Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,956 Members 49,763 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Clock widgets stop working on ICS

Tip us?
 
rec71
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 862
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calne
Default Clock widgets stop working on ICS

I have been seeing an issue on my Arc S where, after playing something quite memory intensive (such as Draw Something). when I return to the home screen my clock widget is not showing the correct time (see screen shot - note the time in the top-left is different to the widget). It's driving me nuts. Any ideas? Here's what I know:
  1. I have seen this on GB before back when I first got my Arc S in December last year. Again when using a lot of memory (Maps for example). So it isn't necessarily a new issue.
  2. It is much worse since the official release of ICS. I don't remember if this happened on the beta but it's possible I wasn't using my phone to play as many games.
  3. It affects all the clock widgets I've tried. I have tried the supplied analogue clocks, digital clocks and the HTC Sense 4 clock pictured.
  4. Sometimes if I leave the screen on the clock will sort itself out.
  5. Sometimes it stays like this for good until the widget is deleted and re-added.
  6. Sometimes locking the screen for a little while will fix it.
  7. A full reinstall doesn't fix this.
  8. I am now on 4.0.4 (clean install last night) and the issue persists.
  9. I am running the stock ICS kernel with CWM (from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1591279)
  10. I know of one other user having this issue (and he's on Arconium)

I think this is probably an issue with the Sony Launcher but any suggestions are welcome because it's most annoying that I can't even rely on my clock widget to tell the right time!

I might try the Nexus launcher and see if the problem persists.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-05-17-19-42-54.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	1067203  
 
rec71
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 862
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calne
So I tried the stock ICS launcher (Launcher2) and the same problem exists.

Perhaps this is a kernel problem.
 
zangetsu2188
Old
(Last edited by zangetsu2188; 18th May 2012 at 12:04 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 296
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Quezon City
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec71 View Post
So I tried the stock ICS launcher (Launcher2) and the same problem exists.

Perhaps this is a kernel problem.
Your clock widget gets killed due to out of memory when you run heavy applications . See "Running Services" at Settings>Applications. You will notice that the widget is 'restarting'.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA
 
rec71
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 862
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calne
So why doesn't it restart properly? Seems odd. Even if the launcher reloads completely the clock stays "stuck".

Guess I'll have to live with it.
 
rec71
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 862
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calne
I could give SuperCharger a go and try to make the clock widget HTK...
The Following User Says Thank You to rec71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
^eLipS#
Old
#6  
^eLipS#'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Štrpce
This also happened to me while I was on Gingerbread, and I was unable to find a solution...

P.S. I accidentally pressed thanks button on your last post rec71, LOL
Don't be afraid to hit the button if I helped you!
__________________________________________________

Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc S
[2.3.7] X-GAMER [V1.8] (best ROM ever! )
DooMKernel v22
Rooted
Unlocked Bootloader
__________________________________________________

Asus Nexus 7
Stock 4.2.1 Jellybean - the best Android experience
Rooted
Locked bootloader
__________________________________________________

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes