Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,709 Members 47,230 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Error while restoring /data!

Tip us?
 
MadMav88
Old
(Last edited by MadMav88; 31st May 2012 at 05:58 PM.)
#1  
MadMav88's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default [Q] Error while restoring /data!

I got this error when I restore a full backup in CWM.
I explain better:
I made a full nandroid backup & a full titanium backup on my old PB G100W, then I received a brand new tablet from Acer.. Now I would restore back all my apps & data, so I made downgrade from HC 3.2.1 to HC 3.0.1 unstable, root, recovery 1.3.4, updated recovery to 1.7.3 touch and flashed Tegraowners v169.
I restored apps by Titanium and everything was ok, but 2 apps (Opera and a game weren't work properly). Tried something to solve it, but nothing.
I decided to restore my last nandroid backup from cwm 1.7.3, but nothing, restoring boot ok, restoring system ok, restoring data works for a while, almost at the end stops and give me back "Error while restoring /data!".
Maybe my backup could be corrupted or maybe it's a internal storage issue.
So I made a real format (data/media enabled) -> /format system.
Retried, nothing, get back the same error.
Flashed back recovery 1.3.4 by thor and retried restoring, works for a while, then stops again.
I tried another nandroid backup, different from the first one (of 1 week before), same procedure, and stops and the same point.
So, I got two corrupted backup or I'm missing something?

EDIT:
Solved!
I tried so much methods that I bricked the tab, but solved with TimmyDean's method, unbricked, reflashed and then (I don't know how) all Titanium backup were working and no issues.
Maybe the solution on titanium back is reboot a few times.
SOLVED!
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#2  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5,991
Posts: 7,253
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
3 things possible.

1. You had corrupted data when you did the recovery.
2. Your recovery image is messed up.
3. Thor 1.7.3 is flakey. See number 2.

I'm betting on 3.

Just a hunch. Seems CWM 1.7.2+ has issues on some tablets. This is known in the XDA bootloader forums. Sorry you didn't hear about this, but I would advise ver 1.7 or one of the other options. A pity your recovery image is no good.

Rule of thumb. After making a recovery image, you should always restore it to make sure it is good. Not take it for granted that it works.

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
MadMav88
Old
#3  
MadMav88's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
3 things possible.

1. You had corrupted data when you did the recovery.
2. Your recovery image is messed up.
3. Thor 1.7.3 is flakey. See number 2.

I'm betting on 3.

Just a hunch. Seems CWM 1.7.2+ has issues on some tablets. This is known in the XDA bootloader forums. Sorry you didn't hear about this, but I would advise ver 1.7 or one of the other options. A pity your recovery image is no good.

Rule of thumb. After making a recovery image, you should always restore it to make sure it is good. Not take it for granted that it works.
I got some freezes on 1.7.3, a few in flashing/wiping time.. Then, I restored 1.3.4 recovery, and it worked fine.
I had to update the old version to 1.7.3 for tegraowners v169 flashing, so I made it. On reboot, it wasn't work anymore.. In recovery mode the screen was blinking, no way to get out. In normal boot the tab got stuck on Acer logo, in recovery mode blinked.
Used the unbricking method with new recovery image (the same 1.7.3 touch) and all went fine.
Rebooted, flashed, restored by titanium and no issues.
Faith mistery!

Thanks for answering master Moscow

Sent from my Packard Bell G100W@RF1_rv3 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes