FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Euro Lumia 800 on ATT 3g?

21st April 2012, 01:47 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Would the device work on ATT 3g+? If not, is it possible to flash the firmware with the US variant of the 800?

Sent from my Radar 4G using XDA Windows Phone 7 App
 
 
21st April 2012, 03:10 AM |#2  
anseio's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mi123645

Would the device work on ATT 3g+? If not, is it possible to flash the firmware with the US variant of the 800?

Sent from my Radar 4G using XDA Windows Phone 7 App

The EU Lumia 800 (RM-801) does not have the AT&T 850MHz 3G bandwidth. Flashing the firmware for the US variant (RM-819) will not solve the problem. We've already tried it.

You'll only get what's available on the 1900MHz 3G band.
1st June 2012, 09:32 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anseio

The EU Lumia 800 (RM-801) does not have the AT&T 850MHz 3G bandwidth. Flashing the firmware for the US variant (RM-819) will not solve the problem. We've already tried it.

You'll only get what's available on the 1900MHz 3G band.

Are you completely sure?
Here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1483217

It says that it could enable 850mhz in a EU 900mhz lumia 800 one.

It works?

EDIT:
Sorry, the main post of the thread was not updated, last comments says it does not work.

Too bad!.
Last edited by Braian87b; 1st June 2012 at 10:43 PM. Reason: Mistake
2nd June 2012, 04:18 PM |#4  
anseio's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braian87b

Are you completely sure?
Here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1483217

It says that it could enable 850mhz in a EU 900mhz lumia 800 one.

It works?

EDIT:
Sorry, the main post of the thread was not updated, last comments says it does not work.

Too bad!.

So glad you read through that thread. I was one of the people there doing the experiment and have the perfect physical location to know the differences between RM-801 and RM-819 coverage/function.
2nd June 2012, 09:00 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anseio

So glad you read through that thread. I was one of the people there doing the experiment and have the perfect physical location to know the differences between RM-801 and RM-819 coverage/function.

It says that it improves speed:

Quote:

Test Results:
....
-Big improvement on Cellular data. Network B/W on Rogers 3G jumped from 3-4Mbps to 11-12Mbps. This means High speed is working.

Here I have Hdspa but the "H" never appeared on my Lumia I only have "E" (edge), if I update it will start working?
3rd June 2012, 08:51 AM |#6  
anseio's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braian87b

It says that it improves speed:



Here I have Hdspa but the "H" never appeared on my Lumia I only have "E" (edge), if I update it will start working?

You don't get to update, you get to flash. You start over with a fresh OS. You're welcome to try it, at your own risk. If it works, great. If not, then flash the correct firmware.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes