Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,801 Members 44,498 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] old iphone reception > evo 3d?

Tip us?
 
curto
Old
#1  
curto's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] old iphone reception > evo 3d?

my friend has an iphone 3gs and we're both on the same carrier. she gets way way better reception with her iphone and i am wondering why. i read a couple threads that suggest the antennae of the evo being at the bottom being the problem cause when you hold it your hand blocks the signal, however if i place both phones side by side and not even touch them the iphone signal is still a lot better. how is it that a nearly 3 year old phone smashes a modern day smart phone in terms of reception?
 
thakk
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 42
Join Date: May 2012
Are both phones using the same speed of network? I didn't think the iphone 3gs did the 3G or 4G? I thought it was only a 2G phone.
 
curto
Old
#3  
curto's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thakk View Post
Are both phones using the same speed of network? I didn't think the iphone 3gs did the 3G or 4G? I thought it was only a 2G phone.
yes both using 3G, the original iphone only had 2G. the iphone 3G and up have both
 
laie1472
Old
#4  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 828
Posts: 4,540
Join Date: Feb 2010
Try upgrading your radio,profile and prl. Also you can try this to see if it will help

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1153371

#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
 
curto
Old
#5  
curto's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by laie1472 View Post
Try upgrading your radio,profile and prl. Also you can try this to see if it will help

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1153371

#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
what do you mean by profile and prl if you can be bothered to explain?
 
Datguy_n_Disguy
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 624
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ocoee, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by curto View Post
what do you mean by profile and prl if you can be bothered to explain?
You go to settings > update > profile/prl

Prl tells the phone about any new towers that are available in your area.

I think profile... No, still don't know what profile does.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
 
curto
Old
#7  
curto's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datguy_n_Disguy View Post
You go to settings > update > profile/prl
eh? settings as in on the phone.. and then "update" ? i aint got no update thing in settings, could you be specific?
 
coal686
Old
(Last edited by coal686; 2nd June 2012 at 03:09 PM.)
#8  
coal686's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5755
Posts: 5,181
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa-ish, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by curto View Post
she gets way way better reception with her iphone and i am wondering why.
How do you know? By the signal meter? The signal meter on a phone is a joke. Like the battery meter on some phones (which show full until it drops like a rock and dies), the signal meter can be falsified as well. The iPhone on AT&T shows a 4g connection even though it only uses their 3g network. On the stock Rom, our evo3d shows a 3g connection even if it is only 1x. I would test bandwidth using Speedtest and if those are comparable, then don't sweat it.

Sent from my PG86100
 
curto
Old
#9  
curto's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by coal686 View Post
How do you know? By the signal meter? The signal meter on a phone is a joke. Like the battery meter on some phones (which show full until it drops like a rock and dies), the signal meter can be falsified as well. The iPhone on AT&T shows a 4g connection even though it only uses their 3g network. On the stock Rom, our evo3d shows a 3g connection even if it is only 1x. I would test bandwidth using Speedtest and if those are comparable, then don't sweat it.

Sent from my PG86100
she's definitely got better reception. we're talking like, I'll have no bars, or 1, and nothing internet wise is working but she'll have like 2-3 and her net will be flying.
 
zcink
Old
#10  
zcink's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 1,475
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Middle Earth
Default Interesting

There may be something to this.

There is a little shop I like to shop at. The shop is inside a building with a metal roof. Now you would not expect to get a good signal in there. I don't.

I have go outside in the parking lot to make a phone call. A friend of mine's daughter whips out her Iphone one day and starts talking away while in this same store. I asked her who her carrier was. Att. She gets 3 bars in the store.

I researched it and there is only one Att Tower in that area. so we are both using the exact same tower and using the exact same carrier but her reception is so much better.

In general though I don't usually experience a problem with signal strength almost anywhere else I go. No dropped calls ever with the EVO 3D.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more