Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,728 Members 44,198 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Downgrading from 1.50 to 1.40...Can't Brick Phone..Help?

Tip us?
 
jeffhbo
Old
#1  
jeffhbo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 432
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern California
Default Downgrading from 1.50 to 1.40...Can't Brick Phone..Help?

I'm trying to brick my device so i can downgrade to 1.40. Everything is fine up until the point where i have to pull the battery out and run off AC power without battery. When i pull out the battery the phone stays on like it is supposed to, but when i press volume + button to start update the phone immediately turns off.

I relocked my device and am running this stock rom. If anyone can offer some advice it would be greatly appreciated

Thank you
 
thefsfempire
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 498
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Are you using the actual HTC charger that came with the phone? I've read here on XDA that the stock HTC charger puts out a little more power than normal chargers. Also, you can't use USB via your PC.
Shawn


Moto X (16GB; Black)
Carrier: AT&T
ROM: Stock (Do we have a choice?)

Nexus 7 (16GB; 2nd Gen)
ROM: Stock
The Following User Says Thank You to thefsfempire For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jeffhbo
Old
#3  
jeffhbo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 432
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefsfempire View Post
Are you using the actual HTC charger that came with the phone? I've read here on XDA that the stock HTC charger puts out a little more power than normal chargers. Also, you can't use USB via your PC.
Yep, using the one that came with the phone and i'm plugged into the wall. I even tried a couple different outlets. Do i need to have a certain rom installed?
 
thefsfempire
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 498
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffhbo View Post
Yep, using the one that came with the phone and i'm plugged into the wall. I even tried a couple different outlets. Do i need to have a certain rom installed?
That shouldn't matter since we're dealing with just the bootloader. I'm not sure which guide you're using (if there's even more than one now) but here is the link I followed: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1547695

Make sure you boot recovery, remove back cover, plug in phone then pull battery when it says.
Shawn


Moto X (16GB; Black)
Carrier: AT&T
ROM: Stock (Do we have a choice?)

Nexus 7 (16GB; 2nd Gen)
ROM: Stock
 
mingolianbeef
Old
#5  
mingolianbeef's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,127
Posts: 1,903
Join Date: Apr 2011
Yesss this sh*t is impossible.! I actually got pissed off cuz I COULDNT brick the damn phone lol

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA
Mingo Allen II


News Writer

AndroidSPIN.com


Email: ognimnella@gmail.com
Google Talk: ognimnella@gmail.com
Twitter: @MingoAllenII

Need a review done for your App? Email me. (Do NOT PM me)



Mytouch 3G Slide > Kyocera Echo > HTC Evo 3D > Samsung Nexus S 4G > LG Optimus G (Backup) > Samsung Galaxy S4 (Current)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mingolianbeef For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jeffhbo
Old
#6  
jeffhbo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 432
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ognimnella View Post
Yesss this sh*t is impossible.! I actually got pissed off cuz I COULDNT brick the damn phone lol

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA
I know right! Never thought I'd be mad cause i couldn't brick my phone. Next time someone says they're scared about rooting cause they dont wanna break their phone, I'll tell them they couldn't do it if they tried.

I think I'm going to go back to HTC unlock. The only reason I decided to downgrade my phone in the first place was because i wanted to flash Newtoroot's rls3 and was not able to get it running without losing service. At this point I think I can get that rom to work on 1.50 before i can get this SOB to brick, much less get through the rest of this damn process. If not, I'll just go back to rls1, cause i had that version running perfectly (bugs listed in OP excluded).

Good luck to anyone who's trying to do this...may you have better luck than I did lol.

Sincerely,
J
 
Mackn89
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CT - NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefsfempire View Post
That shouldn't matter since we're dealing with just the bootloader. I'm not sure which guide you're using (if there's even more than one now) but here is the link I followed: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1547695

Make sure you boot recovery, remove back cover, plug in phone then pull battery when it says.

I had this problem where my phone would turn off as well..I was using a stock htc charger that came with the E3d. What I did was hold my charger steady because if I moved it too much the charge would leave. No I didnt have a shortage in my charger but it just read like that in the laptop. Probably because being plugged into the laptop or cpu it doesnt feed off enough voltage. Hope this works for you.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more

Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more