Post Reply

[FIRMWARE] ICS/GB Firmware combo's

9th May 2012, 10:24 PM   |  #141  
Senior Member
Flag Longmont, CO
Thanks Meter: 48
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by superchilpil

You can get back,
I'm just waiting for a patched 2.25 hboot for those who want the new radio hboot combo

Do we anticipate any benefits of 2.25 patched over 2.21 patched?
9th May 2012, 10:45 PM   |  #142  
superchilpil's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 1,216
 
3,776 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spitzaf

Do we anticipate any benefits of 2.25 patched over 2.21 patched?

More than likely no, it's just for the sake of those wanting the cutting edge

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
12th May 2012, 08:47 PM   |  #143  
NAU420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I just upgraded to the new ICS hboot and radio running the newest cleanrom. My 3g speeds are unbelievable slow. Does anybody have any thoughts about this. I followed the directions not sure what went wrong.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1336851910801.jpg
Views:	507
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	1057140  
12th May 2012, 10:17 PM   |  #144  
ANDR0lD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAU420

I just upgraded to the new ICS hboot and radio running the newest cleanrom. My 3g speeds are unbelievable slow. Does anybody have any thoughts about this. I followed the directions not sure what went wrong.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA

It's not really that anything went wrong, it's just that the radios are either settling or you should switch back to what you had before. Try rebooting and seeing what your scores are then. If that doesn't work wait a half and hour with auto sync enabled and try again. If you get the same results flash the radio you had before. Personally the 5-7 leak gives me the best scores.

Sent from my S-off Venasaur v3.1.0 Rezound using cyan xparant tapatalk
-JBeitel Real Icons v3.1 + signal mod
-New Adreno 220 GPU Drivers
-5-7 Radio
The Following User Says Thank You to ANDR0lD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2012, 11:49 PM   |  #145  
NAU420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANDR0lD

It's not really that anything went wrong, it's just that the radios are either settling or you should switch back to what you had before. Try rebooting and seeing what your scores are then. If that doesn't work wait a half and hour with auto sync enabled and try again. If you get the same results flash the radio you had before. Personally the 5-7 leak gives me the best scores.

Sent from my S-off Venasaur v3.1.0 Rezound using cyan xparant tapatalk
-JBeitel Real Icons v3.1 + signal mod
-New Adreno 220 GPU Drivers
-5-7 Radio

I have the new 5-7 leak:

hboot 2.25
Radios 1.22.10.0421r/1.22.20.0424r

I did the whole s-off thing on the wife's and installed the newest ICS Hboot and Radios after the s-off steps. She has just over 2mb download and .96 upload on 3g. I have DSL wifi at home and she gets 19mb dowload and 12mb upload, I get 4.5mb dowload and 2mb upload. Plus when in Phoenix she has over 26mb download and I only get 7mb download. Not sure what happen, but I do know when I s-off'ed, I downloaded the GB Hboot and upgraded to the new ICS leak. When I did her's I used the ICS Hboot and then upgraded to the newest ICS leak. I did uploaded the new firmware patch to both phones. I have turned to restart the phone a few times and turn internet data off and on, plus the same with wifi. The only thing I have not tried yet was to downgrade back to GB Hoot and Radio, then re-install the newest ICS Hboot and Radio. Not sure if that would help or not.
13th May 2012, 04:44 AM   |  #146  
superchilpil's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 1,216
 
3,776 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAU420

I have the new 5-7 leak:

hboot 2.25
Radios 1.22.10.0421r/1.22.20.0424r

I did the whole s-off thing on the wife's and installed the newest ICS Hboot and Radios after the s-off steps. She has just over 2mb download and .96 upload on 3g. I have DSL wifi at home and she gets 19mb dowload and 12mb upload, I get 4.5mb dowload and 2mb upload. Plus when in Phoenix she has over 26mb download and I only get 7mb download. Not sure what happen, but I do know when I s-off'ed, I downloaded the GB Hboot and upgraded to the new ICS leak. When I did her's I used the ICS Hboot and then upgraded to the newest ICS leak. I did uploaded the new firmware patch to both phones. I have turned to restart the phone a few times and turn internet data off and on, plus the same with wifi. The only thing I have not tried yet was to downgrade back to GB Hoot and Radio, then re-install the newest ICS Hboot and Radio. Not sure if that would help or not.

My suggestions would to be flash the radio hboot set you want on your phone, flash the stock recovery and factory reset in the bootloader
This will wipe your internal sd so back it up
If this doesn't work let me know and we can try some other things

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
15th May 2012, 10:11 PM   |  #147  
Member
Flag Salem/Metro
Thanks Meter: 7
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
I want to make sure that I understand this correctly.

I'm going to flash the new leak which will be renamed PH98IMG.zip. Then I will put it and the new firmware patch on my sd card. I then boot into recovery and flash the ph98img.zip and then the new firmware patch. Will I need to reflash the rom I'm currently on? Also do I really need to do a wipe/factory reset before doing all this? Will doing any of this wipe my sd card?

Sorry for all the questions. Just want to make sure I have everything down. Thanks.
15th May 2012, 10:55 PM   |  #148  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotweelz66

I want to make sure that I understand this correctly.

I'm going to flash the new leak which will be renamed PH98IMG.zip. Then I will put it and the new firmware patch on my sd card. I then boot into recovery and flash the ph98img.zip and then the new firmware patch. Will I need to reflash the rom I'm currently on? Also do I really need to do a wipe/factory reset before doing all this? Will doing any of this wipe my sd card?

Sorry for all the questions. Just want to make sure I have everything down. Thanks.

Assuming you originally flashed your ROM from the GB patch then I would highly recommend reflashing after you get the ICS firmware.
17th May 2012, 06:57 PM   |  #149  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Ok so Im trying to understand everything.

First off currently I'm S-Off, on the GM firmware with the JB hboot 2.11. Im running cleam rom Dev edition using the ICS firmware patch. I'm having some battery life issues so the suggestion was made to upgrade my firmware. No heat issues that I can tell and signal and 4G speeds are great though.

Now I don't know why, Im new to all this, but I was thinking I would have to RUU. Instead I just would run the: DOWNLOAD ICS ORIG W/ JB 2.21 HBOOT and that would get me on the new firmware right? What about the new radios and all that though? Or do I not need them?

After that it says something about stock recovery, do I also need to flash that? Keep in mind that I will also be flashing Amon Ra. Do I need to reroot? Im assuming so.

Once all that is done then I will reflash the ROM.

What is the new firmware patch for? I dont get that. Is that to run GM roms on ICS firmware?

I think that covers everything. Sorry about all the questions, Id honestly rather ask some rather then brick my phone.
17th May 2012, 11:53 PM   |  #150  
WookieFan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC area
Thanks Meter: 96
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loki993

Ok so Im trying to understand everything.

Now I don't know why, Im new to all this, but I was thinking I would have to RUU. Instead I just would run the: DOWNLOAD ICS ORIG W/ JB 2.21 HBOOT and that would get me on the new firmware right? What about the new radios and all that though? Or do I not need them?

You can just flash the new firmware contained in the OP. If you do flash the RUU, you don't need to root, just flash a rooted ROM afterwards.

Quote:

After that it says something about stock recovery, do I also need to flash that? Keep in mind that I will also be flashing Amon Ra. Do I need to reroot? Im assuming so.

RUU leaves you with stock recovery. Since you're s-off, you can just flash over the recovery of your choice.

Quote:

What is the new firmware patch for? I dont get that. Is that to run GM roms on ICS firmware?

The opposite - the patch allows you to run ICS ROMs on GB firmware. However there is a tool to "unpatch" so you can recover nandroids made with the patch.

Quote:

I think that covers everything. Sorry about all the questions, Id honestly rather ask some rather then brick my phone.

Hope this helps. It's my best understanding and others can verify.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by WookieFan; 17th May 2012 at 11:59 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Rezound Android Development by ThreadRank