Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to port Stock/GB/CM7/CM9/ICS/CM10/JB Based ROMs [Update: Sept.25.2012]

OP Peteragent5

10th May 2012, 10:38 PM   |  #181  
medicjunKie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 270
 
1,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikmm

have you tried adb shell logcat while stuck in that black screen? does it bootloop? also if your recovery has adb commands enabled you can always do this

adb shell cat /proc/last_kmsg > last_kmsg.log
to pull out the log

11th May 2012, 06:26 AM   |  #182  
prince147's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 61
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmztaylor

Size is always a problem. If the rom you are trying to put on the device is too large you will be missing files. Hence no booting. No recovery currently can detect if rom is too large

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium

That happns only due to errors in copying not due to size of the rom.....

Sent from my GT-I5500 using Tapatalk 2
11th May 2012, 04:38 PM   |  #183  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
690 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan38

Hey, I managed to port JoyOS ROM from Samsung Nexus S to Samsung Galaxy S by using CM7.1 stable with your guide mate . But I'm expecting an issue: android.process.acore FCs repeatedly and the phone is like unusable. Do you know a way to fix it? Thanks man .

I already tried deodexing and zipaligning the ROM but no luck .

Here is the logcat: http://pastebin.com/nwp4fJVr .
11th May 2012, 08:51 PM   |  #184  
J3STUR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Flint, Mi
Thanks Meter: 37
 
422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thanks for the guide. Gonna give this a try even tho i have the rom i want but still want to be able to do it myself and make my own tweaks. All i really know right now is how to theme.
12th May 2012, 01:22 AM   |  #185  
jamcar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 373
 
1,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
ok im trying to port AOKP build 35 but when i go to install in with CWM i get:
Code:
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Installing update...
Installation aborted.
do you know of any fixes? and there isnt an error number given out o.0
12th May 2012, 01:36 AM   |  #186  
paxChristos's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 1,501
 
2,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamcar

ok im trying to port AOKP build 35 but when i go to install in with CWM i get:

Code:
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Installing update...
Installation aborted.
do you know of any fixes? and there isnt an error number given out o.0

Check the structure of your update.zip you should see two folders, meta-inf & system, iirc.

Sent from my R800x using XDA Premium App
12th May 2012, 11:18 AM   |  #187  
Senior Member
Flag china
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
i port it suces.but systemui stoped to work ? how to slove it?
12th May 2012, 12:26 PM   |  #188  
karlo0321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
is this work on xperia x8 with custom kernel?
12th May 2012, 01:51 PM   |  #189  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Virginia Beach
Thanks Meter: 4,284
 
3,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prince147

That happns only due to errors in copying not due to size of the rom.....

Sent from my GT-I5500 using Tapatalk 2

no you are completely wrong. No recovery will tell you its out of space. You will have no indications of device out of space till you look at the recovery.log.
12th May 2012, 03:14 PM   |  #190  
jamcar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 373
 
1,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxChristos

Check the structure of your update.zip you should see two folders, meta-inf & system, iirc.

Sent from my R800x using XDA Premium App

in my .zip folder there are 3 things META-INf, system, and a boot.img file

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes