Post Reply

[ROMS] Acer OTA ICS roms/STOCK & DEODEXED versions -FULL-ROOT(7-Jul-2012) civato

OP civato

28th May 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #91  
civato's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,370
 
3,782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by parker09

Just wanted to ask if anyone else is having problem with their WiFi, I haven't been able to connect as of yet,I swipe it to the ON position and about a second later it goes to the offer position and it won't let me 'SCAN' or 'ADD NETWORK'.

Probably a problem on my end but just can't seem to get this working.

clean install , full wipe , format.
28th May 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #92  
audiokaos's Avatar
Member
Ajax, Ont
Thanks Meter: 7
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by parker09

Just wanted to ask if anyone else is having problem with their WiFi, I haven't been able to connect as of yet,I swipe it to the ON position and about a second later it goes to the offer position and it won't let me 'SCAN' or 'ADD NETWORK'.

Probably a problem on my end but just can't seem to get this working.

I had that initial problem- I then went & re-read the thread, where I discovered that you need to install much like an android phone-

sys reset/format
format cache
clear davlic
install rom
fix permissions.

All works great on mine now.
30th May 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #93  
Member
Dallas, TX
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by civato

No , you need to be on ICS bootloader for this.

You seem to know what your'e talking about in here. Can you tell me, definitely, how to get back to a stock Acer ROM that will put me back on the 'receive' OTA update path?

I've gone back to 3.0.1 unrooted, no updates, someone said flashing the rom in this thread will accomplish the same thing by getting me to a stock acer ICS room, but you imply that that guy won't get OTA's - is it because of his device or something inherent in this ROM?

I am trying to get to a place where I can sell the tablet and be able to honestly tell a buyer it's stock and supportable by Acer.

Thanks.
31st May 2012, 07:14 AM   |  #94  
civato's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,370
 
3,782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolanta

You seem to know what your'e talking about in here. Can you tell me, definitely, how to get back to a stock Acer ROM that will put me back on the 'receive' OTA update path?

I've gone back to 3.0.1 unrooted, no updates, someone said flashing the rom in this thread will accomplish the same thing by getting me to a stock acer ICS room, but you imply that that guy won't get OTA's - is it because of his device or something inherent in this ROM?

I am trying to get to a place where I can sell the tablet and be able to honestly tell a buyer it's stock and supportable by Acer.

Thanks.

Take a look in the guide thread , top of the thread or take a look at afterota thread in dev section.
2nd June 2012, 05:35 AM   |  #95  
ignitros's Avatar
Member
Flag Spokane, WA.
Thanks Meter: 4
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Just finished wiping everything and installing your stock rooted rom Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_CUS1-FOOL-ROOT and I'm stuck at the ACER splash or boot screen. I was running the thor CMW and taboonay ICS rom previously. Is there something I'm missing? Is that Taboonay ROM running the HC bootloader?
Last edited by ignitros; 2nd June 2012 at 05:54 AM.
2nd June 2012, 06:21 AM   |  #96  
civato's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,370
 
3,782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignitros

Just finished wiping everything and installing your stock rooted rom Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_CUS1-FOOL-ROOT and I'm stuck at the ACER splash or boot screen. I was running the thor CMW and taboonay ICS rom previously. Is there something I'm missing? Is that Taboonay ROM running the HC bootloader?

The rom doesn't run a bootloader , that is your tablet , read the thread again m8.
If YOU are on HTC bootloader you need to flash the kernel for HC bootloader users.
And please don't complain about screen boot glitches , that is because you don't upgrade to ICS bootloader.
If you are running ICS bootloader and install the rom you don't need to do anything else.
2nd June 2012, 06:38 AM   |  #97  
blackthund3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolanta

You seem to know what your'e talking about in here. Can you tell me, definitely, how to get back to a stock Acer ROM that will put me back on the 'receive' OTA update path?

I've gone back to 3.0.1 unrooted, no updates, someone said flashing the rom in this thread will accomplish the same thing by getting me to a stock acer ICS room, but you imply that that guy won't get OTA's - is it because of his device or something inherent in this ROM?

I am trying to get to a place where I can sell the tablet and be able to honestly tell a buyer it's stock and supportable by Acer.

Thanks.

At stock HC you can flash in recovery /any/ stock Acer ROM (ie any stock Acer ICS).

If you can't access the ICS update OTA install the Acer Update Enhancement APK (either from the Play Store or from the Acer Website drivers & downloads section for this tablet).
The Following User Says Thank You to blackthund3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd June 2012, 08:05 AM   |  #98  
ignitros's Avatar
Member
Flag Spokane, WA.
Thanks Meter: 4
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by civato

The rom doesn't run a bootloader , that is your tablet , read the thread again m8.
If YOU are on HTC bootloader you need to flash the kernel for HC bootloader users.
And please don't complain about screen boot glitches , that is because you don't upgrade to ICS bootloader.
If you are running ICS bootloader and install the rom you don't need to do anything else.

I think you might have misunderstood my question. I wasn't complaining about your ROM... merely stating my problem and asking if anyone had an idea as to what I may have done wrong. After some more reading it looks like I was still on an ICS ROM that was using the HC bootloader. I have since installed your FlexReaper ROM and I have the Tab up and running again. I now know that I will need to update to an ICS bootloader and should be able to install the stock ICS ROM again. Thank you to all that helped me figure it out.
2nd June 2012, 09:15 AM   |  #99  
civato's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,370
 
3,782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignitros

I think you might have misunderstood my question. I wasn't complaining about your ROM... merely stating my problem and asking if anyone had an idea as to what I may have done wrong. After some more reading it looks like I was still on an ICS ROM that was using the HC bootloader. I have since installed your FlexReaper ROM and I have the Tab up and running again. I now know that I will need to update to an ICS bootloader and should be able to install the stock ICS ROM again. Thank you to all that helped me figure it out.

OK , just a reminder these roms posted in this thread are not my roms but full stock Acer rom , just the root is not stock. And I removed the bootloader and recovery.
2nd June 2012, 05:21 PM   |  #100  
duryard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Exeter
Thanks Meter: 208
 
1,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
@civato (my fav dev for a500)

If I flash one of these (the.41 I think) then flash the correct bootloader will I be able to flash your latest over the top (and there by not have to run your "chicken s***t) I have tried to run it but it does not work for me as the pc does not see the tab in apx mode (All the tools do tho) will installing the bootloader with this rom permanly upgrade my bootloader so as I can enjoy your latest creation to its fullest. ???
Last edited by duryard; 2nd June 2012 at 05:44 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Iconia A500 Android Development by ThreadRank