FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Tried to flash new rom, red exclamation mark

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By yosh89, Junior Member on 1st July 2012, 12:58 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi. I flashed my one x to a touchwiz cm9 which worked great. Then I decided to try out cm9 and it wouldn't boot into cyanogenmod. So I tried to go into recovery but it comes up with the red exclamation point. Could I have some help please, I'm in way over my head :/
 
 
1st July 2012, 02:35 AM |#2  
Northantrim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yosh89

Hi. I flashed my one x to a touchwiz cm9 which worked great. Then I decided to try out cm9 and it wouldn't boot into cyanogenmod. So I tried to go into recovery but it comes up with the red exclamation point. Could I have some help please, I'm in way over my head :/

I'm no expert, but I think that means you have somehow gotten rid of CWM..

Re-flash it again through fastboot. Use this version.

Edit: Also, before trying out any new ROMs (maybe this doesn't apply to those using the Aroma installer, but I do it anyway just to be safe), go into fastboot and do in cmd:

Code:
fastboot erase cache
Then go into CWM and factory reset, wipe cache partition and then advanced -> wipe dalvik cache.

Then you can go ahead and install the ROM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Northantrim For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Northantrim Ad-Free
1st July 2012, 02:36 AM |#3  
Member
Kiel
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Try erase cache in fastboot. Do you use the stock kernel? Domination mod (cm9 based) has a problem with Franco kernel. There you need to flash faux or stock.

Gesendet von meinem HTC One X mit Tapatalk 2
1st July 2012, 12:04 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northantrim

I'm no expert, but I think that means you have somehow gotten rid of CWM..

Re-flash it again through fastboot. Use this version.

Edit: Also, before trying out any new ROMs (maybe this doesn't apply to those using the Aroma installer, but I do it anyway just to be safe), go into fastboot and do in cmd:

Code:
fastboot erase cache
Then go into CWM and factory reset, wipe cache partition and then advanced -> wipe dalvik cache.

Then you can go ahead and install the ROM.


Oh thank you so much! That worked great. I had to flash the CWMR first and after I installed CM9 from zip, I flashed the boot.img from the CM9 zip and it booted straight in.

Thank you
1st July 2012, 12:20 PM |#5  
Northantrim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yosh89

Oh thank you so much! That worked great. I had to flash the CWMR first and after I installed CM9 from zip, I flashed the boot.img from the CM9 zip and it booted straight in.

Thank you

Glad it works
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes