XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

Downgrading from 1.50 to 1.40...Can't Brick Phone..Help?

13th May 2012, 12:40 AM   |  #1  
jeffhbo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 132
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I'm trying to brick my device so i can downgrade to 1.40. Everything is fine up until the point where i have to pull the battery out and run off AC power without battery. When i pull out the battery the phone stays on like it is supposed to, but when i press volume + button to start update the phone immediately turns off.

I relocked my device and am running this stock rom. If anyone can offer some advice it would be greatly appreciated

Thank you
13th May 2012, 01:17 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 96
 
498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Are you using the actual HTC charger that came with the phone? I've read here on XDA that the stock HTC charger puts out a little more power than normal chargers. Also, you can't use USB via your PC.
The Following User Says Thank You to thefsfempire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2012, 01:56 AM   |  #3  
jeffhbo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 132
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefsfempire

Are you using the actual HTC charger that came with the phone? I've read here on XDA that the stock HTC charger puts out a little more power than normal chargers. Also, you can't use USB via your PC.

Yep, using the one that came with the phone and i'm plugged into the wall. I even tried a couple different outlets. Do i need to have a certain rom installed?
13th May 2012, 02:21 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 96
 
498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffhbo

Yep, using the one that came with the phone and i'm plugged into the wall. I even tried a couple different outlets. Do i need to have a certain rom installed?

That shouldn't matter since we're dealing with just the bootloader. I'm not sure which guide you're using (if there's even more than one now) but here is the link I followed: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1547695

Make sure you boot recovery, remove back cover, plug in phone then pull battery when it says.
13th May 2012, 07:35 AM   |  #5  
mingolianbeef's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,130
 
1,909 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Yesss this sh*t is impossible.! I actually got pissed off cuz I COULDNT brick the damn phone lol

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mingolianbeef For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2012, 08:39 AM   |  #6  
jeffhbo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 132
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ognimnella

Yesss this sh*t is impossible.! I actually got pissed off cuz I COULDNT brick the damn phone lol

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA

I know right! Never thought I'd be mad cause i couldn't brick my phone. Next time someone says they're scared about rooting cause they dont wanna break their phone, I'll tell them they couldn't do it if they tried.

I think I'm going to go back to HTC unlock. The only reason I decided to downgrade my phone in the first place was because i wanted to flash Newtoroot's rls3 and was not able to get it running without losing service. At this point I think I can get that rom to work on 1.50 before i can get this SOB to brick, much less get through the rest of this damn process. If not, I'll just go back to rls1, cause i had that version running perfectly (bugs listed in OP excluded).

Good luck to anyone who's trying to do this...may you have better luck than I did lol.

Sincerely,
J
13th May 2012, 10:53 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag CT - NC
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefsfempire

That shouldn't matter since we're dealing with just the bootloader. I'm not sure which guide you're using (if there's even more than one now) but here is the link I followed: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1547695

Make sure you boot recovery, remove back cover, plug in phone then pull battery when it says.


I had this problem where my phone would turn off as well..I was using a stock htc charger that came with the E3d. What I did was hold my charger steady because if I moved it too much the charge would leave. No I didnt have a shortage in my charger but it just read like that in the laptop. Probably because being plugged into the laptop or cpu it doesnt feed off enough voltage. Hope this works for you.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in EVO 3D Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank