Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,503 Members 36,893 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] AT&T $50 Prepaid Unlimited - Smartphone Data Working Included??

Tip us?
 
deathnotice01
Old
#31  
deathnotice01's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,200
Posts: 8,240
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cebu

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eskay89 View Post
I be in the US in a few days so will be able to give this a go and let you know results.

From what I have gathered combined with assumption/educated guess:

AT&T obviously will have all of the IMEI numbers for the phones they stock/have stocked.

They could (if it's possible) also have the IMEI's of other providers GSM stock in the US.

But I highly doubt they would have IMEI's of handsets that they do not/have not stocked, that would take A LOT of work.

During the online registration of GoPhone SIM cards, AT&T asks for the IMEI of the phone you want to use. Apparently you can just type 111111111111111 (1 x 15) and it will accept it.

Again all just theory, but I think the general consensus is that if it's not a phone that AT&T sell/sold, meaning they don't have the IMEI, that you will get away with it.
we have a wide range of databases in siebel and mycsp (inter-company databases)
we know all the phones we shipped and all the connections from companies using our service,
we have access for tech support and savedesk (customer svc), but general sales support does not have such tools to check such databases
LG G3 (D855) - Main
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (N9005)
Moto X Dev Edition (XT1053)
Google Nexus 5 (D820)

Samsung Galaxy S4 LTE (I9505/JFLTEXX)
iPhone 5c
iPhone 4s (MD234LL/A)
iPad 2
Nexus 7 2013 (RAZOR-FLO)
Samsung Galaxy Y (GT-5360)
 
fatclue
Old
#32  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 235
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Miami, FloriDuh
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathnotice01 View Post
we have a wide range of databases in siebel and mycsp (inter-company databases)
we know all the phones we shipped and all the connections from companies using our service,
we have access for tech support and savedesk (customer svc), but general sales support does not have such tools to check such databases
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the gophone $50 plan for MediaNet?
 
10xOXR
Old
#33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
I have the HTC One X, purchased and unlocked in the United Kingdom. Would AT&T have the IMEI range that would include this phone? I know that they'll have the records for all phones they stocked and those sold on other US networks, but what about those from the UK and Europe? Can I just bring my phone over, slot in the $50 Unlimited SIM and go from there with data access?
 
Product F(RED)
Old
#34  
Product F(RED)'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,605
Posts: 8,869
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10xOXR View Post
I have the HTC One X, purchased and unlocked in the United Kingdom. Would AT&T have the IMEI range that would include this phone? I know that they'll have the records for all phones they stocked and those sold on other US networks, but what about those from the UK and Europe? Can I just bring my phone over, slot in the $50 Unlimited SIM and go from there with data access?
They won't know. If they ask you for the IMEI, give it to them but tell them it's some Samsung flip phone or something. Because I've heard they ask people for the IMEI and device type now. Other than that you should be fine.

HTC Evo 4G -> HTC Evo 3D/Nexus S 4G -> Galaxy S II -> iPhone 4S -> Galaxy S II -> Galaxy Nexus -> Galaxy S3 i9300 -> Galaxy Note 2 i317 -> Galaxy Note 2 T889


 
donsh00tmesanta
Old
#35  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 128
Posts: 2,452
Join Date: Oct 2011
Can I use a euro unlocked pre2 on this with 3g speeds? $50 unlimited?
 
Mesaman2012
Old
#36  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 194
Posts: 1,435
Join Date: Jun 2012
So I could use this plan on my T-Mobile amaze and get 3G unlimited data?how about 4G? Thanks!!!

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G with Beats Audio using xda app-developers app
 
MrObvious
Old
#37  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 1,904
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesaman2012 View Post
So I could use this plan on my T-Mobile amaze and get 3G unlimited data?how about 4G? Thanks!!!

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G with Beats Audio using xda app-developers app
4G is really just a faster form of T-Mobile's 3G. It uses the same technology. It may not hit the 42Mbps speeds that T-Mobile hits but it should still hit 21Mbps IIRC. I think that's part of the reason AT&T is deploying LTE.
The Following User Says Thank You to MrObvious For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
InfantryMarc
Old
#38  
InfantryMarc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 336
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Coal Hill, Arkansas
Wonder if the red be a way to call in to at&t and say w.e phone ur using now is broken, say ur using a non 4g phone for and to activate your data then re-swap the sim back if data would still work or not?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC
]Verizon Samsung Galaxy S3 SCH-I535
Jelly 'Beans' Rom

Samsung Galaxy S2 i777 (sold)
Android 4.2.1
Rom: Task650's AOKP JellyBean

Samsung Galaxy S Captivate SGH- i897 (sold)
Android 4.1.1
Rom: Baked Captivate Blackbean-3
Build JR003L


Infantry Lead The Way

Tags
at&t, data, prepaid, smart phone
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes