Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Fennec Browser (Nighty Build) ! Must try.

OP invalidcracker

19th May 2012, 01:57 PM   |  #1  
invalidcracker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 57
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Screenshots:




Download:

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.o...ndroid-arm.apk

Hint:
Install phony add-on for desktop/android.
Last edited by invalidcracker; 20th May 2012 at 01:27 PM.
19th May 2012, 02:06 PM   |  #2  
TheFrankenstain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 2,828
 
1,085 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Bad browser
The Following User Says Thank You to TheFrankenstain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th May 2012, 04:17 PM   |  #3  
Siso93's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
577 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFrankenstain

Bad browser

Tell why!

Sent from my GT-I9003 using XDA
19th May 2012, 05:21 PM   |  #4  
TheFrankenstain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 2,828
 
1,085 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso93

Tell why!

Sent from my GT-I9003 using XDA

inconvenient and very slow
19th May 2012, 06:22 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Unstable, slow, ressource hungry. Simply not good on a phone.
20th May 2012, 01:25 PM   |  #6  
invalidcracker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 57
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
That is alpha build. Firefox browser was'nt that good before.
20th May 2012, 04:56 PM   |  #7  
simmer14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taraen

Unstable, slow, ressource hungry. Simply not good on a phone.

get a life ! every modern day web browser is a memory hog & resource hungry ! does'nt matter weather ur on ur pc or ur phone... these days ppl have great equiped pc with i3 quad etc thats y they don't know the diffrence... i use win7 and sometimes opera and firefox use 600mb of ram ! u should first learn how these things works before commenting it's a slow browser or a memory hog..
20th May 2012, 06:53 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simmer14

get a life ! every modern day web browser is a memory hog & resource hungry ! does'nt matter weather ur on ur pc or ur phone... these days ppl have great equiped pc with i3 quad etc thats y they don't know the diffrence... i use win7 and sometimes opera and firefox use 600mb of ram ! u should first learn how these things works before commenting it's a slow browser or a memory hog..

Haha, you made me laughing. This is now the fourth time I try FF mobile, and the user experience still does not improve.

I installed Firefox from Play Store, cleared the RAM (170MB free) and after starting, the first thing the app did was crashing. I opened the settings and wanted to look for an user agent setting but I found out that there is none. When closing the settings Firefox crashed. After a restart of the app I opened three tabs with this websites: chip.de (PC layout), xda-developers.com (homepage), google.de. Before doing that I looked for the memory usage: Firefox needed 54MB. After the loading process Firefox with 3 tabs took 81MB away! Also the font sizes on Chip.de were wrong.

Then I cleared the RAM just as I did before opening Firefox. In Opera Mobile (desktop user agent) I opened the 3 tabs and 2 additional ones: AndroidPIT and Facebook. With all these 5 tabs Opera Mobile uses only 52MB of RAM.

When loading and opening the pages (I sit right next to the WLAN router) Firefox needed much more time than Opera Mobile. Also the user interface of Firefox is not as smooth as in Opera Mobile.

I know that Firefox has addon support and on a tablet or a powerful phone with more RAM it may be no problem, but on our phone and that's what I am talking about, browsing with Firefox is simply no fun. Its unstable, slow and ressource hungry on RAM and CPU (= stuttering)

On my XPS 15 I use Firefox Auroa 14 and I like it very much because I is very customizable eventhough it is not as fast as Google Chrome, but here the difference is not really big. Furthermore DownThemAll! is only available on FF.

The biggest amount of RAM FF used on my PC was 400-500 MB (normal usage 100-200 MB) but this does not matter, because with 4x2,8 GHz and 8GB RAM you do not feel this and it is nothing compared to the amount of free RAM. Pages load fast, scrolling is smooth, etc...
You do not have these things on a phone and everytime I tried Firefox it only felt like a port of the original programm without being really optimized for the usage and the limitations of phones.

But hey: I've got a life, I'm not stupid, I'm not angry and I've only said what I feel when using Firefox... I'm tired of all thes typical "What's the best browser" wars all around the web.

Have a nice day
Taraen
Last edited by Taraen; 20th May 2012 at 10:34 PM.
21st May 2012, 12:49 AM   |  #9  
invalidcracker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 57
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Lol! Guys i 'm just sharing an app i ve tried. i 'm on our poor device not any tab and it's working very well.

Btw that is not firefox on google market. I found that build greatly improved. if u want to have a try or you dont. so it is up to you i m not firefox developer

[ICS] GT-I9003

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes