Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 43,763 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Issues with HTC Sense rebooting intermittently ?

Tip us?
 
grifforama
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 1,280
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Issues with HTC Sense rebooting intermittently ?

Does anyone else have an issue with HTC sense rebooting every so often ? Mine does approximately 1/2 times a day.
It's pretty random.

Are there logs anywhere that I can check to see what may be causing it ?
 
flipzmode
Old
#2  
flipzmode's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 692
Posts: 1,325
Join Date: Jan 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you getting a force close and then reboot, or is sense ui just flat out going back to the HTC screen and then reloading itself? If it's the first then you have some type of file corruption going on.

If it's the second it's possible that you have so many things running and loaded that Android is killing off sense in order to make room for other things. This was a real common issue when touchflo (basically senseui for winmo) got ported to older winmo phones.

Or the other possibility is you are running some type of task killer that is killing off required sense services and it's forcing it to reload.

http://geekfor.me/faq/you-shouldnt-b...-with-android/
Xylon - Nexus 4: 2.1.1b2 (Android 4.2.2)
Fresh Evo LTE: 5.3.1 (Android 4.0.4) || Fresh Evo 3d: 4.2.0 (Android 2.3.4) || Fresh Evo: 4.3.3
Fresh Shift: 4.1.1 (Android 2.3.3) || Fresh Hero: 2.4.0 (Android 2.1)

CDMA Android development and Fresh rom home: http://GeekFor.Me || Twitter

 
lv2bll
Old
#3  
lv2bll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2009
do you have any taskkiller or auto kill enabled? i had problems when i did
Phone-- T Mobile Galaxy S IV
Recovery--
Rom--

Retired: HTC Hero(phone was tough as nails too)
Epic 4G Touch
Epic 4G
these devs do so much work for the community,
so show your support by donating a lil bit,
to anyone else you aren't owed anything so
don't bitch and moan about what they haven't done.
 
grifforama
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 1,280
Join Date: Dec 2009
I have to hold my hands up and say I'm using Advanced Task Killer. I guess I'm under the misguided illusion that the snappiness comes from using that.

I'm guessing it's killing some service that HTC Sense relies on, so I'll try and turn it off for a while and see what happens.
 
lv2bll
Old
#5  
lv2bll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by grifforama View Post
I have to hold my hands up and say I'm using Advanced Task Killer. I guess I'm under the misguided illusion that the snappiness comes from using that.

I'm guessing it's killing some service that HTC Sense relies on, so I'll try and turn it off for a while and see what happens.
on my taskiller i wasnt even killing sense, i was killing mail (then sense reboots)
Phone-- T Mobile Galaxy S IV
Recovery--
Rom--

Retired: HTC Hero(phone was tough as nails too)
Epic 4G Touch
Epic 4G
these devs do so much work for the community,
so show your support by donating a lil bit,
to anyone else you aren't owed anything so
don't bitch and moan about what they haven't done.
 
Greefus
Old
#6  
Greefus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 124
Join Date: Dec 2009
I've been getting random phone restarts too in the last week. I do have Advanced Task Manager and TasKiller, but I never had this problem until recently. I usually only kill stuff I would have manually opened. I think I hear an alert on my phone and it's just restarting.
 
tbaker077
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 1,053
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
I usually get this when I stop peep.
 
mjb427
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default Swype?

Seems like it might be swype. Anyone?
 
DrJ76
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jul 2008
another one here that has the same problem since the beginning. The problem basically is that HOS only has about 200 MB of free RAM after booting, and this is too few. Then, when you open some big apps or games, the system closes sense to make space for tha app, then when you return to the home screen, sense reloads itself..... It is normal, it is not a malfunction, but I guess they should solve it, it is quite anoying to be waiting several seconds for the sense to reload until you can go on using the phone, at least it is anoying in this so high class phone....

I think there is some tweak or mod over there that modifies the behavior of android so it won´t close sense and it won´t reload anymore, but you have to be root to do it.


Best regards.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more