Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD] dim capacitive buttons/leds | fixed | [9/3/12]

OP rsage

16th May 2012, 12:28 AM   |  #21  
rsage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adv1sory

possibly add a soft flash feature? I currently have a Galaxy Note and there isn't a dev that can figure it out. Just wondering, since you were able to dim the captivate buttons, should be similar to tweaking the flash.

Ah ok, actually they have nothing to do with each other. Capacitive button characteristics are controlled by a set of system files. To give the camera app the ability to do a soft flash would probably require someone reverse engineering the apk, then making mods and recompiling (including adding some way to turn the soft flash on/off). Or someone would have to write a third party camera app with that capability. Technically it should be possible because I have a flashlight app that uses the camera flash and it can be set to varying levels of brightness, but I really don't know.
16th May 2012, 04:14 AM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 63
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Amen to that. What direction would I need to go to reverse engineer the app? What coding language would I need to learn?
16th May 2012, 05:37 PM   |  #23  
rsage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adv1sory

Amen to that. What direction would I need to go to reverse engineer the app? What coding language would I need to learn?

Android apps are coded in Java. You'd also probably have to familiarize yourself with smali. There are ways to reverse-engineer or decompile apk's, but this thread isn't the right place to discuss. I'd post something in the general section. You can also check out this thread, the OP has had success in making mods to the stock camera app:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1569777
The Following User Says Thank You to rsage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2012, 06:09 PM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 63
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsage

Android apps are coded in Java. You'd also probably have to familiarize yourself with smali. There are ways to reverse-engineer or decompile apk's, but this thread isn't the right place to discuss. I'd post something in the general section. You can also check out this thread, the OP has had success in making mods to the stock camera app:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1569777

Thank you so much for guiding me in the right direction. I greatly appreciate it. Makes me wish I paid attention in Java class when I had the chance, but found the case sensitive language a burden.
18th May 2012, 08:14 PM   |  #25  
bjaxon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern Virginia
Thanks Meter: 61
 
409 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
How could I turn them off completely? I know some have it in the tweaks, but I'm on rez 2.5 and he has no option.
18th May 2012, 09:06 PM   |  #26  
rsage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjaxon

How could I turn them off completely? I know some have it in the tweaks, but I'm on rez 2.5 and he has no option.

Search Newt's sense4 (OnE XxX) thread - fo0you posted a script that toggles them on/off. Sorry I don't have the exact link handy...
The Following User Says Thank You to rsage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2012, 02:48 AM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
This doesn't seem to work for me on Newt's One XXX RLS 3.
17th June 2012, 02:59 AM   |  #28  
rsage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrkelley

This doesn't seem to work for me on Newt's One XXX RLS 3.

Does rls3 support init.d scripts? At first glance it doesn't look like it does, you may want to ask him
17th June 2012, 04:46 AM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Ok, I'll ask him.
18th June 2012, 05:47 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Does support init.d scripts. Had to manually do it. The flashable version did not work. Permissions were wrong on the flashable script. Someone over at themikmik steered me in the right direction.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes