Post Reply

{Script} {APP} CPU Sleeper, The Battery Saver Mod! 07/06/2012 { Release 3 Reversion 1

OP eugene373

6th July 2012, 11:49 PM   |  #1  
eugene373's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,302
 
5,626 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
App Version:
CPU Sleeper
~Free to all XDA Memebers
~ Must Be Rooted to use App

What is it?
Its a fairly simple App that will put CPU 1/2/3 OFFLINE when the screen turns off. Once the screen comes back on, it will allow CPU 1/2/3 back ONLINE.

How does it work?
Since we have Dual & Quad core CPUs, we have a CPU 0 and a CPU 1/2/3, core 0/1/2/3, while the screen is off we really only need to have 1 core active "CPU0", this App will make sure CPU 1/2/3 shuts off while the screen is off, then resumes normal usage when the screen comes back on.

Compatibility?
Works with any Dual Core & Quad Core Devices!
~ICS
~Gingerbread

Battery Saving?
Battery savings all depends on Usage & idle times.

App Download: CPUSleep.apk
Version 1.3 Release Notes:
~ Fixed issue with Phone getting hot
~ Secondary Cores will now Disable while Talking on Phone if Needed
~ Secondary Cores Now Come back online
~ Fixed Superuser Notification being displayed every second
~ Fixed Cores Coming back online while screen is Off
~ Phone's while charge semi-faster while not being used
~ Fixed Lag issue when coming back online

~ Auto-Start on Reboot is still borked


Credits:
Handlerexploit for co-creation of this wonderful App.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to eugene373 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2012, 01:02 AM   |  #2  
pio_masaki's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Surprise, Az
Thanks Meter: 3,642
 
4,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for remembering us little A100 guys over here

For those that don't know, this is the guy that made the CPU Sleeper script I posted about, he made an App version of it.
7th July 2012, 01:07 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 269
 
1,586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Look very useful!I will try it.
9th July 2012, 03:32 PM   |  #4  
DJ_SpaRky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Groveland, FL
Thanks Meter: 97
 
358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Works like a champ counteracting OC battery usage, thanks.

Sent from my Acer Iconia Tab A100 using xda app-developers app
12th July 2012, 02:34 PM   |  #5  
sortus's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Just downloaded to tablet..ill give it a try and report back.

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium
14th July 2012, 11:31 AM   |  #6  
jschall's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Thanks Meter: 21
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Does CPU Sleeper require root access?

When I try to start the service, Superuser denies access.

How can I get Superuser to allow the CPU Sleeper service to run?
14th July 2012, 04:21 PM   |  #7  
DJ_SpaRky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Groveland, FL
Thanks Meter: 97
 
358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Yes, it is the 2nd statement above.

Sent from my Acer Iconia Tab A100 using xda app-developers app
14th July 2012, 06:57 PM   |  #8  
pio_masaki's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Surprise, Az
Thanks Meter: 3,642
 
4,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschall

Does CPU Sleeper require root access?

When I try to start the service, Superuser denies access.

How can I get Superuser to allow the CPU Sleeper service to run?

Go into the super user app, and remove the allow/disallow option for it, then try it again.

The app requires SU, the script does too, but is run in the background, so SU never asks about it or cares that it runs.
The Following User Says Thank You to pio_masaki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th July 2012, 11:44 AM   |  #9  
jschall's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Thanks Meter: 21
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pio_masaki

Go into the super user app, and remove the allow/disallow option for it, then try it again.

The app requires SU, the script does too, but is run in the background, so SU never asks about it or cares that it runs.

Thanks, @pio_masaki, but how do I allow an app in Superuser? I run Superuser, but I don't see any way to allow/disallow apps.

Update: I apparently had lost my root access and had to re-root. Working fine now. Thanks again for your help.
Last edited by jschall; 15th July 2012 at 02:36 PM.
4th August 2012, 05:04 AM   |  #10  
CompuTechnoPro™'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 13
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Question
Why doesn't it work with my S2 (v1.25) ???

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes