Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 42,678 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Changing the APN Settings for tethering in ICS.

Tip us?
 
tgamble160
Old
#21  
tgamble160's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 997
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: tarentum
Quote:
Originally Posted by kered424 View Post
I used the same trick as before to get free tethering. (T-Mobile)

1) Go to settings
2) Go to Mobile Network (tap on the name, not the switch)
3) Go to Access Point Names
4) Add a new APN using epc.tmobile.com
5) Name it anything you want
6) Free wifi tethering!

I'm posting this using my free wifi tether
will this work with an amaze on straight talk? i have the t-moble htc amaze but use straight talk, everythng else works but when try to tether it connects but i cannot access any webpages on my laptop
 
silverboi17
Old
#22  
silverboi17's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 39
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Yup I tried it. Fyi, I updated my phone to tmo ICS thru OTA. Maybe they locked it so we can't delete it? Because on my list, it shows a lock.

However I was able to add the new APN and got tether to work, but can't delete the original settings.

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA
Device: TMOUS Samsung Galazy S3
ROM: OfficialFrostyJB_V3
Kernel: Stock @ 1.51GHz
Radio/Modem/Baseband: T999UVDLJA
Recovery: TWPR

Device: TMOUS HTC Sensation 4G (RETIRED)
ROM: Elegancia Blitz 2.7.0
Kernel: SebastianFM v1.5.2
Radio: 11.76A.3504.00U-11.24A.3504.31_M
Ril: HTC-RIL_4.0.0027HMQ
Recovery: EXT4
 
PeartFan40
Old
#23  
PeartFan40's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1404
Posts: 4,048
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Hadley, Ma. USA
Please post all question based threads in the Q&A section. Thank you.

Thread Moved.



"if you choose not to not to decide, you still have made a choice" ~N.P. Rush

Courtesy of my Galaxy Note (i717) using XDA Premiero!
 
oryan_dunn
Old
#24  
oryan_dunn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 519
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Indiana
It seems a bit unclear, but must you delete the old for this to work? I'm on stock GB, added the new APN, selected it, but still was redirected to the upsell page on my tablet.
 
hookedonnook
Old
#25  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia

 
DONATE TO ME
Question ICS OTA

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverboi17 View Post
Yup I tried it. Fyi, I updated my phone to tmo ICS thru OTA. Maybe they locked it so we can't delete it? Because on my list, it shows a lock.

However I was able to add the new APN and got tether to work, but can't delete the original settings.

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA
I have an Amaze otw and am assuming it will update. When I create the new APN will the phone default to the locked APN, or does the new one override it?
The Teacher has become the Student

Nook HD Plus:
CM 11:verygreen/Hashcode:
Prev Devices:

HTC One:
Stock:Nova Launcher:
Nook Tablet:
Rooted:Indirect:PAC-man:succulent:
Nook Tablet:
Stock
HTC Amaze 4G White:
Rooted:Hasoon's AIO toolkit
Rom: Energy ICS 4.0.3 Tweaks Beats Blue

HTC One S unlocked:
ParanoidAndroid v 2.53
Nook Color: Paranoid Android
Motorola Charm: Stock
 
Double0EK
Old
#26  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 805
Posts: 2,008
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn View Post
It seems a bit unclear, but must you delete the old for this to work? I'm on stock GB, added the new APN, selected it, but still was redirected to the upsell page on my tablet.
You can delete the Stock one or open it and don't "APN Type" and delete "default" it will disable it. From then you should he good to go.

-------------------------------------
Check out my hairless guinea pig
 
AndroidAutobot
Old
#27  
AndroidAutobot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 932
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portland OR
Creating a new apn isn't necessary at all. All you have to do is delete everything in the "apn type" field of the default t mobile data apn. Actually posted about this in a different thread on April 27th. For anyone's convenience -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPaI...e_gdata_player

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using xda premium
Twitter.com/AndroidAutobot
GTalk - AndroidAutobot
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to AndroidAutobot For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kuime
Old
#28  
Kuime's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by kered424 View Post
I used the same trick as before to get free tethering. (T-Mobile)

1) Go to settings
2) Go to Mobile Network (tap on the name, not the switch)
3) Go to Access Point Names
4) Add a new APN using epc.tmobile.com
5) Name it anything you want
6) Free wifi tethering!

I'm posting this using my free wifi tether
it works like a charm.
Darkness gives me black eyes while I use them to look for Brightness.
 
tgamble160
Old
#29  
tgamble160's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 997
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: tarentum
I'm using my amaze on straight talk. Everything works perfect mobile data everything works fine. But when I try to tether my tablet or laptop they connect but internet does not work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my rk2818sdk using xda premium
 
Dark Nightmare
Old
#30  
Dark Nightmare's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 784
Posts: 2,352
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: WhereEverMyFeetAre
Try the apn settings change.
"A little patience, some searching, a little help from each other we can all get along and get things done"

Phone: Google Nexus 5
Platform: Android
Version: 4.4.1
Kernel: Stock
ROM: Stock


Team Oxygen on Facebook

http://xda-blog.info/

 


Devices since on T-Mobile: BB 9780>Xperia X10a>G2x>Galaxy S II>Galaxy Nexus>BB 9780>BB 9800>Amaze>Amaze>Exhibit II 4G>Galaxy Nexus>Galaxy S III>Amaze 4G>SE Xperia Arc>Amaze>Galaxy S III (Titanium)>LG Nexus 4>iPhone 5>HTC One>Galaxy S IV>Sony Xperia Z/Google Nexus 4>S4>iPhone 5>LG G2> Nexus 5

(Missing devices but meh lol)




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes