Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,908 Members 53,539 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stuck in bootloop. Cant boot into recovery. CAN boot into download.

Tip us?
 
Bmatthews11
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alplaus
Default Stuck in bootloop. Cant boot into recovery. CAN boot into download.

What do I do? Sorry for noob question... Also do i just odin back to stock? if so how?
 
tocirahl
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 174
Join Date: Jun 2012
Just boot into recovery, plug in your usb cable to your phone and computer, and flash a stock image using Odin. I would suggest you go ahead and flash a rooted stock image using these instructions.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

If you want straight stock:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1737848

Odin can be found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1722686

These are all stickied at the top of Android Development Thread. In the future, please search first.
 
Bmatthews11
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alplaus
Quote:
Originally Posted by tocirahl View Post
Just boot into recovery, plug in your usb cable to your phone and computer, and flash a stock image using Odin. I would suggest you go ahead and flash a rooted stock image using these instructions.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

If you want straight stock:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1737848

Odin can be found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1722686

These are all stickied at the top of Android Development Thread. In the future, please search first.
I flashed to stock and it is still in boot loop. it can go to download mode still but no recovery and still bootloop. Please help.
 
malinois16
Old
#4  
malinois16's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 415
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duson, LA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmatthews11 View Post
I flashed to stock and it is still in boot loop. it can go to download mode still but no recovery and still bootloop. Please help.
Ummm Pull your battery for a minute or so. Put batt back in the press power,home and volume up. When you see the blue writing at top of screen relase all 3 buttons.
 
steves2947
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2010
I had a similar problem, you don't mention which carrier you are on, but I suspect you are using the wrong stock ROM, or an incompatible stock ROM. You need to locate one for your carrier. This is the same problem I had last week.
 
Scrawson
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Same problem.

I'm having the same problem. I followed the no-counter-tripping method to flash a root-injected stock ROM and it worked fine.

I flashed to CM9 and the camera wasn't working, so I used Odin to flash back to the same root-injected stock ROM and now it never finishes booting.

I noticed that flashing to the root-injected ROM didn't delete my apps, which seems strange. I suspect that there's something lingering from CM9 that is causing the loop in stock. I don't know any way to wipe the device and flash only the root-injected ROM, but I'm hoping that will fix it. Is there a way?
 
shoryuken_2020
Old
#7  
shoryuken_2020's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrawson View Post
I'm having the same problem. I followed the no-counter-tripping method to flash a root-injected stock ROM and it worked fine.

I flashed to CM9 and the camera wasn't working, so I used Odin to flash back to the same root-injected stock ROM and now it never finishes booting.

I noticed that flashing to the root-injected ROM didn't delete my apps, which seems strange. I suspect that there's something lingering from CM9 that is causing the loop in stock. I don't know any way to wipe the device and flash only the root-injected ROM, but I'm hoping that will fix it. Is there a way?
Have you tried flashing to stock ROM first (non-rooted)?

I had similar bootloop on GSII and had to go to stock to get it working. then I re-rooted.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more