Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Revert to Stock OS without SD Card

OP hoakj

27th January 2012, 06:37 PM   |  #11  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
LOL , after using NC for almost a year, I still find something to love the NC even more
It is awesome.
24th April 2012, 01:51 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
still trying
Am I doing this wrong?
Do I try the three finger wipe when the cyanogen(mod) symbol comes up or when the cyanogen(mod) 7 animated logo starts? All I wanted is access to Android apps( being from Canada).
Tried more than 8 times at the first symbol, but it comes up but the text ....Booting into recovery... Am I too quick on the trigger? Please excuse the old fart with big fingers. Thanks for any replies.
28th April 2012, 04:27 AM   |  #13  
Harrybub's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by squarehdca

Am I doing this wrong?
Do I try the three finger wipe when the cyanogen(mod) symbol comes up or when the cyanogen(mod) 7 animated logo starts? All I wanted is access to Android apps( being from Canada).
Tried more than 8 times at the first symbol, but it comes up but the text ....Booting into recovery... Am I too quick on the trigger? Please excuse the old fart with big fingers. Thanks for any replies.

Start with the Nook completely powered off.

Press and hold the Pwr. button, the Vol. + button, and the n button until you see the screen flash.

Release all buttons for 1 sec then press and hold only the Pwr. button until the Nook powers down. (Backlight off) This works best in dim lighting.

Do it again.

Do it 8 times in a row and the next time it will install the image stored internally and you will be back to what it came out of the box with.

If you goof up the timing and it starts to boot up you will have to power it down again and start over at count one.

I have done this several timems on 2 different Nooks and it always works.

Oh and stop with the old fart stuff. I'm 60.
The Following User Says Thank You to Harrybub For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th May 2012, 12:40 AM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
This was extremely helpful when for some reason it wasn't letting me restore the device in the first place. I really should've known about this but I appreciate it greatly and it is pretty great that it works so easily.
3rd June 2012, 09:36 PM   |  #15  
brsingr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alta Loma
Thanks Meter: 52
 
426 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrybub

Start with the Nook completely powered off.

Press and hold the Pwr. button, the Vol. + button, and the n button until you see the screen flash.

Release all buttons for 1 sec then press and hold only the Pwr. button until the Nook powers down. (Backlight off) This works best in dim lighting.

Do it again.

Do it 8 times in a row and the next time it will install the image stored internally and you will be back to what it came out of the box with.

If you goof up the timing and it starts to boot up you will have to power it down again and start over at count one.

I have done this several timems on 2 different Nooks and it always works.

Oh and stop with the old fart stuff. I'm 60.

So what your saying is that I can restore my NC back to stock even if I've installed CM7 directly to the emmc, using the 3 fingered "salute" boot? I think I did something like this months ago, but my NC has been on the full android for so long now, I want to return it to B&N stock seeing as I have an android phone now...and maybe start over again.

Sent from my R800x using XDA
8th June 2012, 12:34 AM   |  #16  
Harrybub's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by brsingr

So what your saying is that I can restore my NC back to stock even if I've installed CM7 directly to the emmc, using the 3 fingered "salute" boot? I think I did something like this months ago, but my NC has been on the full android for so long now, I want to return it to B&N stock seeing as I have an android phone now...and maybe start over again.

Sent from my R800x using XDA

I've never tried it in that exact situation but I think the answer is yes...
15th June 2012, 05:44 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Flag Puerto Rico
Thanks Meter: 29
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
i tried this and after the 3rd attempt, the Rom manager menu appears and now i am on a rom menu loop, I hit reboot, the cyanogen logo appears and then the ROM manager menu!

not good!

I boot using sd card that was formatted with CM7.2 and works fine.

help please!

thanks!
15th June 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #18  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,697
 
8,424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakland

i tried this and after the 3rd attempt, the Rom manager menu appears and now i am on a rom menu loop, I hit reboot, the cyanogen logo appears and then the ROM manager menu!

not good!

I boot using sd card that was formatted with CM7.2 and works fine.

help please!

thanks!

I think you mean the Clockworkmod menu, not ROM Manager. If you are in a recovery bootloop, which it sounds like you are, go to my tips thread linked in my signature and look at item A8. Follow what it says and it may get out of it.

The Following User Says Thank You to leapinlar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes