Post Reply

[Flashable ZIP][FLYER] Cell Standby Remover

26th February 2012, 04:20 PM   |  #1  
mhkabir98's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 92
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Some ROMs for the Wifi Flyer have several extra apps related to Phone and SMS functions. These often cause an unintended power drain in some cases as the tablet searches for a 3G radio. This shows up as 'cell standby' in power usage, even though there is no 3G radio.

You can remove Cell Standby by any one of the two methods listed below.

NOOB PROCESS (Flash zip in CWM recovery):

This works for both HC and GB roms, so flash away :

FLASHABLE ZIP FOR CWM (HC and GB):

Download MIRROR 1

Download MIRROR 2 at bottom of post. VVV

ICS custom remover zip:

Coming soon, as these are ROM specific. You can use the HC/GB zip, it will work, but some residue apps will be still left, although Cell Standby will be removed.

ADVANCED PROCESS (more control):

Requirements:
  • Rooted Flyer(HTC Dev or Revolutionary S-OFF)
  • Titanium Backup (I like its uninstaller but any good uninstaller with Root will do)
  • Working recovery(DooMLord or Revolutionary CWM)

Process:

Make sure you have Titanium Backup installed (if not install from Market)

Do a full Backup from Titanium(or just the below listed apps) [OPTIONAL]
Do a full Nandroid backup from your recovery(google it). [OPTIONAL]

Start uninstalling the aps in order from Titanium Backup:

APP VERSION NO. IS NOT IMPORTANT
  • [VOICEMAIL]Phone 2.1.xx
  • HtcMessage Provider 1.0.xx
  • Messages Widget 3.0.xx
  • Data Roaming 1.0.xx
  • SIM Toolkit 1.0.xx
  • Wi-Fi Hotspot 2.1.xx
  • Network Location 1.1.xx
  • [SMS/APN/MMS] Dialer Storage 2.1.xx
  • [SMS/MMS PREFS] Messages 1.1.xx
  • MessageCS 1.0.xx
  • Dialer 2.0.xx {Do this LAST}

After uninstalling the dialer you might get a continuous Force Close on "android.processes.acore". As you might have noticed, a reboot will not fix the FC.You will not be able to do anything else till you fix this.

Next, reboot into the bootloader (by adb or Power off and Power+Vol Down)

Go to Recovery.

Go to the menu of your recovery and wipe the cache. Reboot (Boot might take upto 2 minutes as cache will be rebuilt) back into Android and your done.

One you've rebooted, edit your build.prop parameter : ro.phone.function = 0
Attached Files
File Type: zip 3GRemover.zip - [Click for QR Code] (223.4 KB, 95 views)
Last edited by mhkabir98; 30th May 2012 at 10:25 AM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to mhkabir98 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 10:15 PM   |  #2  
Amphibliam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 413
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
You don't need to wipe the dalvik cache afterwards.
28th February 2012, 01:55 AM   |  #3  
mhkabir98's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 92
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Without wiping the dalvik, I kept getting the FC.
24th May 2012, 09:56 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Canton, OH
Thanks Meter: 12
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
will this work on a gingerbread rom such as miui?
25th May 2012, 02:00 AM   |  #5  
mhkabir98's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 92
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shirtlessrabbit4

will this work on a gingerbread rom such as miui?

Yup, tried and tested, just use the zip. If it helps, tell others !

Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using XDA Premium HD app
26th August 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #6  
voldomart13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
669 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Will this work on the view as well? I don't have the sprint services and would like to disable the radio all together.
1st September 2012, 07:36 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by voldomart13

Will this work on the view as well? I don't have the sprint services and would like to disable the radio all together.

I tried to install zip on the HTC view and wouldn't work. It's checking for "flyer" and aborts. Is there another zip for the view?
3rd September 2012, 02:42 AM   |  #8  
rbebber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I believe you need to flash the zip from recovery

Sent from my PG41200 using xda premium
3rd September 2012, 08:33 AM   |  #9  
voldomart13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
669 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbebber

I believe you need to flash the zip from recovery

Sent from my PG41200 using xda premium

Um thanks mr Obvious I think we already knew that but apparently it checks your build.prop when flashing...
17th October 2012, 07:58 AM   |  #10  
killerskincanoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 73
 
1,102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Would be great to get a zip for dexters jb roms

Sent from my LT28i using XDA Premium HD app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes