FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

who has tested out and successfully used their Wifi Direct Feature on Prime?

6,984 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
By demandarin, Recognized Contributor on 25th April 2012, 12:22 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
14th May 2012, 08:03 PM |#11  
sledgie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
I tried wifi direct as well with ICS 4.0.4 on E4GT which i believe, isn't Samsung's "psuedo" wifi direct seen previously in the 2.4+ builds.

The E4GT can see the prime when it scans. When it tries to connect, the Prime user should be notified, asked to accept the connection, and then both devices "handshake" and stay connected.

When I try to connect, the E4GT just states it's waiting for Prime to connect. No connect here for me in previous testing (although I'm on .15 now so this is irrevelant). Just speaking from previous experience. Prime needs some sort of notification. Seems like libraries are on prime just no connection handshake or connection implementation.
Btw, Prime never sees my E4GT, just vice versa.

Ask Gary what device he had success with? I'd love someone to chime in who has 2 primes....phree perhaps? Erusman?
The Following User Says Thank You to sledgie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
13th June 2012, 10:54 AM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Exclamation
When I was trying the Wifi direct transfer on the TF300, I can't found the transfer icon of wifi direct, the choose icon only ' blue tooth, gmail, webstorage...' that without wifi direct.

I really don't know how to send the file from TF300 to S2 without the wifi direct icon.

conversely, S2 send the file to TF300, the status was holding in transfer, after they recognized.

I sent an email asking the wifi problem to Asus, but they replied that the problem transfer to other department already, and give me notice when future information'. The email over 10 days, I don't believe they have future information in shortly.

I also used an USB to linking both S2 and TF300, but TF300 seems can't recognize the S2, not any device was found.

Now, I only through the PC to make them communication which is TF300, S2 and PC linking together, then using the PC control file transfer. But it is not convenience.
15th June 2012, 12:13 PM |#13  
Junior Member
Flag Mobile, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilcbennett

Question though is can a prime 'see' a prime. I dont have two so cannot check!

I have a Prime (with most recent .28 update), and my son a TF300 - and they "see" each other. Both devices go through the connection process of "inviting" and "accepting", but as has been stated - there is no option to send files via wifi even though they are supposedly connected.
15th June 2012, 12:53 PM |#14  
Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
ASUS only added the WiFi Direct baseline in the ICS .21. It did not had any settings to be made such 'connect to' OR send an invite to the surrounding WiFi devices also waiting for an Ad-Hoc connection. My Laptop keeps on waiting for other devices to connect. And why shouldn't it? There's nothing one can do on TFP then to simply Turn ON and OFF WiFi direct.

Somebody needs to make a WiFi Ad-Hoc Manager UI or APP from where different devices can see each other and send-receive direct connection requests.

Big leap to ICS .28 with just 'inviting' and 'accepting' and not able to send files. ASUS could have updated their ROM for full functionality. They are playing version by version !

Unfortunately, there is no market app available for the same to date.
Last edited by sachinkumar1312; 15th June 2012 at 12:55 PM.
10th July 2012, 12:34 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
CM9
Has any one tried wifi direct with CM9?
10th July 2012, 06:28 PM |#16  
dude2k5's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 279
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe57x

Has any one tried wifi direct with CM9?

I dont see wifi direct on CM9 (At least on my phone, sorry, forgot which forum I was on. Can't unlock or test on the TF Prime, sigh.)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
wifi direct
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes