/o and Interactive governor)

don't know if it is placebo affect once again and I'd love to get some more veteran knowledge on this but I LOVE MY PHONE NOW


As I am a new member here I cannot post links but go to my thread at rootzwiki[dot]com/topic/25072-sqlite3-phone-is-snappier-than-ever/ and read the instructions there and download the easily flashable .zip file with the included detailing script.

happy flashing
p2kmafia
10th May 2012, 04:50 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I just flashed so ill report if results are the same for me

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA
10th May 2012, 05:48 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
good lookin. there were positive results in my rootzwiki thread.
10th May 2012, 01:56 PM   |  #4  
jco23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 485
 
1,728 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
RFS or EXT4?

and is this the app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...sqlite3forroot
Last edited by jco23; 10th May 2012 at 01:59 PM.
10th May 2012, 03:03 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
It would be fairly easy to run before and after database benchmarks in an app such as AnTuTu Benchmark. That would show if there are any real gains to be had.

Looking at the script, it essentially just re-writes all of the databases on the phone (via a VACUUM/REINDEX combo). Logic would state that if you have badly fragmented databases, which would manifest as things like degredation of performance over time, then this should make your phone a bit snappier.

[edit: I ran before and after tests (average of 3 tests). There was no appreciable difference between the tests. Now, the test results may not reflect real world results for two reasons: 1. I have no idea how the database I/O test in AnTuTu actually tests (what database, etc) and 2. I received errors when the script was attempting to vacuum databases ("error: unable to open file"), though the re-indexing worked fine.

End result? The test essentially means nothing and all we can go off of is anecdotal evidence. However, whether it's a placebo effect or not, this process simply can't harmfully impact your phone. As such, results should be anything from no change in response to some response increase.

Yeah, I know. A whole lot of typing that essentially says nothing. Sorry!]
Last edited by Cilraaz; 10th May 2012 at 03:56 PM.
10th May 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jco23

RFS or EXT4?

and is this the app: play.google[DOT]com/store/apps/details?id=ptSoft.util.sqlite3forroot

yes that's the app but check out my rootzwiki thread the flashable zip file adds the detailing script to your sd card that you'll need if you feel your device slowing down.

Cilraaz: thanks for testing this out. the error opening files might have to do with a bad install. keep the detailing script and try the app in the playstore for the install or reflash the zip
10th May 2012, 10:25 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by p2kmafia

Cilraaz: thanks for testing this out. the error opening files might have to do with a bad install. keep the detailing script and try the app in the playstore for the install or reflash the zip

I re-installed from Play and have tested my copy of sqlite3. It is a working copy. I also didn't flash the zip. I downloaded the zip, extracted the shell script, and manually placed it on my SD card. I've run the vacuum command manually as well, and received the same error.
11th May 2012, 01:38 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I don't know what to tell you. I just re-ran the detailing script and I don't receive those errors, but if you know it is installed correctly/is vacuuming it shouldn't be a problem. I wish I knew more about this software to help out. I just discovered it helps a lot haha.
11th May 2012, 06:04 AM   |  #9  
Endless2232's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cilraaz

I re-installed from Play and have tested my copy of sqlite3. It is a working copy. I also didn't flash the zip. I downloaded the zip, extracted the shell script, and manually placed it on my SD card. I've run the vacuum command manually as well, and received the same error.

Are you using script manager to run the script? And if so are you running with root privileges?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
11th May 2012, 02:58 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Endless2232

Are you using script manager to run the script? And if so are you running with root privileges?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium

Script manager as root. Command line as root. The entire script and individual manual vacuums. Same result on all. Maybe I'll boot into CWM and run a fix permissions to see if that does anything.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes