Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,296 Members 53,590 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No extra charge for tethering with the Nokia Lumia 900???

Tip us?
 
disolitude
Old
#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueblog View Post
Is this happening after the update ??? or before ? I am on Rogers and i my house is on the border of LTE area i guess ..

So when i go to one room i get 3G and Tethering wont work

Then when i come another room i get LTE with one bar and then tethering works !!!

Now after switching rooms i always check my IE9 Mobile works first and then i turn on sharing ...

And i also rarely see 4G .. its either 3G or LTE ..
mine hasn't been updated yet. rogers hasn't rolled it out... if your firmware is 8107 still you didn't receive the update yet.

were not sure if the update will fix this issue or if its for something else. however I am pretty sure this will get fixed. lte in Canada is limited to like 5 cities. they cant expect people to only use internet sharing when in those areas...
 
shiftf7
Old
#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seed 2.0 View Post
I don't understand why they don't just let people tether on their plan. I have the Unlimited plan for $30, it gets throttled at 5GB, so let me tether and get to that 5GB faster, maybe I need it enough I will change to 5GB plan and pay the extra $10 per GB. If on a 3GB plan and tethering you could get past the 3GB and start paying extra $10 per GB. At$t must no have confidence in there network holding up to tethering.
Exactly my sentiments. It just doesn't make any sense to me. Why do I have to be on the largest data plan to tether. The 3GB plan is still capped, what does it matter if I use all 3GB on my phone or on my computer connected to my phone. Blah.
 
livnlif
Old
#33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Yeah, I will not pay the $50 At&t charges for having a tethering plan. I will wait for someone to open this up to use it on any data plan. They charge you anyways if you go over, so what is the big deal?
 
kikkomanchow
Old
#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Rogers Tethering

I'm on Canada's Rogers network with the lumia 900. Tried tethering yesterday, didn't seem to require me to do anything extra - worked great, I am on a real basic data plan, 500mb/mth.
 
disolitude
Old
#35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkomanchow View Post
I'm on Canada's Rogers network with the lumia 900. Tried tethering yesterday, didn't seem to require me to do anything extra - worked great, I am on a real basic data plan, 500mb/mth.
2 questions...

1. Are you on an LTE plan? And if not, do you know if you were given an LTE enabled sim card? I think you are most likelt LTE enabled as Rogers offers a 500 MB LTe plan

2. Is your Lumia 900's firmware 8107 or 8112?
 
kikkomanchow
Old
#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by disolitude View Post
2 questions...

1. Are you on an LTE plan? And if not, do you know if you were given an LTE enabled sim card? I think you are most likelt LTE enabled as Rogers offers a 500 MB LTe plan

2. Is your Lumia 900's firmware 8107 or 8112?

1. Yes I dont know if im on the LTE plan, because i just joined a "data plan". I checked my phone's bandwidth with an app and it showed around 25mbps in around the markham area, and around 10 in vaughan. I was given an LTE enabled sim card, that sales guy had to look all over for one. yes i have the 500mb plan.

2. 8107. Rogers have not released the 8112 yet, they say around the 20th we would get (which is today), but some people also indicated that engineers says 23rd.
 
cruiser78
Old
#37  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkomanchow View Post
1. Yes I dont know if im on the LTE plan, because i just joined a "data plan". I checked my phone's bandwidth with an app and it showed around 25mbps in around the markham area, and around 10 in vaughan. I was given an LTE enabled sim card, that sales guy had to look all over for one. yes i have the 500mb plan.

2. 8107. Rogers have not released the 8112 yet, they say around the 20th we would get (which is today), but some people also indicated that engineers says 23rd.
I have a Rogers Lumia 900 unlocked and on Bell right now and just checked in Zune and there is still no update yet so I would expect it next week for sure. My firmware is still 8107 too.
 
kamranwpi
Old
#38  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 97
Join Date: Sep 2008
I have it on AT&T Unlimited $30 plan, don't let me do internet sharing either... Any way around it yet?
 
NickS_
Old
#39  
NickS_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 261
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Endwell, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamranwpi View Post
I have it on AT&T Unlimited $30 plan, don't let me do internet sharing either... Any way around it yet?
I hope so soon, though with my corporate discount it only ends up being $39.50/mo for 5GB & Tethering vs $30/mo for 3GB no tethering (they don't discount the 3GB plan for whatever reason)
HTC One M8 on AT&T [work & play] * GPE 4.4.4 ROM, bone stock
LG Nexus 5 on AT&T [work & play] *bone stock (for now) - rip screen/digitizer
HTC One M7 on AT&T [the lady] *bone stock sense
4G LTE FTW
 
simpl3lang
Old
(Last edited by simpl3lang; 15th October 2012 at 02:13 PM.)
#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 229
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMackey View Post
I'm on a Rogers student plan with the Lumia 900. (~500MB I think...) While I haven't connected anything to Internet Sharing yet, I was able to enable it and mess with the settings.
Sorry to bump this thread. As anyone manage to find a work around yet? Im on my philippines trip and im using my galaxy note to browse this forum right now. My note is Using the lumia 900 internet connection. This is the second time i managed to use it. I have also encountered the at&t restriction. When i go back to vegas i will try it out. If i do manage to enable it when i get back, will at&t detect it and automatically put the $50 extra in my account? Before i got the nokia lumia 900, i always use tethering with my android phones without getting hit with an extra charge

edit: while i was in the philippines i was able to tether multiple times using a non-at&t simcard. but now that i am back in the USA, theres just no way in getting internet sharing turned on for free.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more