Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,156 Members 46,436 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

What is O2 Active?

Tip us?
 
zard
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default What is O2 Active?

I've read about getting rid of 'O2 Active' in the posts but could not find out what it means.

I'm facing problems with 'Today Plugs-in' with my Singapore O2 IIs, even when upgraded to 1.40 rom and radio 1.13. Could it be due to this 'O2 Active' thing?

Even read about not installing the 'O2 crap' by keying in 0506 to get Corporate mode but my O2 doesn't seems to have this corporate mode thing. Read from a post saying to press 'soft reset' when the small warning screen appears and did that. Ended up without a Ext rom but manage to install cabs found from the wiki site where these cabs are found. Anyway, my 'Today Plugs-in' problem still exists.

Anyone can give me some pointers?
 
joey jojo
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 686
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds - UK
Default Re: What is O2 Active?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zard
What is O2 Active?
its a big lump of **** that o2 call there active interface, but it isnt stable enough to run on a nokia, let alone a BA. o2 should learn to test ther o2 craptive before installing on machines they are selling. id advise anyone woth it installed, to uninstall it and make ur devise o2 ****e free.
 
dlinktm
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 47
Join Date: Mar 2005
What is the latest version of O2 Active UI?
 
zard
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Jul 2005
What does O2 Active do?

Anyone can capture a screen shot of it for me? Thanks.

I heard that it is not installed on BA's sold in Asia. If that is true, then my problems with 'Today Plug-Ins' are not likely be due to the O2 Active.
 
jeasbe
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 179
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Default O2 Active Ui screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by zard
What does O2 Active do?

Anyone can capture a screen shot of it for me? Thanks.

I heard that it is not installed on BA's sold in Asia. If that is true, then my problems with 'Today Plug-Ins' are not likely be due to the O2 Active.

Well Zard here's a Screen capture of the O2 Active UI for U !!


The O2 Active screen, disliked by many on the older machines now has some enhancements which might make it more acceptable.

• O2 Hotspot locator
• View Orientation Switcher
• Power Save
• Profile
• WiFi and Bluetooth on/off
• Bluetooth Manager

Unfortunately, the O2 Active screen handles Today Plug-ins very poorly. Kitara Genesis won't display at all, and others are severely truncated at the Right Hand margin. This makes the usefulness of O2 Active much reduced, and O2 would do well to include some method of configuring its screen to remove items it can't display.
Another example of poor programming is that the installation of the O2 customisations removes the Time display from the Title Bar. This must be counted as a major error, as it needs a Registry editor to resolve, not to be undertaken lightly even by the experienced!




---------------------------------------------------------------

credits :: http://www.tekguru.co.uk


jeasbe’ ( Gurjeet Singh )

BBM on Android® : -745542F3
Skype: jeasbe.com
Facebook
Twitter
 
jeasbe
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 179
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Default More Pics

More Pics O2 Active UI

Power Profiles





Application Shortcuts (TODAY)


jeasbe’ ( Gurjeet Singh )

BBM on Android® : -745542F3
Skype: jeasbe.com
Facebook
Twitter
 
mikealder
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 510
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Blackpool Lancs
My IIs unit very nearly got binned because of the Active interface, I agree with joey jojo's sentiments on this one - turns a decent PDA based phone into a pile of useless junk.
Unfortunatly to get rid of it (if in fact you have it installed) required a hard reset of the device, so doing this will wipe out all your data stored on the unit, a back up is no use either as that puts the rubish back on the device this makes the unit even more useless, as parts of the Active are missing causing it to crash even more often, (trust me on this one - I tried and learn't the hard way :wink: )
Hard reset the device, then sit through while the unit re-boots, after a while you will get the choice of personal or corporate install, choose the later, and enter the code 0506, note you must sit with the unit while it does this, it only gives you a few seconds choice, if nothing is entered it loads the O2 crap on the device by default - Mike
XDA Orbit - 2, Touch, Ameo, MDA-III, HTC Artemis, XDA Mini-s, XDA Exec, XDAIIs, SPVc600
 
jeasbe
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 179
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Default LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikealder
.............. if nothing is entered it loads the O2 crap on the device by default - Mike
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: LOL :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


jeasbe’ ( Gurjeet Singh )

BBM on Android® : -745542F3
Skype: jeasbe.com
Facebook
Twitter
 
zard
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Jul 2005
Thanks jeasbe and mikealder for the screen shots of O2 Active.

I see that the intentions for O2 Active was good bad it seemed to make it worst than better.

Lucky or not, here in Singapore, the O2 IIs that I am using, doesn't come with O2 Active. My personal experience is that the poor memory management of 2003 SE could be the culprit to all this problem. My conclusion is not to install Microsoft Voice Command (takes up a lot of memory) and have only 1 or at most 2 Today Plug-ins.
 
viktorfe
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxLeoxx View Post
Exakt. Früher oft zwischen 200MHz und 800MHz. Jetzt auch gern mal längere Zeit bei 1,4GHz. Und manchmal passiert es, dass immer zwischen 800-1,4Ghz gewechselt wird, obwohl nichts aktiv läuft -> Note wird sehr warm.
Ich konnte ics auf dem Gerät meiner Freundin und Rocket Rom auf meinem note direkt vergleichen. Deine Beobachtung kann ich bestätigen.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more