FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Swype Beta news.

228 posts
Thanks Meter: 44
 
By Mooncalled, Senior Member on 22nd June 2012, 04:38 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
For those of us running stock and locked phones, the finally got Swype to work.


Sent from my HTC VLE_U using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mooncalled For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Mooncalled Ad-Free
 
 
22nd June 2012, 05:29 PM |#2  
sharkoparko's Avatar
Member
Houston, TX USA
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
waiting for CM9 to kill the crap
so , you saying downloading and installing swype will work on unlocked t-mo device even it used to say on Swype web page that this will not run on devices with pre-installed/modified swype?
22nd June 2012, 07:15 PM |#3  
ascot17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 444
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooncalled

For those of us running stock and locked phones, the finally got Swype to work.


Sent from my HTC VLE_U using xda premium

Is this the official swype beta that is now working?
My official beta would not work, but a version posted elsewhere in these forums works fine...
Last edited by ascot17; 22nd June 2012 at 07:17 PM.
22nd June 2012, 07:25 PM |#4  
berrykd's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Illinois
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Swype Beta worked for me
The swype beta worked for me on my MyTouch 4G (Glacier) I will see if it works on my One S today.
22nd June 2012, 09:56 PM |#5  
jacewt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Official Swype beta installed just fine on my one s stock, unrooted.

Ps, we don't have Swype pre installed, that is an HTC keyboard with Swype features.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
23rd June 2012, 02:11 AM |#6  
compta5's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I installed the apk from the previous post and worked then later I got a message saying there was an official beta update.installed the official and works great.

Sent from my HTC HOS using xda premium
23rd June 2012, 02:17 AM |#7  
isaster1's Avatar
Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Does anyone know how to get different colored themes for the new version of swype? I realize there is modded apk's but I read a review on The Verge and it is white. I doubt a tech review site would modify it for a review.


Here's the link to the article I'm talking about, I want that version!:

http://www.theverge.com/2012/6/20/30...board-hands-on
25th June 2012, 06:45 PM |#8  
ascot17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 444
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by compta5

I installed the apk from the previous post and worked then later I got a message saying there was an official beta update.installed the official and works great.

Sent from my HTC HOS using xda premium

I never got a message, but have now installed the official beta as well.

About 5 minutes after installing, I got a random reboot on my phone which I have hardly ever had. Hope it is not related....
26th June 2012, 02:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 124
 
More
Downloaded this a few days ago, working great except one problem...
Sometimes when I press the space button it close the keyboard and goes to the home screen (yes I'm sure I wasn't accidentally pressing home button ). Mainly noticed in stock messaging app, and I always get the toast notification "Swype will automatically insert a space for you".
Anyone else?

Sent from my HTC VLE_U using XDA
28th June 2012, 04:08 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
happens to me sometimes too...thought maybe the home key was a little sensitive or I have fat fingers
2nd July 2012, 08:50 AM |#11  
Sneakyghost's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag InMyHead
Thanks Meter: 11,312
 
Donate to Me
More
I have both the older swype and the one that was offered lately running on the One S.

What i find interesting is that the new Swype seems to be very different. The layout has changed, functions have been reordered, its faster, doesn't have its terrible lag anymore. Also now its offered under the company name of "Nuance" which i never saw before. It's a bit like a new keyboard.
Also, i am not sure it is as good as it used to be. I have ambivalent feelings for it at the moment.

But to answer to the main question of the thread: both versions run perfectly well on the One S and i had never had a reboot. I am on LeeDroid. I have had it on a rooted stock ROM (1.78 base) before.
-

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes