Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

Issues with HTC Sense rebooting intermittently ?

28th December 2009, 03:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
1,288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Does anyone else have an issue with HTC sense rebooting every so often ? Mine does approximately 1/2 times a day.
It's pretty random.

Are there logs anywhere that I can check to see what may be causing it ?
28th December 2009, 03:42 AM   |  #2  
flipzmode's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 693
 
1,325 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Are you getting a force close and then reboot, or is sense ui just flat out going back to the HTC screen and then reloading itself? If it's the first then you have some type of file corruption going on.

If it's the second it's possible that you have so many things running and loaded that Android is killing off sense in order to make room for other things. This was a real common issue when touchflo (basically senseui for winmo) got ported to older winmo phones.

Or the other possibility is you are running some type of task killer that is killing off required sense services and it's forcing it to reload.

http://geekfor.me/faq/you-shouldnt-b...-with-android/
28th December 2009, 04:23 AM   |  #3  
lv2bll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
do you have any taskkiller or auto kill enabled? i had problems when i did
28th December 2009, 04:40 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
1,288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I have to hold my hands up and say I'm using Advanced Task Killer. I guess I'm under the misguided illusion that the snappiness comes from using that.

I'm guessing it's killing some service that HTC Sense relies on, so I'll try and turn it off for a while and see what happens.
28th December 2009, 07:26 PM   |  #5  
lv2bll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by grifforama

I have to hold my hands up and say I'm using Advanced Task Killer. I guess I'm under the misguided illusion that the snappiness comes from using that.

I'm guessing it's killing some service that HTC Sense relies on, so I'll try and turn it off for a while and see what happens.

on my taskiller i wasnt even killing sense, i was killing mail (then sense reboots)
28th December 2009, 11:58 PM   |  #6  
Greefus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
I've been getting random phone restarts too in the last week. I do have Advanced Task Manager and TasKiller, but I never had this problem until recently. I usually only kill stuff I would have manually opened. I think I hear an alert on my phone and it's just restarting.
29th December 2009, 08:32 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 16
 
1,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
I usually get this when I stop peep.
19th August 2010, 10:50 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Swype?
Seems like it might be swype. Anyone?
17th May 2012, 10:43 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
another one here that has the same problem since the beginning. The problem basically is that HOS only has about 200 MB of free RAM after booting, and this is too few. Then, when you open some big apps or games, the system closes sense to make space for tha app, then when you return to the home screen, sense reloads itself..... It is normal, it is not a malfunction, but I guess they should solve it, it is quite anoying to be waiting several seconds for the sense to reload until you can go on using the phone, at least it is anoying in this so high class phone....

I think there is some tweak or mod over there that modifies the behavior of android so it won´t close sense and it won´t reload anymore, but you have to be root to do it.


Best regards.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes