FORUMS

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

[Q] USB 3G Huawei 173s on Acer Iconia A500

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ozzye, Junior Member on 22nd April 2012, 11:27 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Has anyone succeeded to start USB 3G modem on A500.
It is the 5-th day I am trying different roms and kernels.
Now I use Thor Rom 14.2 [3.2.1], and applied 3g fix 14.2 with no result.
Please Help
 
 
22nd April 2012, 11:35 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
E173s does not work, although E173 is listed as supported, e173s is a new revision with different driver and it doesn't work with iconia.
I also have this stick and I lost couple if days trying to make it work, finally I bought E1552 for 10$ and it works flawlessly.
22nd April 2012, 09:26 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What does this dongle do for you on the A500?
23rd April 2012, 09:12 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Error when searching for networks, and it is impossible to save APN. Absolutely no difference with or without the USB Stick.
I saw some people saying that after several procedures it works. Some kernel modules may be, or probably I need drivers for E173s-2.
23rd April 2012, 09:18 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Are you sure you flashed the 14.2 3g patch? There was a previous version with a defective apn.conf file that produced the problems you are describing. Maybe you try flashing again the latest 3g patch.

With best regards, maris
24th April 2012, 11:38 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I thought 14.2 3g patch i only one. can you give a link or something here or on a message
18th June 2012, 06:04 PM |#7  
Godwarrior1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Unhappy then what dongle???
What dongle usb modem works with the iconia a500 without any problem? please help me!!!!! I have the same problem using the same modem huawei E173
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes