Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,341 Members 48,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [A510] Screen Responsiveness Bug?

Tip us?
 
salisbury_steak
Old
#1  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 656
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Default [Q] [A510] Screen Responsiveness Bug?

I got my A510 a couple of days ago and I'm experiencing screen responsiveness issues at certain scenarios...
The tablet will not respond to touch when laid on a table or in bed. But once you hold the back with your hand (Or even with just a finger), the sensitivity goes back to normal.

I'm confirming that toggling the sensitivity does indeed fix it (as I saw in another forum). However, you will need to toggle it again after a restart (Or sometimes while in use, it happened to me once when I enable/disabled by BT). I have a generic screen protector installed.

My question is... Is anyone else experiencing this? Or does anyone have a permanent fix?
Thank you for thanking!

LG G2 D802 ESA
ROM: Stock (4.4.2) rooted
LG Optimus 2X P990
ROM: CyanogenMod 7 Temasek Unofficial (2.3.7)
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.2.5)

Acer Iconia Tab A510
ROM: Stock (4.1.2) rooted
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.4.9)


Don't have Dropbox yet? Get an additional 500MB cloud storage free (on top of 2GB) by clicking this referral link!
 
Screwedupsmitty
Old
#2  
Screwedupsmitty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 204
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NE Ohio
Common issue, no permanent fix per say, if you searched you would most likely find that you can go to settings, switch your sensitivity o either high or low, switch it back to the original and that will reset your screens touch settings, which will last until you rat your tablet. Hope that helps

Sent from my A700 using XDA
Please don't forget to THANK the people that help you

Join Dropbox and get an extra 500Mb free for both of us!
http://db.tt/Wh8V9LJe

Samsung Galaxy Nexus LTE
--AOKP Toro Milestone 5
--Lean Kernal 3.4.0
--IMM76I
TF700 (Still a virgin)
The Following User Says Thank You to Screwedupsmitty For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
salisbury_steak
Old
#3  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 656
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screwedupsmitty View Post
Common issue, no permanent fix per say, if you searched you would most likely find that you can go to settings, switch your sensitivity o either high or low, switch it back to the original and that will reset your screens touch settings, which will last until you rat your tablet. Hope that helps

Sent from my A700 using XDA
Yeah, I did search. I just thought that there's maybe a fix that I missed. Thanks bud!
Thank you for thanking!

LG G2 D802 ESA
ROM: Stock (4.4.2) rooted
LG Optimus 2X P990
ROM: CyanogenMod 7 Temasek Unofficial (2.3.7)
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.2.5)

Acer Iconia Tab A510
ROM: Stock (4.1.2) rooted
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.4.9)


Don't have Dropbox yet? Get an additional 500MB cloud storage free (on top of 2GB) by clicking this referral link!
 
californiarailroader
Old
#4  
californiarailroader's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 4,026
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Redwood Valley, Northwestern California (Previous-Pocatello, Idaho(90-97)/Southern California(71-90)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screwedupsmitty View Post
Common issue, no permanent fix per say, if you searched you would most likely find that you can go to settings, switch your sensitivity o either high or low, switch it back to the original and that will reset your screens touch settings, which will last until you rat your tablet. Hope that helps

Sent from my A700 using XDA
Reboot you mean? Ratting out a tablet, that could make you an unpopular person in tablet jail
http://www.nwprr.net
http://www.sonomamarintrain.org
http://www.cahighspeedrail.ca.gov
http://www.xpresswest.com
http://www.amtrakcalifornia.com
http://www.amtrak.com
http://www.bnsf.com
http://www.up.com
http://www.metrolinktrains.com
http://www.pioneertrain.org/
http://www.isu.edu Idaho State University
Phones-HTC One M8 (AT&T)/Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (AT&T)
Tablets-Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition/Lenovo Ideatab Miix 2 8
Smartwatch-Samsung Gear Live
 
BENETNATH
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 868
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
would this be fix if CM9 is ported ?
do you think it's linked to some Acer bloat or badly implemented ICS ?
 
salisbury_steak
Old
#6  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 656
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by BENETNATH View Post
would this be fix if CM9 is ported ?
do you think it's linked to some Acer bloat or badly implemented ICS ?
It's definitely a software issue.

So yes, I think an update from Acer, or any ROM would fix it. CM9 should also be able to fix it, if and when it will be released.
Thank you for thanking!

LG G2 D802 ESA
ROM: Stock (4.4.2) rooted
LG Optimus 2X P990
ROM: CyanogenMod 7 Temasek Unofficial (2.3.7)
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.2.5)

Acer Iconia Tab A510
ROM: Stock (4.1.2) rooted
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.4.9)


Don't have Dropbox yet? Get an additional 500MB cloud storage free (on top of 2GB) by clicking this referral link!
 
BENETNATH
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 868
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
as we have got the kernel sources,
is CM9 possible to be build ?
noob question but i don't know what is required to build CM9..
 
salisbury_steak
Old
#8  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 656
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by BENETNATH View Post
as we have got the kernel sources,
is CM9 possible to be build ?
noob question but i don't know what is required to build CM9..
We need a dev.

I didn't come from a previous Iconia. So maybe someone with experience building for the A500 can help us out. (Assuming he also gets the A510.)

P.S. I didn't know that we already have kernel sources for the A510. That's good news then.
Thank you for thanking!

LG G2 D802 ESA
ROM: Stock (4.4.2) rooted
LG Optimus 2X P990
ROM: CyanogenMod 7 Temasek Unofficial (2.3.7)
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.2.5)

Acer Iconia Tab A510
ROM: Stock (4.1.2) rooted
Recovery: CWM Recovery (6.0.4.9)


Don't have Dropbox yet? Get an additional 500MB cloud storage free (on top of 2GB) by clicking this referral link!
 
BENETNATH
Old
(Last edited by BENETNATH; 27th June 2012 at 04:12 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 868
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
yep :
there :
http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
into 'Document' sheet
don't know if it's complete but at least it's mentioned "kernel source code (for Android 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich)"

In addition, there are already some git :
https://github.com/Dees-Troy/android...acer_picasso_m
 
m.aicardi
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Same bug here.

Waiting for a "definitive" fix.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MultiROM Ported to the Moto E

Few categoriesof Android development are as intrinsically interestingas the ability to boot into multiple … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more