Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM]-[22-APR-2012]-MikTouch-0.5-[Stock, Optimized Sense]

OP JKILO

15th May 2012, 03:17 AM   |  #181  
strapped365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 2,807
 
5,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by r4d14n7

My wife is having some speed and calling issues with this ROM and I hope you guys can help us out.

Phone issues:
Touch the phone button twice in a row is supposed to dial the last number in the call log, and most of the time, that is what it does. Once in a while, it will call a random number instead. And I don't mean a random contact, a completely random number that we have never seen before. This also happened on the stock ROM before modding, so maybe it's an HTC issue?

Sometimes when bringing up a contact and touching one of the phone numbers associated with it, the dialer screen will come up and start to dial, but there is a solid tone and the call ends, sort of like there is no cell signal. This happens both on cell connection and wifi calling.

Speed issues:
Sometimes when opening the messaging app it takes up to 10 sec to load the threads. Once she touches a thread and brings up the keyboard, she can type about 6 or 7 words before the phone catches up and displays the words.

Anyone have any experience with this stuff? I don't seem to have these kinds of issues on my G2x and I'm wondering if there is something I'm doing wrong with this phone. Phone is unlocked, S-on. Boot.img was extracted and flashed via fastboot just before flashing the ROM in CWM recovery.

Does she have tons of messages? Or a lot of message threads?

Also do you do a normal reboot? Or have you ever used a cache cleaner? I usually run cache cleaner NG every 12 hours as normal maintenance give that a shot please, if all else fails maybe ill share a kernel to ya

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to strapped365 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2012, 07:00 AM   |  #182  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by r4d14n7

My wife is having some speed and calling issues with this ROM and I hope you guys can help us out.

Phone issues:
Touch the phone button twice in a row is supposed to dial the last number in the call log, and most of the time, that is what it does. Once in a while, it will call a random number instead. And I don't mean a random contact, a completely random number that we have never seen before. This also happened on the stock ROM before modding, so maybe it's an HTC issue?

Sometimes when bringing up a contact and touching one of the phone numbers associated with it, the dialer screen will come up and start to dial, but there is a solid tone and the call ends, sort of like there is no cell signal. This happens both on cell connection and wifi calling.

Speed issues:
Sometimes when opening the messaging app it takes up to 10 sec to load the threads. Once she touches a thread and brings up the keyboard, she can type about 6 or 7 words before the phone catches up and displays the words.

Anyone have any experience with this stuff? I don't seem to have these kinds of issues on my G2x and I'm wondering if there is something I'm doing wrong with this phone. Phone is unlocked, S-on. Boot.img was extracted and flashed via fastboot just before flashing the ROM in CWM recovery.

My guess is she has tooo many messages. I once had this problem and as soon as I deleted all the messages it was lag free.
You should try using handcent or go sms (my personal preference) and set a limit to the amount of messages per person. I have it set to 200 max per person.

Sent from my RubiX ICS Infused using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to nemesis93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2012, 12:32 PM   |  #183  
Senior Member
Flag Sumter, S.C. (Not by choice)
Thanks Meter: 116
 
676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Thanks for the replies! I'll have her try that stuff... I usually keep 200 messages per thread and about 10 threads on my phone and don't have an issue. 4G Slide has a faster processor and more RAM so I figured it could handle the threads.

I use normal reboots. I don't have the quick boot option enabled (or whatever it's called). I have a cache cleaner installed on her phone but I normally run it around once a week. I'll up the dosage and see if it helps.

Any thoughts on the dialer bugs? Are they HTC issues?
15th May 2012, 02:35 PM   |  #184  
strapped365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 2,807
 
5,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by r4d14n7

Thanks for the replies! I'll have her try that stuff... I usually keep 200 messages per thread and about 10 threads on my phone and don't have an issue. 4G Slide has a faster processor and more RAM so I figured it could handle the threads.

I use normal reboots. I don't have the quick boot option enabled (or whatever it's called). I have a cache cleaner installed on her phone but I normally run it around once a week. I'll up the dosage and see if it helps.

Any thoughts on the dialer bugs? Are they HTC issues?

Well if the dialer bug happened before you rooted the phone, i think its safe to call it a HTC bug.

I used to keep a bunch of texts on my Evo Shift and im talking like 1k at a time, i had one text thread make it to like 900 and then came the lag lol and the shift only has a 800 mhz s2 processor and 512mb of RAM ( 368 available to user ). I have noticed this mySense crap is even slower than plain old Sense so i also posted some mods for Liquid smooth Rosie, no scrolling cache, also posted no recent apps in pull down, a zip to turn the Genius key back into Genuis and one to allow waking of the device by the Menu key ( also has Genius function )

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk 2
15th May 2012, 05:18 PM   |  #185  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I don't have any issues with long threads of messages on my MT4GS. I have a total of ~11500 messages, and 40+ threads with some 1000+ and one being 3000+. Never had any slowdowns in messaging at all.
15th May 2012, 05:52 PM   |  #186  
strapped365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 2,807
 
5,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKhicken

I don't have any issues with long threads of messages on my MT4GS. I have a total of ~11500 messages, and 40+ threads with some 1000+ and one being 3000+. Never had any slowdowns in messaging at all.

Wow the first I have ever heard of that. Even stock the settings are for like 200 msgs.

What setup you running

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk 2
15th May 2012, 09:40 PM   |  #187  
godbilla's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKhicken

I don't have any issues with long threads of messages on my MT4GS. I have a total of ~11500 messages, and 40+ threads with some 1000+ and one being 3000+. Never had any slowdowns in messaging at all.

I have about 9k messages and i don't have any problems either. And i restore my messages on different roms all the time. I'm just on cm9 running the default speed, no slow downs. I've restored messages on this rom, too and received no slow downs.

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk
16th May 2012, 08:50 AM   |  #188  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
power button wake is a bit hit-or-miss for me, and long press works but the screen disappears immediately. is this happening to anyone else?
16th May 2012, 02:56 PM   |  #189  
strapped365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 2,807
 
5,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychedel!k

power button wake is a bit hit-or-miss for me, and long press works but the screen disappears immediately. is this happening to anyone else?

Long press of what? And what dissapears? What are you long pressing for? Did you do a full wipe before coming to miktouch? Also you can wake from trackpad and menu with a flashable i made, sometimes these power buttons get wore out


Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk 2
16th May 2012, 04:03 PM   |  #190  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
1,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychedel!k

power button wake is a bit hit-or-miss for me, and long press works but the screen disappears immediately. is this happening to anyone else?

Not seeing that here.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, bitchin, mikmik, miktouch, rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes