FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

Flash ROM From SD Card?

107 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By mar11974, Senior Member on 8th February 2007, 10:31 PM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th September 2008, 07:27 AM |#11  
gixxum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
can i ask why you would load the rom from an SD card when you state "connect to active sync"? if you have a computer there, that the phone is connected to, why not just use it to flash the rom?
 
 
29th September 2008, 07:54 AM |#12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxum

can i ask why you would load the rom from an SD card when you state "connect to active sync"? if you have a computer there, that the phone is connected to, why not just use it to flash the rom?

Because my power button is broken and I can barely get the phone into bootloader. While in bootloader, active sync will not connect to the phone so I can flash it via my computer. Thats why I was wondering if I coud flash thru the SD card.
8th April 2009, 09:05 PM |#13  
YOSEFE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 108
 
Donate to Me
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by mar11974

This is what I did:

1. OPEN RUU_Excalibur.exe with an archiver and extract files to temporary directory (the file we want is the EXCAIMG*.nbh)
2. Format SD card using FAT32
3. Insert SD card into phone
4. Connect using ActiveSync
5. Rename nbh file to "EXCAIMG.nbh"
6. Copy EXCAIMG.nbh to SD card
7. Disconnect phone
8. Start Manual Bootloader (hold camera key for three seconds and press power button)
9. After quick messages (checking sd card, etc.) you should get "Update SD image? Press power button to download" screen with countdown in bottom corner
10. After timeout you will go to color bars UI

Exit bootloader: hold camera key, wait three seconds and hold down power key also until phone turns off

My phone is not unlocked, so I didn't test with other roms.

Thanks mate, your info above saved my unlocked athena (X7500) on which I had flashed a wm6.5 ROM which was faulty, and had completely taken over my athena, and refused to flash any other roms.

I have now reflashed with original rom before I try to flash other roms again.

Thanks once again.

PS. The last step does not work with Athena, what works is to simply do a soft reset by inserting the stylus into the reset hole.
17th May 2009, 12:28 AM |#14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
helpp
does this only work with the original rom becasue i tries and it said invailid cerfiticate
17th December 2009, 03:33 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've done all the steps,but I still can't enter bootloader.I'm holding camera key for 3s,and then I press the POWER buttons while still holding camera key,but the phone start normally.Could anyone show me how to enter bootloader ? More clearly
17th December 2009, 05:11 PM |#16  
Mr. Clown's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator - Fear the Clown
Flag Lake Ridge, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 2,510
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrayTea

I've done all the steps,but I still can't enter bootloader.I'm holding camera key for 3s,and then I press the POWER buttons while still holding camera key,but the phone start normally.Could anyone show me how to enter bootloader ? More clearly

Keep trying, you are probably holding too much time the power button.
18th December 2009, 01:20 AM |#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmaniac2008

Keep trying, you are probably holding too much time the power button.

Thanks but I still can't do it Do I need to release cam key when I press Power ?? or holding it ? Same question for Power button ? I'd know the timer is very important..
Funny,I've sitting in front of my clock,count 3,and do it ~ 1k time,mine buttons are nearly broken
22nd July 2011, 05:50 PM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
To enter bootloader

Remove the batery
Put batery :P
Press & holding camera buttom
Connect Cable USB PC to Phone...
Last edited by REDKOF; 22nd July 2011 at 05:55 PM.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes