Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][MOVED] ICS 4.0.4 BCM RC4.1U2 GSM/CDMA <2012-07-03> (Bravo CM9 HWA)

OP dk_zero-cool

10th June 2012, 08:52 AM   |  #5341  
sroy001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Installed 4.0 - Below are my observations on new drewis kernel

- Transition animations really smooth. I use Riptide GP as standard gaming benchmark. Game runs really smooth, but phone reboots every time. I have tried all setting in the governer.
- Shaky's kernel lags in transition animation. However gaming is great and phone remains rock solid even when OC at 1.2ghz - No reboots whatsoever

@DK - love the new drews kernel, but it needs more work

This is the most authentic ICS thread with regular updates and we can all see DK working really hard to make it perfect.
Loving tether-as I always missed it on ICS roms

Thank you!

Sent from my HTC Desire using xda premium
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sroy001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2012, 09:05 AM   |  #5342  
abellimz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hey DK, I tried flashing the rom three times with m2sd move cache enabled and I got stuck on boot screen.
But then I tried m2sd disable cache... and i managed to boot up. So does it mean we shouldn't move cache? Anyway I'm on data++ hboot.

Also, the part where u get to choose to install additional apps, where is the bind to system option? I think it could be a lack of system space due to the apps. Or maybe its just the m2sd cache.
10th June 2012, 09:21 AM   |  #5343  
ikocijan's Avatar
Member
Flag Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 14
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abellimz


Also, the part where u get to choose to install additional apps, where is the bind to system option? I think it could be a lack of system space due to the apps. Or maybe its just the m2sd cache.

It has been removed because some apps work better on system and some on data so now installer automaticly installs these apps.



Unless I'm wrong, which, you know, I'm not...
10th June 2012, 09:24 AM   |  #5344  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 246
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Download links for RC4 are broken. fix them please..
10th June 2012, 09:35 AM   |  #5345  
abellimz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikocijan

It has been removed because some apps work better on system and some on data so now installer automaticly installs these apps.



Unless I'm wrong, which, you know, I'm not...

If that's e case. I believe there is not enough space on /system if I am using data++ to install a few of these apps....unlike in previous versions.

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA
10th June 2012, 10:01 AM   |  #5346  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I had the v6 supercharger running with rc3.7. After installing the 4.0 should v6 be rerun or there's no need to do it?

Also, do the notification led works for new email with the gmail app?

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA
10th June 2012, 10:13 AM   |  #5347  
Senior Member
Flag Kraków
Thanks Meter: 621
 
1,983 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I think services.jar was overwritten when updating (pretty sure about that), and it needs to be reinstalled

Sent from my HTC Desire using xda premium
10th June 2012, 10:24 AM   |  #5348  
dk_zero-cool's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Horsens
Thanks Meter: 4,424
 
3,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmsxms

I would imagine it's disabled so you can't 'escape' out of the wizard during first boot and effectively skip the setup wizard which sets your language etc.

Maybe, but the best option would be to keep these enabled by default, and then have Wizard disable them once it start, and then re-enable them after setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny_kano

Why don't you just patch out the checks of device_provisioned in the framework, then home button will always work?

Good idea, or just add a property that can be placed in build.prop

Quote:
Originally Posted by sroy001

@DK - love the new drews kernel, but it needs more work

There is no new Drewis kernel. There are new qcom libs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abellimz

Hey DK, I tried flashing the rom three times with m2sd move cache enabled and I got stuck on boot screen.
But then I tried m2sd disable cache... and i managed to boot up. So does it mean we shouldn't move cache? Anyway I'm on data++ hboot.

Need at logcat. Cache works fine for others, me included.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abellimz

If that's e case. I believe there is not enough space on /system if I am using data++ to install a few of these apps....unlike in previous versions.

Again, this installer has been made to do different installs based on hboot. If you have Data++, additional system apps are NOT installed to /system/app. They are installed to /data/app-system and then LINKED to /system/app.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dk_zero-cool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2012, 11:00 AM   |  #5349  
Alien2653's Avatar
Member
Flag Karaj
Thanks Meter: 5
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svashtar

Snap snap,

never ever had a snappier performance on my Desire...this release is a great improvement...4.0

I do have a question though. How do you guys clear dalvik cache? Through RootExplorer or some other file manager, or through the recovery? I am using ClockWorkMod Touch recovery and i am not sure it does delete dalvik cache.
It takes some time to load a "Yes" option, but delete action itself is so fast i am not sure....

Thanks for advice on this...

I don't think it fails to wipe dalvik cache but you can go for an app called "Root Toolbox"

Sent from my HTC Desire with BCM 3.7U0 ICS ROM using Tapatalk
Last edited by Alien2653; 10th June 2012 at 11:04 AM.
10th June 2012, 11:39 AM   |  #5350  
dk_zero-cool's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Horsens
Thanks Meter: 4,424
 
3,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svashtar

Snap snap,

never ever had a snappier performance on my Desire...this release is a great improvement...4.0

I do have a question though. How do you guys clear dalvik cache? Through RootExplorer or some other file manager, or through the recovery? I am using ClockWorkMod Touch recovery and i am not sure it does delete dalvik cache.
It takes some time to load a "Yes" option, but delete action itself is so fast i am not sure....

Thanks for advice on this...

Then delete it your self. Nothing more to it than deleting /data/dalvik-cache and /sd-ext/dalvik-cache from recovery.

The Following User Says Thank You to dk_zero-cool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes