Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,436 Members 45,102 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Fix][Dec-12] Youtube app without breaking MP4/3GP playback

Tip us?
 
Magger
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenkinz View Post
you don't need the registry fix cab if you download the X1i-Youtube.cab from the 1st post of this thread. But for the latter CAB, you need to have clean X1i w/o previous installation of Youtube to work.

Did you try hard-reset, and then install X1i-Youtube.cab ? If it doesn't work, what language is your ROM? (I hardcode it to \Windows directory, it's my fault I know )
Hard reset = turn on with both of the buttons below the screen pressed, right?
Anyways, yes I tried that.
Also I'm from the Netherlands so my ROM is Dutch.
 
m@rco
Old
#22  
m@rco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 421
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magger View Post
Hard reset = turn on with both of the buttons below the screen pressed, right?
Anyways, yes I tried that.
Also I'm from the Netherlands so my ROM is Dutch.

Just rename ......YouTube.exe.409.mui to YouTube.exe.413.mui.
It's in youre \windows directory.
Then it should work
Greetings from m@rco

Rom: Touch IT 7+
Rom version: 1.03.931.10 WWE
Radio: 1.06.25.29

SE Experia X1 TMO NL (Kovsky)
MDA Compact 3 TMO (Artemis)
MDA Pro TMO (Universal)
Motorola MPX 200
Apple Iphone 2G

Ex MDA Vario TMO (Wizard)
Ex MDA Compact TMO (Magician)
Ex MDA II TMO (Himalaya)
 
Magger
Old
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by m@rco View Post
Just rename ......YouTube.exe.409.mui to YouTube.exe.413.mui.
It's in youre \windows directory.
Then it should work
it was called 0409 so I named it 0413, anyways, it works now

Thank you so much

edit: Ok even though my phone now open the application every time I try to play a movie it says "Error: Cannot play this video."
 
Magger
Old
(Last edited by Magger; 19th November 2008 at 11:33 AM.)
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magger View Post
it was called 0409 so I named it 0413, anyways, it works now

Thank you so much

edit: Ok even though my phone now open the application every time I try to play a movie it says "Error: Cannot play this video."
Tried googling the error a bit and found;
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=164
Is it save for me to try that .cab even though its ment for a completely different rom?

edit: Just made a small movie to test something out, when I try to open it with the media panel or just with windows media player it will give me very loud sort of static sounds and no video...
I've read about this before here but I forgot what caused it... I believe the TF3D cab? Is there any way to fix this or is my X1 ****ed :S
 
zenkinz
Old
#25  
zenkinz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 2,370
Join Date: Apr 2005

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magger View Post
Tried googling the error a bit and found;
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=164
Is it save for me to try that .cab even though its ment for a completely different rom?
when this happens, it means the codec is not available (I think)

I have not seen the CAB before, so I'm not sure.

Can you check for your ROM, what's the windows directory name? Is it Windows or something else?
 
Magger
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenkinz View Post
when this happens, it means the codec is not available (I think)

I have not seen the CAB before, so I'm not sure.

Can you check for your ROM, what's the windows directory name? Is it Windows or something else?
The windows directory is called windows

At device info it says:

ROM version: 1.02.937.3

edit: When you say the codec is not available youre talking about the youtube app not working or all other movies not working? Because, as I've never tried it, I assume the James Bond trailer etc should have worked before, also I cant play any movies i've made with the camera.
 
zenkinz
Old
(Last edited by zenkinz; 19th November 2008 at 11:45 AM.)
#27  
zenkinz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 2,370
Join Date: Apr 2005

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magger View Post
The windows directory is called windows

At device info it says:

ROM version: 1.02.937.3

edit: When you say the codec is not available youre talking about the youtube app not working or all other movies not working? Because, as I've never tried it, I assume the James Bond trailer etc should have worked before, also I cant play any movies i've made with the camera.
ok, let me understand first (sorry, need to rewind back to starting point :eek:)


1. The problem you are facing is you can't play movie on your media panel, or the camera video preview? Can you view Youtube video as well?

2. If the answer to #1 is positive (i.e. you can watch youtube, but not play movie), can you verify if you have previously installed Youtube cab (not from this thread) in your X1 before? If yes, please go to #3

3. Have you tried installing the Youtube-Registry-Patch.cab before, and soft reset after that?

4. If you have not installed Youtube before, and X1i-Youtube.cab is the first youtube CAB you have installed, let me know also.

PS: Hard reset means your phone goes back to factory default setting, and all your data are erased.
 
zenkinz
Old
#28  
zenkinz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 2,370
Join Date: Apr 2005

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdq30 View Post
zenkinz, I just found out that this CAB has to be installed into Windows directory, and there are about 200 files created. I'm wondering whether it's possible to install in storage card? Thank you!
I have not tried so I can't be sure.
 
Magger
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenkinz View Post
ok, let me understand first (sorry, need to rewind back to starting point :eek:)


1. The problem you are facing is you can't play movie on your media panel, or the camera video preview? Can you view Youtube video as well?

2. If the answer to #1 is positive (i.e. you can watch youtube, but not play movie), can you verify if you have previously installed Youtube cab (not from this thread) in your X1 before? If yes, please go to #3

3. Have you tried installing the Youtube-Registry-Patch.cab before, and soft reset after that?

4. If you have not installed Youtube before, and X1i-Youtube.cab is the first youtube CAB you have installed, let me know also.

PS: Hard reset means your phone goes back to factory default setting, and all your data are erased.
1. Originally my problem was that the youtube program wouldnt start. When I followed m@rco's instructions and changed the youtube file's name in the windows directory it worked. When I tried watching a movie in youtube it wouldnt play it though. So I tried playing other movies, in the media panel, the camera application and windows media player, and none of them worked, all of them give very loud static and a black screen.

2. I can't watch either, and yes I have the other youtube cab installed.

3. Yes I've installed the fix, but before I changed that one line m@rco told me to change manually. I doubt running the fix again would do any good but I can try.

4. I did install the other one first

PS. How to do a hard reset then? I tried starting the phone with the two buttons pressed but clearly it's not gone back to the factory settings, or atleast, I dont believe it did, as none of my data was erased. But at this point I think I'd rather start all over from scratch with a working X1 and just install the right cab's instead of old TF3D's
 
m@rco
Old
#30  
m@rco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 421
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magger View Post
1. Originally my problem was that the youtube program wouldnt start. When I followed m@rco's instructions and changed the youtube file's name in the windows directory it worked. When I tried watching a movie in youtube it wouldnt play it though. So I tried playing other movies, in the media panel, the camera application and windows media player, and none of them worked, all of them give very loud static and a black screen.

2. I can't watch either, and yes I have the other youtube cab installed.

3. Yes I've installed the fix, but before I changed that one line m@rco told me to change manually. I doubt running the fix again would do any good but I can try.

4. I did install the other one first

PS. How to do a hard reset then? I tried starting the phone with the two buttons pressed but clearly it's not gone back to the factory settings, or atleast, I dont believe it did, as none of my data was erased. But at this point I think I'd rather start all over from scratch with a working X1 and just install the right cab's instead of old TF3D's
To Hard Reset.

Press the on/off button until youre screen says that you lose data when you shutdown the phone.
Click Ok and the phone is off.

Then pres the 2 buttons under your screen and hold them.
Then press on/off buttom until youre hear a sound.
Then let go of the on/off button but keep the other buttons pressed.
Then you see a white screen that says Press R for factory settings.
Or ... to cancel.
Press R and screen is telling that is goes to factory settings.
After that press Spacebar.
Greetings from m@rco

Rom: Touch IT 7+
Rom version: 1.03.931.10 WWE
Radio: 1.06.25.29

SE Experia X1 TMO NL (Kovsky)
MDA Compact 3 TMO (Artemis)
MDA Pro TMO (Universal)
Motorola MPX 200
Apple Iphone 2G

Ex MDA Vario TMO (Wizard)
Ex MDA Compact TMO (Magician)
Ex MDA II TMO (Himalaya)

Tags
youtube
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...