Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can't run adb shell!

OP serkejal

21st June 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
hi have this problem...
when i run "adb shell" the output is :

exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2)

its normal? ho i can fix it?

some details
tft101g
firm. 9.2.2.6
21st June 2012, 09:18 PM   |  #2  
mrevankyle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victoria, BC
Thanks Meter: 540
 
1,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
where are you trying to run the shell from?
22nd June 2012, 12:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
i try from ubuntu, arch and win7..
but the problem is on the tab
terminal emulator app crash and in /system/bin there isnt any sh

ps : with my other android i have no problem with adb
22nd June 2012, 02:25 AM   |  #4  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 725
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
If /system/bin has no sh file that's probably the problem.

Try placing sh in /system/bin (I attached it). Should help fix the problem if that's where it exists.
Attached Files
File Type: zip sh.zip - [Click for QR Code] (148.6 KB, 386 views)
22nd June 2012, 09:45 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
thanks but...this is the core of the problem
with last update i lost the root, ota rootkeeper dont work, so i cant write in system, i don't now how its possibile that i lost sh, but every method for rooting not working now (because adb shell not work).
I stunned by this!! i dont how whar i can do....
22nd June 2012, 08:44 PM   |  #6  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 725
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Have you tried a factory reset and reinstall, that's about all I can think of to fix adb shell at this point, aside from waiting for a new update that includes it.
23rd June 2012, 03:45 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
you may check /system/xbin in the offchance it was relocated...
25th June 2012, 05:58 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
factorty reset doesn't help! still not found
and yes i find it in xbin but without root i can cp it
25th June 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #9  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 725
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
I guess a terminal app would need to specifically look for it in xbin.
I don't know how this would work, I'd say you need to wait for the next OTA.
25th June 2012, 10:04 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
yeah..
i have download the last update from the asus site, and after the update sh is in the rigth place
Terminal emulator work again
its strange that i can reflash an update that was already installed but...now work and bye asus its time for cocking
tanks to all

The Following User Says Thank You to serkejal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes