Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,914 Members 49,604 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How-To] Remove HTClinkifydispatcher.apk to open YouTube links to the YouTube app etc

Tip us?
 
AshtonTS
Old
(Last edited by AshtonTS; 3rd May 2013 at 07:01 PM.)
#1  
AshtonTS's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2726
Posts: 5,710
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Woodstock, CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [How-To] Remove HTClinkifydispatcher.apk to open YouTube links to the YouTube app etc

This should work for all HTC phones with HTClinkifyDispatcher.apk (so basically all HTC phones on 4.0 or 4.1 and a few on 2.3 with most sense-based ROMs) if opening a YouTube link in the browser doesn't give you the option to open it in the native YouTube app, you have HTCLinkifyDispatcher on your phone. This also applies to Play Store links, Maps addresses, and possibly Contact data and phone numbers.

You're going to have to be rooted to do this.
Some custom ROM's already have this removed.

1. First use root explorer or another root browser app to find and delete HTClinkifydispatcher.apk. This can be found in /system/app

2. Download and install a build.prop editor (such as THIS app) from the Play Store. Alternatively, you can just use a root-enabled file browser to edit it in /system

3. Find the line that says "ro.da1.enable". Click on it and change from "true" to "false". In some recent updates, there may be more than one instance of this line. Change every instance of this code to make sure it works fully.

4. Reboot to recovery and clear your cache and wipe dalvik

5. Reboot system and enjoy!

Note: Contrary to popular belief, you do need to delete the .apk from /system/app, or else you may incur problems

This guide is based on the findings of iconeo and steal25, so credits to them
Original thread can be found here (the line it says to add to the build.prop underneath the one we edit shouldn't be necessary for our device)


If you encounter any problems, let me know. If it works for you, please hit thanks for me.

Sweet! This got on the front page of XDA!! Thanks guys!


ROM: CyanogenMod 10.2
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch
Kernel: franko.Kernel
#BlameAnt

HTC Linkify | ADB/Fastboot for Mac | General Android Help | Cydia for Android

If I helped, please press the thanks button.
The Following 95 Users Say Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dyetheskin
Old
#2  
dyetheskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,022
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: bensalem, pa
sick stuff! didn't think there be a revert patch to undo HTC's associations
"Takes A Freak To Please A Freak"

 
RoryHe
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 300
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North ID
THIS IS WHY I LOVE XDA.
Now we just have to ask devs to incorporate this into ROM's, shouldn't be hard.



LONG LOATHE APPLE.
If i helped feel free to throw me a "thanks"
 
dragonrazorz
Old
#4  
dragonrazorz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 836
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yes!!!!!!!! Thanks you!!"
 
AshtonTS
Old
#5  
AshtonTS's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2726
Posts: 5,710
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Woodstock, CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoryHe View Post
THIS IS WHY I LOVE XDA.
Now we just have to ask devs to incorporate this into ROM's, shouldn't be hard.



LONG LOATHE APPLE.
Haha. Glad you like It bro


ROM: CyanogenMod 10.2
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch
Kernel: franko.Kernel
#BlameAnt

HTC Linkify | ADB/Fastboot for Mac | General Android Help | Cydia for Android

If I helped, please press the thanks button.
The Following User Says Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AshtonTS
Old
#6  
AshtonTS's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2726
Posts: 5,710
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Woodstock, CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonrazorz View Post
Yes!!!!!!!! Thanks you!!"
And you too


ROM: CyanogenMod 10.2
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch
Kernel: franko.Kernel
#BlameAnt

HTC Linkify | ADB/Fastboot for Mac | General Android Help | Cydia for Android

If I helped, please press the thanks button.
The Following User Says Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GoldenCyn
Old
#7  
GoldenCyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 508
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Worked like a charm, thanks.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
Hi, my name is GoldenCyn, and I'm addicted to flashing ROMS.
 
SteveG12543
Old
#8  
SteveG12543's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 2,105
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dover, DE

 
DONATE TO ME
Success! I was wondering why it wasn't giving me the option to choose the YouTube app when I click on a YouTube link, or the Play Store when I clicked on a Market link. Was so annoying the other way, thank you

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using XDA Premium HD app.


 
teckels
Old
#9  
teckels's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 208
Join Date: Nov 2008
Youtube worked great, back to the good old days. I also tested cell number and email from text message which worked and also phone number from an email in exchange. (all issues people had). Thanks for putting this in one place.
 
derek4484
Old
(Last edited by derek4484; 7th June 2012 at 02:54 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 633
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
I was running Scott's Clean ROM 4.4 and after I wiped the cache and Dalvik cache and rebooted it told me "Android is upgrading...." and then it went through and said "Optimizing XXX of 247 apps"

Is this normal?

Edit: This definitely fixed the issue I was having with facebook app. Everytime I clicked on a weblink in a post on my timeline, I'd get an error from facebook that said connection error and retry and it never worked. Now it works great!
CleanROM 4.5 HTC Rezound w/S-OFF

The Following User Says Thank You to derek4484 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
#blameant
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes