5,593,876 Members 47,575 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Tampered without htcdev

Tip us?
 
WCCobra
Old
#51  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2012
Has anyone compared one of these tampered devices to other stock units?
 
c_brown93
Old
#52  
c_brown93's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 517
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Mine said Tampered and I got mine from T-Mobile and I went back and showed them. They exchanged it out no problem in the store because it was within 14 days. So now I got a brand new one and it doesn't say it now (:

Sent from my HTC VLE_U using XDA
 
orenfl
Old
#53  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 631
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by oo03sjw View Post
Has this issue been clarified?

I have my UK HOS and brought it the day of release.

Completely untouched by me, no playing etc.

Just checked and it shows *** TAMPERED ***
*** LOCKED ***
S-ON

what's the advice? Is there a problem with this and how to address it?

Many thanks as always.
I'm in the same situation but noticed it only yesterday, 5 weeks from buying it brand new in a Swiss MobileZone shop while I live in Israel...
 
orenfl
Old
#54  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 631
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by orenfl View Post
I'm in the same situation but noticed it only yesterday, 5 weeks from buying it brand new in a Swiss MobileZone shop while I live in Israel...
After running the 1.78 EU RUU, Tampered is gone and only LOCK is left
I hope I also fixed the network issues I had with that...
 
kenyw
Old
#55  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 115
Join Date: Apr 2010
After the chat that I had posted about previously, I filled one of the customary surveys and made known how I felt about the service from that chat.

Someone from the HTC complaints department rang me yesterday to get more details. I explained the situation to him. He sounded like he was trying to help, and in what I thought was a fairly courteous and professional manner explained that HTC were not able to deal with this issue directly with me, but they had processes in place with the distributors and retailers which they did deal with.

He said my comments would be fed back to the head office, so I made known my concerns on this issue, my main point being that a normal user would be very unlikely to discover this issue within their retailer's 2-4 week return period (if they even had one, the UK tends to be quite consumer-friendly in this respect), and therefore HTC needed to be able to do something about this.

For me, I'm conversing via e-mail with my retailer now (I bought the phone online and their physical premises are hundreds of miles away in another town). Hopefully they'll be able to take it back. HTC have my IMEI from the ticket and have probably just marked my handset as unwarrantied at their end so flashing the RUU won't solve that problem.
 
h.han
Old
#56  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 373
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
Yes, it's quite a process, but at least you made progress and I believe your point is really valid so hope you would get things sorted soon. Even you are out of the 2-4 weeks initial period, your warranty should still cover this fault and if HTC cannot prove you caused this they should honour the warranty. Good luck.

Sent from my HTC One S using XDA
 
ViViDboarder
Old
#57  
ViViDboarder's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 616
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by orenfl View Post
After running the 1.78 EU RUU, Tampered is gone and only LOCK is left
I hope I also fixed the network issues I had with that...
That's good to know!

Can anyone else confirm RUU gets rid of the TAMPERED text?

Favorite Quotes: Emulators | Crysis

Nexus 7
Nexus 4 (CM10.2)
HTC One S (CM10) SOLD
Google Nexus One (CM7)
Touchpad (WebOS/CM9 with twrp 2) SOLD
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer (CM9) SOLD
EVO 3D (Mynz/CM9 + twrp 2) SOLD
EVO 4G (CM 7 + twrp 2) SOLD
iPhone 3G (whited00r) SOLD

Twitter | UbuntuForums Profile | MacRumors Forums | WinMatrix Profile

 
O0cynix0o
Old
#58  
O0cynix0o's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 205
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chaparral NM
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
it just rebooted

it is what is is

if I get a screenshot app on phone will rertry
Or you could just use another phone or a camera.

Sent from my rooted and debloated T Mobile HTC One S


 
rugmankc
Old
#59  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1469
Posts: 6,800
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by O0cynix0o View Post
Or you could just use another phone or a camera.

Sent from my rooted and debloated T Mobile HTC One S
this is old news now--
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/KT, Faux, or Audism Kernels/3 Minit, Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher




 
tongueman87
Old
#60  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 675
Join Date: Jul 2011
Well I called T-Mobile and asked them about what was going on with the tampered locked on the phone. Luckily I got throuh to a guy that had some common sense. He called me back later in the day and explained what was going on. He said it is due because of HTC while flashing the HTC sense 4.0 and ICS into the devices it caused the tampered. So IMO if we can figure a way to unlock boot loader and s-off without HTC dev then we will be fine with warranty. Just putting my information that I was given out there XD

Sent from my HTC VLE_U using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes