Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,266 Members 40,261 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help for Rooting Samsung Galaxy S Wifi 3.6 YP-GS1

Tip us?
 
zaclimon
Old
#41  
zaclimon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2493
Posts: 3,259
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montréal

 
DONATE TO ME
I can't get it to work (I need some help -__-) Anyway did you try the method that apapousek posted?

Link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1424358
The Following User Says Thank You to zaclimon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eSildur
Old
(Last edited by eSildur; 23rd May 2012 at 03:06 PM.)
#42  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaclimon View Post
I can't get it to work (I need some help -__-)
Well, thanks for trying - that's more than my local Samsung service did

I'm not sure if that matters but I rooted mine 3.6 using UnLock Root v 2.3, with usb mode set to 'music player' (if I remember correctly) and not into 'Kies mode' (I'm unable to connect to PC in this mode).
 
Mars11_
Old
(Last edited by Mars11_; 28th May 2012 at 10:40 PM.) Reason: Forgot to quote.
#43  
Mars11_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 124
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by eSildur View Post
Well, thanks for trying - that's more than my local Samsung service did

I'm not sure if that matters but I rooted mine 3.6 using UnLock Root v 2.3, with usb mode set to 'music player' (if I remember correctly) and not into 'Kies mode' (I'm unable to connect to PC in this mode).
I've tried to do that exact thing, but can't get it to root. Was there anything else that you did?
 
eSildur
Old
#44  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars11_ View Post
I've tried to do that exact thing, but can't get it to root. Was there anything else that you did?
I don't think so. I had USB debugging enabled of course. Also I'm using Windows XP, perhaps that matters?
 
zaclimon
Old
(Last edited by zaclimon; 1st June 2012 at 12:52 AM.)
#45  
zaclimon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2493
Posts: 3,259
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montréal

 
DONATE TO ME
Ok esildur can you do that in a terminal (or adb shell) and send it a link please? (mediafire preferably) I will make a custom odin/heimdall rom.

Code:
Select Code
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p8 of=/sdcard/factoryfs.img bs=4096
Also can you tell me (if you remember) the bloat app you removed?

Thanks.
 
eSildur
Old
#46  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2012
@ zaclimon:
I had to 7zip it, I hope it won't be a problem:
factoryfs.7z

As far as I recall, I followed this list. I also deleted on my own whim some files that looked like stock Samsung apps I never used, mostly hubs... and Kies Air ^^;

@ Mars11_:
Update about using UnLock Root:
It works for me with current version on Win7 as well - I just unrooted my YP-GS1 and rooted it back again. That's how it looked for me, step-by-step:
- install Kies to have drivers (I have non-updated v. 2.3.1.12044_18)
- turn device on, set USB mode on multimedia (unnecessary, it seems)
- read that UnLock needs USB debugging enabled, enable USB debugging
- check USB mode again and be surprised it's in debug mode. feel dumb
- plug device in, wait for drivers to kick in
- run UnLock Root, tell it to stop scripts after page script error shows up
- press "Root" and wait for it to work it's magic
- wait
- wait a bit longer (it took 5-10 minutes on i5 CPU). It will ask you to reboot the deice when it's done
 
zaclimon
Old
(Last edited by zaclimon; 1st June 2012 at 10:26 PM.)
#47  
zaclimon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2493
Posts: 3,259
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montréal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eSildur View Post
@ zaclimon:
I had to 7zip it, I hope it won't be a problem:
factoryfs.7z

As far as I recall, I followed this list. I also deleted on my own whim some files that looked like stock Samsung apps I never used, mostly hubs... and Kies Air ^^;

@ Mars11_:
Update about using UnLock Root:
It works for me with current version on Win7 as well - I just unrooted my YP-GS1 and rooted it back again. That's how it looked for me, step-by-step:
- install Kies to have drivers (I have non-updated v. 2.3.1.12044_18)
- turn device on, set USB mode on multimedia (unnecessary, it seems)
- read that UnLock needs USB debugging enabled, enable USB debugging
- check USB mode again and be surprised it's in debug mode. feel dumb
- plug device in, wait for drivers to kick in
- run UnLock Root, tell it to stop scripts after page script error shows up
- press "Root" and wait for it to work it's magic
- wait
- wait a bit longer (it took 5-10 minutes on i5 CPU). It will ask you to reboot the deice when it's done
Well the thing is this things is for 2.1 STOCK android (not even 2.3) so it will be hard to find which apps I should take. Did you removed any apps that not looked like samsung apps (like phone.apk for example)

EDIT: I rooted the rom I just need to make a flashable img for heimdall/odin but I can't send it right now.
 
Rayn16120
Old
(Last edited by Rayn16120; 2nd June 2012 at 06:09 PM.) Reason: More information
#48  
Rayn16120's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 84
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Bricked my galaxy S Wifi

Hi !
I was trying to make a custom kernel for our GS1, but I failed and my galaxy is now broken. I have the following message :
"Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again".
So, how can I restore it default ?
I tried Kies of course, but it cannot connect to the GS1.
I tried to flash zImage given in previous message (by compressing it in tar archive) but Odin stuck at SetupConnection.. I'm a little bit scared and disappointed 'cause I took config.gz directly from the GS1, so I don't understand why it doesn't work.
When will your odin package ready ? Hope soon
Thanks in advance for your help.

==EDIT==

I've realised I missed the pit file, I used one given with ODIN, and it worked, I mean my kernel was flashed. I cannot flash default zImage (given previously) anymore, and I've got a yellow triangle :/ I don't know this thing, I'll try Kies.
 
zaclimon
Old
(Last edited by zaclimon; 2nd June 2012 at 06:54 PM.)
#49  
zaclimon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2493
Posts: 3,259
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montréal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayn16120 View Post
Hi !
I was trying to make a custom kernel for our GS1, but I failed and my galaxy is now broken. I have the following message :
"Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again".
So, how can I restore it default ?
I tried Kies of course, but it cannot connect to the GS1.
I tried to flash zImage given in previous message (by compressing it in tar archive) but Odin stuck at SetupConnection.. I'm a little bit scared and disappointed 'cause I took config.gz directly from the GS1, so I don't understand why it doesn't work.
When will your odin package ready ? Hope soon
Thanks in advance for your help.

==EDIT==

I've realised I missed the pit file, I used one given with ODIN, and it worked, I mean my kernel was flashed. I cannot flash default zImage (given previously) anymore, and I've got a yellow triangle :/ I don't know this thing, I'll try Kies.
Well I don't know if it's a kernel image and you can't flash kernel with kies. You can try to revert it to normal. Also when you will try to restore using kies. Follow this tutorial in order to have the firmware of YP-GS1 please:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1170416

Or this one:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1474632
 
Rayn16120
Old
#50  
Rayn16120's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 84
Join Date: Feb 2012
I know that kies cannot flash kernels but i did it with Odin.
The zImage given by eSildur isn't a stock kernel ?
I'll search into the kernel modules if forgot a kies module or something like.

But I've a problem because Kies wont recognize my GS1... For now I cannot restore it but I can put it in download mode..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes