FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Changing the APN Settings for tethering in ICS.

16th May 2012, 09:51 PM |#21  
tgamble160's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brackenridge
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kered424

I used the same trick as before to get free tethering. (T-Mobile)

1) Go to settings
2) Go to Mobile Network (tap on the name, not the switch)
3) Go to Access Point Names
4) Add a new APN using epc.tmobile.com
5) Name it anything you want
6) Free wifi tethering!

I'm posting this using my free wifi tether

will this work with an amaze on straight talk? i have the t-moble htc amaze but use straight talk, everythng else works but when try to tether it connects but i cannot access any webpages on my laptop
 
 
16th May 2012, 10:59 PM |#22  
silverboi17's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Yup I tried it. Fyi, I updated my phone to tmo ICS thru OTA. Maybe they locked it so we can't delete it? Because on my list, it shows a lock.

However I was able to add the new APN and got tether to work, but can't delete the original settings.

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA
17th May 2012, 07:20 AM |#23  
PeartFan40's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Hadley, Ma. USA
Thanks Meter: 1,406
 
More
Please post all question based threads in the Q&A section. Thank you.

Thread Moved.



"if you choose not to not to decide, you still have made a choice" ~N.P. Rush

Courtesy of my Galaxy Note (i717) using XDA Premiero!
17th May 2012, 04:13 PM |#24  
oryan_dunn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
It seems a bit unclear, but must you delete the old for this to work? I'm on stock GB, added the new APN, selected it, but still was redirected to the upsell page on my tablet.
17th May 2012, 11:44 PM |#25  
Member
Flag Columbia
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Question ICS OTA
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverboi17

Yup I tried it. Fyi, I updated my phone to tmo ICS thru OTA. Maybe they locked it so we can't delete it? Because on my list, it shows a lock.

However I was able to add the new APN and got tether to work, but can't delete the original settings.

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA

I have an Amaze otw and am assuming it will update. When I create the new APN will the phone default to the locked APN, or does the new one override it?
18th May 2012, 12:11 AM |#26  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn

It seems a bit unclear, but must you delete the old for this to work? I'm on stock GB, added the new APN, selected it, but still was redirected to the upsell page on my tablet.

You can delete the Stock one or open it and don't "APN Type" and delete "default" it will disable it. From then you should he good to go.

-------------------------------------
Check out my hairless guinea pig
20th May 2012, 06:27 AM |#27  
AndroidAutobot's Avatar
Senior Member
Portland OR
Thanks Meter: 136
 
More
Creating a new apn isn't necessary at all. All you have to do is delete everything in the "apn type" field of the default t mobile data apn. Actually posted about this in a different thread on April 27th. For anyone's convenience -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPaI...e_gdata_player

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using xda premium
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to AndroidAutobot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2012, 07:57 PM |#28  
Kuime's Avatar
Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by kered424

I used the same trick as before to get free tethering. (T-Mobile)

1) Go to settings
2) Go to Mobile Network (tap on the name, not the switch)
3) Go to Access Point Names
4) Add a new APN using epc.tmobile.com
5) Name it anything you want
6) Free wifi tethering!

I'm posting this using my free wifi tether

it works like a charm.
29th May 2012, 09:29 PM |#29  
tgamble160's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brackenridge
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
I'm using my amaze on straight talk. Everything works perfect mobile data everything works fine. But when I try to tether my tablet or laptop they connect but internet does not work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my rk2818sdk using xda premium
29th May 2012, 09:32 PM |#30  
Dark Nightmare's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag WhereEverMyFeetAre
Thanks Meter: 790
 
More
Try the apn settings change.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes