Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,742 Members 37,640 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] USB 3G Huawei 173s on Acer Iconia A500

Tip us?
 
ozzye
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default [Q] USB 3G Huawei 173s on Acer Iconia A500

Has anyone succeeded to start USB 3G modem on A500.
It is the 5-th day I am trying different roms and kernels.
Now I use Thor Rom 14.2 [3.2.1], and applied 3g fix 14.2 with no result.
Please Help
 
da_bar
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2007
E173s does not work, although E173 is listed as supported, e173s is a new revision with different driver and it doesn't work with iconia.
I also have this stick and I lost couple if days trying to make it work, finally I bought E1552 for 10$ and it works flawlessly.
 
soks3d
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Orleans
What does this dongle do for you on the A500?
 
ozzye
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Error when searching for networks, and it is impossible to save APN. Absolutely no difference with or without the USB Stick.
I saw some people saying that after several procedures it works. Some kernel modules may be, or probably I need drivers for E173s-2.
 
maris__
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 198
Join Date: Aug 2011
Are you sure you flashed the 14.2 3g patch? There was a previous version with a defective apn.conf file that produced the problems you are describing. Maybe you try flashing again the latest 3g patch.

With best regards, maris
 
ozzye
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2010
I thought 14.2 3g patch i only one. can you give a link or something here or on a message
 
Godwarrior1
Old
#7  
Godwarrior1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 149
Join Date: Dec 2011
Unhappy then what dongle???

What dongle usb modem works with the iconia a500 without any problem? please help me!!!!! I have the same problem using the same modem huawei E173

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more