Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more
Post Reply

Dell Venue Pro..I think I have a demo model

24th May 2012, 10:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I got a Venue Pro yesterday. I purchased it on eBay. Hooked it up to perform updates and I couldn't. I constantly get error code 80070002
I have tried it now on two PCs on two different networks, one running Win 7 and the other running Win 8. I have looked on the net but can't really find anything helpful.
Anyway, never having had the phone before I found it odd that it came with a call and message history. Even after I reset the phone it still has a history, pictures of people from Facebook with pictures that are obviously professional shots. All messages are from people each other how great their new Windows phone is.
Also, if I don't use the phone for a couple of minutes it starts a phone demo video/slide show. I am now thinking I have a demo OS even though I can make calls and surf the net. Current OS is 7.0.7004.0
What can I do to totally wipe this phone and start from blank?
Thanks
25th May 2012, 10:51 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
You'll probably have to follow the instructions in "How to unbrick a Dell Venue Pro." No way to change a demo ROM into a retail ROM. You need to flash the retail ROM and start over.
25th May 2012, 04:43 PM   |  #3  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,526
 
3,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
If you still have the original rom installed on it, could you:
run the emapp tool and write down the contents of what it has?

As far as dell is concerned, I dont believe they normally make demo specific roms.
But that is in reference to their android devices and MS might have had them make an exception for the VP (and it's WP7)
25th May 2012, 09:46 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
TheManii has a thread over here where he's collecting this data.
Dial ##634# to enter the hidden Engineering Mobile menu.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1479233
25th May 2012, 10:38 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks to all who replied. I got it fixed. It was indeed some weird demo ROM or setting but its all cleared up now. I used the unbricking thread listed here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1411300
and downloaded the ROM from here
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4da87...18E0BF92D!7216
I got the UpdateWP too from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1262471
Only thing to note is to extract the UpdateWP folder and put both files in to the Zune directory on your PC.
After that everything went relatively smoothly. It took 2 or 3 tries to get the Retail ROM to take and from there the phone updated perfectly until Mango. It failed but I just disconnected USB and reconnected and it ran the update.
Thanks again
3rd June 2012, 06:53 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Same boat
Quote:
Originally Posted by edderspcs

Thanks to all who replied. I got it fixed. It was indeed some weird demo ROM or setting but its all cleared up now. I used the unbricking thread listed here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1411300
and downloaded the ROM from here
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4da87...18E0BF92D!7216
I got the UpdateWP too from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1262471
Only thing to note is to extract the UpdateWP folder and put both files in to the Zune directory on your PC.
After that everything went relatively smoothly. It took 2 or 3 tries to get the Retail ROM to take and from there the phone updated perfectly until Mango. It failed but I just disconnected USB and reconnected and it ran the update.
Thanks again

Hi, I just got a phone in the same conditions you have had mention(demo mode), and I thought I have done and taken the same steps to flash my device, but with not avail, the skydrive file has been removed, and I was wondering if you maybe still have them(the files) somewhere and if I could "borrow" them. I mean I think I have the right ROM and the UpgardeWp, but maybe they are the wrong ones, because is NOT working for me.

Thank you very much and I hope you have a fantastic evening.

Israel

*UPDATE* never mind, I was able to do a proper flash, and now I have a good working Windows Phone...

Israel
Last edited by Israel Perucci; 3rd June 2012 at 08:45 AM. Reason: Fixed
20th June 2012, 06:06 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by edderspcs

Thanks to all who replied. I got it fixed. It was indeed some weird demo ROM or setting but its all cleared up now. I used the unbricking thread listed here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1411300
and downloaded the ROM from here
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4da87...18E0BF92D!7216
I got the UpdateWP too from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1262471
Only thing to note is to extract the UpdateWP folder and put both files in to the Zune directory on your PC.
After that everything went relatively smoothly. It took 2 or 3 tries to get the Retail ROM to take and from there the phone updated perfectly until Mango. It failed but I just disconnected USB and reconnected and it ran the update.
Thanks again

Hi

I am trying to do the same thing. But when I click the sky drive link to download the rom , there is nothing there. It asks me to login to windows live and thats it. Do you still have this rom downloaded and can you email it to me? OR where can I find this rom? Plz help.
20th June 2012, 07:53 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
In the middle of the "how to unbrick your dell venue pro" the rom is posted, on some russian download site.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4&postcount=35

That file is hosted on my skydrive, and it is still available. It may be asking you to log in to your windows live account to access it. Not sure.
The Following User Says Thank You to Technosquid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I got it ! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15th August 2012, 10:23 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by edderspcs

Thanks to all who replied. I got it fixed. It was indeed some weird demo ROM or setting but its all cleared up now. I used the unbricking thread listed here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1411300
and downloaded the ROM from here
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4da87...18E0BF92D!7216
I got the UpdateWP too from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1262471
Only thing to note is to extract the UpdateWP folder and put both files in to the Zune directory on your PC.
After that everything went relatively smoothly. It took 2 or 3 tries to get the Retail ROM to take and from there the phone updated perfectly until Mango. It failed but I just disconnected USB and reconnected and it ran the update.
Thanks again

hi All,

i got a working DVP after doing all steps mentioned in "How to unbrick DVP" after that when i connect my phone to Zune i am getting below error and i am not able to do anything with my phone (data tranfer,update, app install etc), please help meif you can:

ERROR: "RESTORATION ERROR" An error prevented the restoration of your phone to its previous verion.
ERROR CODE: C101002E

i have performed everything that is posted in XDA-developer about this error and when i tried to update/restore/backup from command promt using .cab file i got below error:

Id: \\?\usb#vid_045e&pid_0710#0a1846cd-8203-1781-bc2a-de1974852ebc#
{ca3d7387-f67b-11da-bbec-8000600fe800}
SN: cd46180a - 03828117 - bc2ade19 - 74852ebc
Name: Venue Pro
KITLName: QSD8XXX82BDB791
Manufacturer: DELL
ModelId: 1
Model: Venue Pro
MobileOperator:
Version: 07.00.07004.00-00000

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes