Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Make a WiFi only Rom

OP TimeMonkey

12th May 2012, 06:32 PM   |  #21  
TimeMonkey's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Banos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Yeah if it opens ok I got groveip pro witch uses the phone app to call out over WiFi but really thank you :thumbup:

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2
12th May 2012, 07:10 PM   |  #22  
buxtahuda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, MS
Thanks Meter: 162
 
1,375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimeMonkey

Yeah if it opens ok I got groveip pro witch uses the phone app to call out over WiFi but really thank you :thumbup:

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2

No problem. Let me know if groveip works, I'm thinking it may not but we'll see.
12th May 2012, 08:04 PM   |  #23  
TimeMonkey's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Banos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
All right well will do when I get home on Sunday night

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2
13th May 2012, 05:49 AM   |  #24  
SlimeYKW's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
GrooveIP is a great solution if you're using it just for WIFI. Works flawlessly with Google Voice. I use it all the time, let me know if you need help setting it up.

As for the WIFI only ROM...Why? Just use any ROM you like and turn the data off, and keep the WIFI on... same thing, no? I don't get what difference it would make it's the same thing. Normal ROM, data disabled. Anyways hope everything works out for ya!
13th May 2012, 07:07 AM   |  #25  
buxtahuda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, MS
Thanks Meter: 162
 
1,375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimeYKW

GrooveIP is a great solution if you're using it just for WIFI. Works flawlessly with Google Voice. I use it all the time, let me know if you need help setting it up.

As for the WIFI only ROM...Why? Just use any ROM you like and turn the data off, and keep the WIFI on... same thing, no? I don't get what difference it would make it's the same thing. Normal ROM, data disabled. Anyways hope everything works out for ya!

Well, you don't want it accessing the cellular networks at all so that you don't emergency call. I don't know about his case, but you definitely want to make sure that can't happen if you're giving a kid the old device as a media player.

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA
13th May 2012, 07:51 AM   |  #26  
SlimeYKW's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
If you are just using it as a tablet like device...with no sim card it can't dial and it can still use wifi. Simple solution, just take the sim out. Lol

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA
13th May 2012, 07:54 AM   |  #27  
TimeMonkey's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Banos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I know I thought could be a cool idea devs could build around like a iPod type Rom

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2
13th May 2012, 09:55 AM   |  #28  
SlimeYKW's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Airplane mode + Wi-Fi is your best bet. Works great

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA
13th May 2012, 06:51 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimeYKW

If you are just using it as a tablet like device...with no sim card it can't dial and it can still use wifi. Simple solution, just take the sim out. Lol

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA

Actually, it can still do an SOS call. I think that may be a regulatory compliance thing. I think you can try seeing what happens if you freeze the phone app.

Sent from my HTC Vision using Tapatalk 2
13th May 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #30  
TimeMonkey's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Banos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buxtahuda

So you used the zip, and once booted those processes were force closing?

I'll try it out on my phone, see if I can't replicate the issue and speak with the dev. Exactly what MIUI build are you on?

*EDIT:

Installed on EliteMod 120316 and upon first boot did get something about the mms process FC'ing. Upon subsequent reboots no more message though, have you tried another reboot? You had two processes FC?

Sent from my HTC Vision using xda premium

Yeah this what I was looking for now just for someone or I can give it try is to make a Rom with already done maybe with a nice ios theme on miui lol for a real iPod look alike

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes