Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,116 Members 48,320 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[NIGHTLIES] CyanogenMod 9 Discussion Thread

Tip us?
 
trell959
Old
#6871  
trell959's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 800
Posts: 6,115
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scourgeofgod View Post
Probably a dumb question... but

When and how does a build progress from nightlies to stable version ... ??
Is the process similarly long for other devices, where builds are tested over months before it can be declared stable ?

Iam not a developer by anymeans but somehow i feel the CM9 builds on N7000 are quite stable and functional for most purposes.
95% of functions work and 90% of those work well for 99% of the time. So why this wait to declare it stable ?

Exceptions like stylus shouldnt be a matter IMO because CM9 development for Note is not supposed to support additional functions of stylus anyway.

Basically when can we expect to see GNote's image listed in Cynogenmod page as officially supported device ??
It is an officially supported device. The site rarely gets updated.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
Phones: Samsung Galaxy Note N-7000
Samsung Galaxy S II i-777
HTC Inspire 4g
Samsung Captivate




"Don't regret anything you do man. It's just a waste of time." -Watt9493
The Following User Says Thank You to trell959 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mobilevil
Old
#6872  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by scourgeofgod View Post
When and how does a build progress from nighties to stable version ... ??
in nighties other cm devs are adding features. That's why it is cm, not pure aosp.
We are in rc1 now is means feature is frozen, only bug fixes are accepted in rc branch.


Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to mobilevil For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kailashnj
Old
#6873  
kailashnj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 566
Join Date: Nov 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kailashnj View Post
Guys,

I am able to connect using wifi direct to another handset, but when I go to the file explorer to share files, I have no options to share them via wifi on the CM9 rom. Please help.

Kailash
Guys I have still not received answer to this question of mine and hence bumping the thread.

Thanks.
LG G Pro 2 - best phone of 2014

Originally Posted by ahalford
Reading the opening post in every XDA thread is like taking off the pants before going to the toilet, otherwise the result is a bit confusing...
 
ahalford
Old
#6874  
ahalford's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2105
Posts: 2,237
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: עץ החיים

 
DONATE TO ME
I heard from one guy about same problem.
That's what good to use for filesharing:
Ghost Commander
SMB for Ghost Commander - to share with PC



We all do so many stupid things, for bad reason or no reason at all.
'Forgive them, Father, they know not what they do' applies to nine-tenths of our actions.
 
hg42
Old
#6875  
hg42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 540
Posts: 613
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kailashnj View Post
wifi direct
I do 't use it, but did you turn it on in settings?
Looks like wifi client and wifi direct cannot be used at the same time?
using SGN1 N7000, SGN3 N9005

please avoid PMs
* PIT/repartitioning: my PIT thread
* scanner topics (not repartitioning!): my emmc scanner thread
I will quote and answer to PMs of general interest in the appropriate thread.

you can donate to me if you want
 
gartner83
Old
#6876  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 324
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ljubljana
Quote:
Originally Posted by gartner83 View Post
Well,it seems,that when cm reboots,the mobile and wifi network location settings are forgotten or the yahoo weather tries to refresh based on the wrong parameters.

I did full wipe,formatted everything and this pattern is repeating again. So, I guess it's a bug. Ca someone else confirm that?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda app-developers app
I found another pattern.

Well,I know now when it works and when it doesn't. When cm reboots and if you refresh the weather,when you haven't entered the PIN yet,it won't work until you uncheck and check mobile network location.

But if you refresh the weather after you enter the PIN and you wait that everything connects than the lock screen weather will refresh everytime.

But I did notice that refresh time doesn't refresh on the first refresh tap,you have to refresh it twice for it to refresh it's last refresh time. A little complicated. Well,maybe the dev will look inside these issues if it is an issue of cm at all.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda app-developers app
 
poope
Old
#6877  
poope's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scourgeofgod View Post
Probably a dumb question... but


Iam not a developer by anymeans but somehow i feel the CM9 builds on N7000 are quite stable and functional for most purposes.
95% of functions work and 90% of those work well for 99% of the time. So why this wait to declare it stable ?
because it's quite stable?
 
samXLR
Old
#6878  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 55
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by poope View Post
because it's quite stable?
lol, nice word catching but in all seriousness I didn't have a single crush or reset or any issue at all (not a single "___ has stopped responding" message). sense hmm... last week's or the week before nightly (to this date).

<3 CM
 
StrangeSavage
Old
#6879  
StrangeSavage's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 70
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manosque
Quote:
Originally Posted by gartner83 View Post
But I did notice that refresh time doesn't refresh on the first refresh tap,you have to refresh it twice for it to refresh it's last refresh time. A little complicated. Well,maybe the dev will look inside these issues if it is an issue of cm at all
same thing here. i guess it's a small bug.
 
scourgeofgod
Old
#6880  
Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahalford View Post
I heard from one guy about same problem.
That's what good to use for filesharing:
Ghost Commander
SMB for Ghost Commander - to share with PC
I use wifiexplorer and it works perfect every time.

Tags
aosp, cm9, cyanogenmod, galaxy note, ics, n7000, snote and smemo no wrk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes