FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] [A510] Screen Responsiveness Bug?

27th June 2012, 12:57 AM |#1  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 657
 
More
I got my A510 a couple of days ago and I'm experiencing screen responsiveness issues at certain scenarios...
The tablet will not respond to touch when laid on a table or in bed. But once you hold the back with your hand (Or even with just a finger), the sensitivity goes back to normal.

I'm confirming that toggling the sensitivity does indeed fix it (as I saw in another forum). However, you will need to toggle it again after a restart (Or sometimes while in use, it happened to me once when I enable/disabled by BT). I have a generic screen protector installed.

My question is... Is anyone else experiencing this? Or does anyone have a permanent fix?
 
 
27th June 2012, 05:17 AM |#2  
Screwedupsmitty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NE Ohio
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Common issue, no permanent fix per say, if you searched you would most likely find that you can go to settings, switch your sensitivity o either high or low, switch it back to the original and that will reset your screens touch settings, which will last until you rat your tablet. Hope that helps

Sent from my A700 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to Screwedupsmitty For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2012, 05:45 AM |#3  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 657
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screwedupsmitty

Common issue, no permanent fix per say, if you searched you would most likely find that you can go to settings, switch your sensitivity o either high or low, switch it back to the original and that will reset your screens touch settings, which will last until you rat your tablet. Hope that helps

Sent from my A700 using XDA

Yeah, I did search. I just thought that there's maybe a fix that I missed. Thanks bud!
27th June 2012, 06:00 AM |#4  
californiarailroader's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Redwood Valley, Northwestern California (Previous-Pocatello, Idaho(90-97)/Southern California(71-90)
Thanks Meter: 469
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screwedupsmitty

Common issue, no permanent fix per say, if you searched you would most likely find that you can go to settings, switch your sensitivity o either high or low, switch it back to the original and that will reset your screens touch settings, which will last until you rat your tablet. Hope that helps

Sent from my A700 using XDA

Reboot you mean? Ratting out a tablet, that could make you an unpopular person in tablet jail
27th June 2012, 02:32 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 886
 
Donate to Me
More
would this be fix if CM9 is ported ?
do you think it's linked to some Acer bloat or badly implemented ICS ?
27th June 2012, 03:53 PM |#6  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 657
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BENETNATH

would this be fix if CM9 is ported ?
do you think it's linked to some Acer bloat or badly implemented ICS ?

It's definitely a software issue.

So yes, I think an update from Acer, or any ROM would fix it. CM9 should also be able to fix it, if and when it will be released.
27th June 2012, 03:56 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 886
 
Donate to Me
More
as we have got the kernel sources,
is CM9 possible to be build ?
noob question but i don't know what is required to build CM9..
27th June 2012, 03:59 PM |#8  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 657
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BENETNATH

as we have got the kernel sources,
is CM9 possible to be build ?
noob question but i don't know what is required to build CM9..

We need a dev.

I didn't come from a previous Iconia. So maybe someone with experience building for the A500 can help us out. (Assuming he also gets the A510.)

P.S. I didn't know that we already have kernel sources for the A510. That's good news then.
27th June 2012, 04:07 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 886
 
Donate to Me
More
yep :
there :
http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
into 'Document' sheet
don't know if it's complete but at least it's mentioned "kernel source code (for Android 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich)"

In addition, there are already some git :
https://github.com/Dees-Troy/android...acer_picasso_m
Last edited by BENETNATH; 27th June 2012 at 04:12 PM.
10th September 2012, 10:06 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same bug here.

Waiting for a "definitive" fix.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes