5,595,428 Members 48,295 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Fastboot Mode on device not working on TF300T

Tip us?
 
Gutteran
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2012
Default [Q] Fastboot Mode on device not working on TF300T

After I start fastboot mode on my device, I can't see my device when I type "fastboot devices" in Windows 7 x64 command line when connect via USB. It just returns a blank line. My device drivers seem to be working perfectly. The device has no yellow indicator, and is listed Under Asus Android Devices as ASUS Android Bootloader Interface when I manually put in fastboot mode. Otherwise my computer recognizes it as ASUS Android ADB Composite device. When using adb, it recognizes the device all day long. I can push and pull files or any other adb command I try. The only one that doesn't seem to be working correctly is "adb reboot-bootloader". As I understand it, having read a few other posts on fastboot, this is supposed to take you into fastboot on the device. For me, it just reboots the device, and I end up going into the OS. I have tried uninstalling my devices from device manager in Windows and reinstalling them several times, and have reinstalled SDK tools twice. Also, for what it's worth, when I hold down Volume down and power, the device displays this:"Android cardhu-user bootload (2.10 e)", before reporting my firmware version, currently 9.4.3.29, then giving me 5 seconds to hit volume up to start recovery. Does anyone know what I might be able to do, or read up on to fix this issue?


The following details may or may not matter, but I wanted to post them in case what I've done so far could shed some light on the issue. I was on unlocked, unrooted firmware update to 9.4.3.29. Then I saw that there was an experimental build for Cyanogenmod, and decided to take the plunge. I unlocked the bootloader, downgraded using ViperMod, and the .17 blob file, then used sparkroot to root my device, (today I manually updated .29 firmware, and lost my root), and installed CWM recovery 5.8.2.0. I flashed Cyanogenmod and STG7. And at one point, when I restored a nandoid made in CWM, it had an error loading the data. After it loaded, and I don't remember why, I restored factory settings from the settings menu of the stock rom and I was stuck in recovery boot, and my computer wouldn't recognize the device. Finally after substituting a motorola adb driver (asus drivers wouldn't take at the time), I was able to eventually get connected in adb and ran these commands after checking around on some forums:

"adb shell"
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 bs=100 count=1 and press [Enter]
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=16 count=1 and press [Enter]
exit
exit

Then it rebooted like it was supposed to. After that, I think is when I flashed TWRP 2.1.5 from Goo Manager. I hope some of those details may help, because I am at a loss. Thank you in advance if you can help!
 
newowner
Old
#2  
newowner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 139
Join Date: Feb 2009
how did you use moto drivers for the Asus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gutteran View Post
After I start fastboot mode on my device, I can't see my device when I type "fastboot devices" in Windows 7 x64 command line when connect via USB. It just returns a blank line. My device drivers seem to be working perfectly. The device has no yellow indicator, and is listed Under Asus Android Devices as ASUS Android Bootloader Interface when I manually put in fastboot mode. Otherwise my computer recognizes it as ASUS Android ADB Composite device. When using adb, it recognizes the device all day long. I can push and pull files or any other adb command I try. The only one that doesn't seem to be working correctly is "adb reboot-bootloader". As I understand it, having read a few other posts on fastboot, this is supposed to take you into fastboot on the device. For me, it just reboots the device, and I end up going into the OS. I have tried uninstalling my devices from device manager in Windows and reinstalling them several times, and have reinstalled SDK tools twice. Also, for what it's worth, when I hold down Volume down and power, the device displays this:"Android cardhu-user bootload (2.10 e)", before reporting my firmware version, currently 9.4.3.29, then giving me 5 seconds to hit volume up to start recovery. Does anyone know what I might be able to do, or read up on to fix this issue?


The following details may or may not matter, but I wanted to post them in case what I've done so far could shed some light on the issue. I was on unlocked, unrooted firmware update to 9.4.3.29. Then I saw that there was an experimental build for Cyanogenmod, and decided to take the plunge. I unlocked the bootloader, downgraded using ViperMod, and the .17 blob file, then used sparkroot to root my device, (today I manually updated .29 firmware, and lost my root), and installed CWM recovery 5.8.2.0. I flashed Cyanogenmod and STG7. And at one point, when I restored a nandoid made in CWM, it had an error loading the data. After it loaded, and I don't remember why, I restored factory settings from the settings menu of the stock rom and I was stuck in recovery boot, and my computer wouldn't recognize the device. Finally after substituting a motorola adb driver (asus drivers wouldn't take at the time), I was able to eventually get connected in adb and ran these commands after checking around on some forums:

"adb shell"
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 bs=100 count=1 and press [Enter]
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=16 count=1 and press [Enter]
exit
exit

Then it rebooted like it was supposed to. After that, I think is when I flashed TWRP 2.1.5 from Goo Manager. I hope some of those details may help, because I am at a loss. Thank you in advance if you can help!
RAZR - stock, rooted, ICS 4.04 20120630 0700Z (LOL)
TF300T - stock, rooted, 4.03 (Won an IPAD 3 and traded it in...)
RESIST data caps!!!
 
Drgravy
Old
#3  
Drgravy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1051
Posts: 476
Join Date: Mar 2012
first off I think that recovery is for the tf201 you need the recovery from this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1668173

for fast boot try to remove drivers and reinstall them and maybe a pc reboot
The Following User Says Thank You to Drgravy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
newowner
Old
(Last edited by newowner; 23rd August 2012 at 08:43 AM.) Reason: update
#4  
newowner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 139
Join Date: Feb 2009
Edited:

OK I have tried the push the down volume and I've gotten to the options menu but the only options I have are to wipe or boot Android .... no USB option....

Thanks for replying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drgravy View Post
first off I think that recovery is for the tf201 you need the recovery from this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1668173

for fast boot try to remove drivers and reinstall them and maybe a pc reboot
RAZR - stock, rooted, ICS 4.04 20120630 0700Z (LOL)
TF300T - stock, rooted, 4.03 (Won an IPAD 3 and traded it in...)
RESIST data caps!!!
 
newowner
Old
(Last edited by newowner; 23rd August 2012 at 08:51 AM.)
#5  
newowner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 139
Join Date: Feb 2009

Test upload pic
RAZR - stock, rooted, ICS 4.04 20120630 0700Z (LOL)
TF300T - stock, rooted, 4.03 (Won an IPAD 3 and traded it in...)
RESIST data caps!!!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes