Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tmobile blocking tether?

OP negroplasty

19th March 2010, 09:42 AM   |  #1  
negroplasty's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 414
 
595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Not long ago I tested both wireless tether for root users and the built in wired tether on Cyan's 5.0.4.1 and both worked just fine. Today I tried to use tether and can't seem to get either working... Connects just fine and windows even says the connection has internet access but when trying to load a web page only the up arrow on the data icon lights up and the down arrow never comes on. I've only used it a few times and haven't downloaded any large files or anything. Is it possible T-mobile is somehow blocking internet access while tethered (ports maybe?), and has anyone experienced anything similar on t-mo?
19th March 2010, 09:55 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
works great
Works great for me! Perhaps that leaf in your avatar is making you a touch paranoid?
19th March 2010, 10:03 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
........works find here.
19th March 2010, 10:17 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Tempe Arizona!
Thanks Meter: 32
 
744 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I'm in the valley and mine works fine...
19th March 2010, 10:20 AM   |  #5  
lazaro17's Avatar
Senior Member
Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 106
 
632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wii60

Works great for me! Perhaps that leaf in your avatar is making you a touch paranoid?

just lol'd at this
19th March 2010, 10:23 AM   |  #6  
gregnotcraig's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa, AZ
Thanks Meter: 30
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
No problems here. I use wifi/usb tether all the time - the connection is better than the wifi we get in the neighborhood (community wifi thing)
Bandwidth is a non issue. You ARE connecting with an unlimited data plan, right?
19th March 2010, 04:22 PM   |  #7  
ccunningham83's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
T-Mobile doesn't know you are tethering. They can only see you are using data. They don't know if you are streaming a youtube video on your phone or browsing the internet on your computer while tethering. I'm pretty sure the issue is elsewhere. They will be able to see how much data you use (I believe your phone doesn't use that much). What really eats up data is streaming videos or downloading files (music, the latest ROM, or whatever). I have used the crap out of tethering and never had T-Mobile cut me off. I hear once you use 10 GB of data they severly slow your connection, but it should still work.
21st March 2010, 01:49 AM   |  #8  
negroplasty's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 414
 
595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
After flashing Cyan's 5.0.5 everything is working again, learned my lesson to keep away from "optimized" versions of already near perfect Cyan roms. Appreciate the input nonetheless, thanks .
28th May 2012, 05:20 AM   |  #9  
shnn2011's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 343
 
470 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Please look at my post regarding T-mobile tethering
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post26649587

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes