Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tampered without htcdev

OP McQueefus

18th May 2012, 04:36 PM   |  #51  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Has anyone compared one of these tampered devices to other stock units?
19th May 2012, 03:53 AM   |  #52  
c_brown93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 156
 
723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Mine said Tampered and I got mine from T-Mobile and I went back and showed them. They exchanged it out no problem in the store because it was within 14 days. So now I got a brand new one and it doesn't say it now (:

Sent from my HTC VLE_U using XDA
22nd May 2012, 10:18 AM   |  #53  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oo03sjw

Has this issue been clarified?

I have my UK HOS and brought it the day of release.

Completely untouched by me, no playing etc.

Just checked and it shows *** TAMPERED ***
*** LOCKED ***
S-ON

what's the advice? Is there a problem with this and how to address it?

Many thanks as always.

I'm in the same situation but noticed it only yesterday, 5 weeks from buying it brand new in a Swiss MobileZone shop while I live in Israel...
23rd May 2012, 08:01 AM   |  #54  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orenfl

I'm in the same situation but noticed it only yesterday, 5 weeks from buying it brand new in a Swiss MobileZone shop while I live in Israel...

After running the 1.78 EU RUU, Tampered is gone and only LOCK is left
I hope I also fixed the network issues I had with that...
23rd May 2012, 09:41 AM   |  #55  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
After the chat that I had posted about previously, I filled one of the customary surveys and made known how I felt about the service from that chat.

Someone from the HTC complaints department rang me yesterday to get more details. I explained the situation to him. He sounded like he was trying to help, and in what I thought was a fairly courteous and professional manner explained that HTC were not able to deal with this issue directly with me, but they had processes in place with the distributors and retailers which they did deal with.

He said my comments would be fed back to the head office, so I made known my concerns on this issue, my main point being that a normal user would be very unlikely to discover this issue within their retailer's 2-4 week return period (if they even had one, the UK tends to be quite consumer-friendly in this respect), and therefore HTC needed to be able to do something about this.

For me, I'm conversing via e-mail with my retailer now (I bought the phone online and their physical premises are hundreds of miles away in another town). Hopefully they'll be able to take it back. HTC have my IMEI from the ticket and have probably just marked my handset as unwarrantied at their end so flashing the RUU won't solve that problem.
23rd May 2012, 01:47 PM   |  #56  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 71
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Yes, it's quite a process, but at least you made progress and I believe your point is really valid so hope you would get things sorted soon. Even you are out of the 2-4 weeks initial period, your warranty should still cover this fault and if HTC cannot prove you caused this they should honour the warranty. Good luck.

Sent from my HTC One S using XDA
23rd May 2012, 06:51 PM   |  #57  
ViViDboarder's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 618
 
1,561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orenfl

After running the 1.78 EU RUU, Tampered is gone and only LOCK is left
I hope I also fixed the network issues I had with that...

That's good to know!

Can anyone else confirm RUU gets rid of the TAMPERED text?
23rd May 2012, 07:56 PM   |  #58  
O0cynix0o's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chaparral NM
Thanks Meter: 64
 
240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugmankc

it just rebooted

it is what is is

if I get a screenshot app on phone will rertry

Or you could just use another phone or a camera.

Sent from my rooted and debloated T Mobile HTC One S
23rd May 2012, 07:59 PM   |  #59  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,847
 
7,570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by O0cynix0o

Or you could just use another phone or a camera.

Sent from my rooted and debloated T Mobile HTC One S

this is old news now--
25th May 2012, 05:43 AM   |  #60  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
704 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Well I called T-Mobile and asked them about what was going on with the tampered locked on the phone. Luckily I got throuh to a guy that had some common sense. He called me back later in the day and explained what was going on. He said it is due because of HTC while flashing the HTC sense 4.0 and ICS into the devices it caused the tampered. So IMO if we can figure a way to unlock boot loader and s-off without HTC dev then we will be fine with warranty. Just putting my information that I was given out there XD

Sent from my HTC VLE_U using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes