Post Reply

[Q] Rogers i727R identical to Skyrocket?

OP MidnightXZ

15th May 2012, 05:16 PM   |  #1  
MidnightXZ's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 13
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I have a question about the Rogers Samsung Galaxy S II LTE. Is it completely identical to the AT&T S II Skyrocket?

In terms of roms and compatibility, they should be the exact same?

I would think that they would be the same, but the slight variation on model numbers throws me off.

(i727 vs i727R)

Thanks for your help.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk 2
15th May 2012, 05:47 PM   |  #2  
vincom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag bolton, on
Thanks Meter: 3,337
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
they r not exactly the same, kernel radio and rom r different, but u can tweek to get stuff working on i727r if it was made for i727(att)
as an example, i had to replace one file in faux's kernel to get it stable on my i727r

as far as hardware they could be exactly the same (im 99.9% sure they r), but the software(kernel, radio, rom ) r written different for each carrier so it can work for ur carrier
Last edited by vincom; 15th May 2012 at 05:57 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to vincom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
nrm5110
15th May 2012, 06:00 PM   |  #3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Exact same phone all you need is your apn there are threads everywhere about this you can flash anything the skyrocket has just don't try any one click Odin leaks for the skyrocket on your rogers they don't work

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2012, 08:38 PM   |  #4  
MidnightXZ's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 13
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincom

they r not exactly the same, kernel radio and rom r different, but u can tweek to get stuff working on i727r if it was made for i727(att)
as an example, i had to replace one file in faux's kernel to get it stable on my i727r

as far as hardware they could be exactly the same (im 99.9% sure they r), but the software(kernel, radio, rom ) r written different for each carrier so it can work for ur carrier

So is there specifically released software for the Rogers S II?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrm5110

Exact same phone all you need is your apn there are threads everywhere about this you can flash anything the skyrocket has just don't try any one click Odin leaks for the skyrocket on your rogers they don't work

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2

So is the poster before you is incorrect, I assume? Otherwise, it seems like anything Skyrocket will work with the Rogers S II, which is what it seems like you're saying.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk 2
nrm5110
16th May 2012, 04:01 AM   |  #5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Only thing you need is your sim and your apn everything else root wise rom wise and stuff all the same

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
16th May 2012, 05:21 AM   |  #6  
mr_clean5953's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leduc
Thanks Meter: 49
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincom

they r not exactly the same, kernel radio and rom r different, but u can tweek to get stuff working on i727r if it was made for i727(att)
as an example, i had to replace one file in faux's kernel to get it stable on my i727r

as far as hardware they could be exactly the same (im 99.9% sure they r), but the software(kernel, radio, rom ) r written different for each carrier so it can work for ur carrier

Wrong

Sent from my SGS 2 LTE running SkyICS
16th May 2012, 06:14 AM   |  #7  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 723
 
2,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_clean5953

Wrong

Sent from my SGS 2 LTE running SkyICS

Actually no, he's partially right. In reference to the i727R not being completely compatible with radios, kernels and such, yes he is incorrect. As for needing to change one file in one of faux's kernels to to function he is correct.

Awhile back I posted a fix on this, but basically the init.qcom. post-boot file didn't have the correct identifier with the R present, and was incompatible with tpc v3, Rogers version. Replacing the identifier fixed the issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to icenight89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
nrm5110
16th May 2012, 12:17 PM   |  #8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Ice your gonna scare the noob lol that's too advanced for them lmao

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes