Post Reply

[ROM][Pre-Pre-ALPHA] Droid A855 ICS Build Attempt

6th July 2012, 09:43 AM   |  #1681  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddyearp

Ahh and one tiny final note. The patches that kfazz did to the kernel and using the defy batt.d file to get the 1% battery reporting (at least for me) will definately tell you whether you have an OEM battery or not.

Earlier today I switched out to my inexpensive POS ebay supposedly OEM (probably chinese) that has never lasted more than 8 hours and given me all kinds of other grief; battery, and it kept reporting 100%, but discharge rate was unknown. And then suddenly it just quit, powering off the phone but when I plugged into an OEM charger it would power up and start to charge and finish soon; yet upon unplugging, bye, bye phone.

Now I am running my high dollar Mugen 3300 yet with similar results as far as battery reporting. It is staying at 100% with and "unknown" message in battery stats.

Rebooting to CWRecovery and wiping battery stats did not change it.

And now I'm done. You hope.

I'm on the same boat...tried wiping battery stats too but no dice.
Went back to cm7.2
6th July 2012, 05:56 PM   |  #1682  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
i think the rom is using the cpu wrong. i had to clock it at 125-600 so it would stop over heating. and when i look at what the processor is running it always says 550 but im using the on demand perimeter. i dont know if i did something. is anyone else having this problem? and my usb works now after a clean install. Great work kfazz
6th July 2012, 06:08 PM   |  #1683  
Member
Flag Statesboro
Thanks Meter: 10
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Angry Busted... You Got Me! lol...
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddyearp

Just for kicks, I doubt the kernel had anything to do with it, _maybe_ an idiosyncrasy within one of these builds required only /system/media.

When the A855 was released and _before_ we had root, the only place to put a custom bootanimation.zip file was in /data/local. Then once we had root, we could also mount /system rw and put it into /system/media copying over whatever one was there. If there was not a bootanimation.zip file in the rom, the one you see on kfazz's would play and where it is, who knows?

There were alot of problems, where to began...? The reason I thought one of the kernel's only used system/media is because I compress a zip animation(zip setting in winrar set to best) and it did not work in data/local but did in system/media, the kernel or whatever not sure but whatever governs the amount of space in system/media only had about 10mb of free space and with cm9 bootanimation being 12mb there was a problem. So I edited it a little to make it under 10mb so it would work in either directory and put it in a post saying it would work on previous kernel's with the 10mb system/media directory.

I only compressed it like that for one reason, because you can only attach zip files under 11.8mb on xda forums. So I compressed the file to 9.7mb it didn't work in data/local but did in system/media. I was so naive I didn't check the official cm9 bootanimation.zip to see if it work in data/local, but I checked it later and found that it did indeed work in both, you just can't compress the bootanimation at all. It's just stored in a zip container, So if I would have edited the image files to about 10mb and then stored the files as a zip(no compression at all) it would have worked in both directories.

To solve the xda attachment file problem I just uploaded the cm9 bootanimation.zip to mediafire and posted the link... think that's what I'm do from now on when I share up here...

So anyways tired of typing. I Was Wrong. I LITERALLY don't know s**t about kernels or building roms to be honest, just what a pickup from you guys on this fourm. And when I hear ya talk about something and research/google it
Last edited by lwilli; 6th July 2012 at 06:35 PM. Reason: typo and more details...
6th July 2012, 06:55 PM   |  #1684  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Heya, I've tried searching this thread but I can't find much relevant results about it. I've installed the 2012-07-03 build of this ROM yesterday on my Droid 1, it's working fantastic, but there is one major issue i've noticed: it doesn't seem to contain an English dictionary so auto-correction hints on the keyboard aren't working and almost every word is marked as spelled incorrectly.

Is there a dictionary I can install to the phone or is this feature just not implemented yet?
6th July 2012, 07:32 PM   |  #1685  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwilli

When on a hunt for a file....
Google's your friend!! And So is http://forum.xda-developers.com!!!

Place in data/local of new build 07/03

Enjoy...

http://www.mediafire.com/?19fo3rc9vkxlfor


If this helped you click thanks!

i put it in data/local as it was (12.3mb) and it worked fine
7th July 2012, 02:58 AM   |  #1686  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwilli

I LITERALLY don't know s**t about kernels or building roms to be honest, just what a pickup from you guys on this fourm. And when I hear ya talk about something and research/google it

I didn't quote your whole post to save space. And I don't really know much more than you about building, but I am still trying to learn as are you. And I have done a LOT of reading and have a LOT more to go. I try to follow an adage in one person's signature, "read more, post less".

When I do share something that I feel pretty sure that I _do_ know, I hope I am not coming off as a smugmug, I just wish to share what I _think_ I know for the readers.

And to kfazz about what I have shared about this work of yours. I hope when I post detailed stuff about the things that don't work/or I don't like that you don't take it like I am not appreciative of your work; I am. The title still says pre-alpha, and I try it out as such therefore I feel as though the wonky/not quite working stuff should be detailed. When the stuff works, what other detail does one need?

With that in mind, man this thing is close, but last night after running this rom for a couple of days, I just got so tired of pressing buttons and waiting forever for apps or actions to take place that I almost threw my phone across the room. Reverting to the stock launcher only slightly lessened this. This morning I applied V6 and that only fixed it for a while. I even reverted back again to the stock AOSP launcher, but my phone kept getting more and more unresponsive.

You've got most everything else working on this rom, it is getting so close I can taste it. Keep up the good work and THANK YOU.
7th July 2012, 05:03 AM   |  #1687  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddyearp

I didn't quote your whole post to save space. And I don't really know much more than you about building, but I am still trying to learn as are you. And I have done a LOT of reading and have a LOT more to go. I try to follow an adage in one person's signature, "read more, post less".

When I do share something that I feel pretty sure that I _do_ know, I hope I am not coming off as a smugmug, I just wish to share what I _think_ I know for the readers.

And to kfazz about what I have shared about this work of yours. I hope when I post detailed stuff about the things that don't work/or I don't like that you don't take it like I am not appreciative of your work; I am. The title still says pre-alpha, and I try it out as such therefore I feel as though the wonky/not quite working stuff should be detailed. When the stuff works, what other detail does one need?

With that in mind, man this thing is close, but last night after running this rom for a couple of days, I just got so tired of pressing buttons and waiting forever for apps or actions to take place that I almost threw my phone across the room. Reverting to the stock launcher only slightly lessened this. This morning I applied V6 and that only fixed it for a while. I even reverted back again to the stock AOSP launcher, but my phone kept getting more and more unresponsive.

You've got most everything else working on this rom, it is getting so close I can taste it. Keep up the good work and THANK YOU.



My phone is a bit laggy too. Sometimes I need to do a battery pull, but it's sort of manageable for now.

And also, I'm having an issue with Links2sd. I have around 96 MB free space. when I reboot my phone, it goes down 24 MB and I get that low storage space notification, and I have to relink all the apps on sd to get rid of that notification and have 96 MB free again. anyone else having that problem? thanks
7th July 2012, 03:04 PM   |  #1688  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
I did not notice any problems as you describe or otherwise using link2sd with this rom.
7th July 2012, 05:21 PM   |  #1689  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 561
 
243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
intermittent lag is caused by out of memory killer killing background tasks and them constantly restarting

clean install, depending on settings say 99M to 80m free
DSPmanager takes 5-6mb (and crashes all the time, is it broken? removed it from current test build)
gapps (goodle services, media, and play store) eats ~25 mb
maps itself takes another 10
if you have facebook theres another 11

these things run all the time in the background so it becomes a constant struggle between oom killer and background services.
so if you open Browser it wants about 50Mb and all these are running something gets killed, then you press home and it lags...


i'm looking into methods for working around this such as zram (formerly compcache) or killing the services when they aren't being used, but for now, it's probably better to not use gapps and just sideload whatever you need, while paying attention to ram use
Last edited by kfazz; 7th July 2012 at 05:25 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kfazz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2012, 06:21 PM   |  #1690  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfazz

intermittent lag is caused by out of memory killer killing background tasks and them constantly restarting

clean install, depending on settings say 99M to 80m free
DSPmanager takes 5-6mb (and crashes all the time, is it broken? removed it from current test build)
gapps (goodle services, media, and play store) eats ~25 mb
maps itself takes another 10
if you have facebook theres another 11

these things run all the time in the background so it becomes a constant struggle between oom killer and background services.
so if you open Browser it wants about 50Mb and all these are running something gets killed, then you press home and it lags...


i'm looking into methods for working around this such as zram (formerly compcache) or killing the services when they aren't being used, but for now, it's probably better to not use gapps and just sideload whatever you need, while paying attention to ram use

is there anyway we can get a file manager in the next build? or a file manager in update.zip format. ive looked for one in update.zip but cant find it. if we had that we wouldnt need gapps. i prefer not using gapps to save space. does anyone have a file manager in .zip format?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
droid a855 ics alpha
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes