Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] USB 3G Huawei 173s on Acer Iconia A500

OP ozzye

22nd April 2012, 12:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Has anyone succeeded to start USB 3G modem on A500.
It is the 5-th day I am trying different roms and kernels.
Now I use Thor Rom 14.2 [3.2.1], and applied 3g fix 14.2 with no result.
Please Help
22nd April 2012, 12:35 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
E173s does not work, although E173 is listed as supported, e173s is a new revision with different driver and it doesn't work with iconia.
I also have this stick and I lost couple if days trying to make it work, finally I bought E1552 for 10$ and it works flawlessly.
22nd April 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
What does this dongle do for you on the A500?
23rd April 2012, 10:12 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Error when searching for networks, and it is impossible to save APN. Absolutely no difference with or without the USB Stick.
I saw some people saying that after several procedures it works. Some kernel modules may be, or probably I need drivers for E173s-2.
23rd April 2012, 10:18 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Are you sure you flashed the 14.2 3g patch? There was a previous version with a defective apn.conf file that produced the problems you are describing. Maybe you try flashing again the latest 3g patch.

With best regards, maris
24th April 2012, 12:38 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I thought 14.2 3g patch i only one. can you give a link or something here or on a message
18th June 2012, 07:04 PM   |  #7  
Godwarrior1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Unhappy then what dongle???
What dongle usb modem works with the iconia a500 without any problem? please help me!!!!! I have the same problem using the same modem huawei E173

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes