Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,101 Members 41,203 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root ?

Tip us?
 
cataloochee
Old
#1  
cataloochee's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 59
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver, WA
Default Root ?

Will the method described here [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter - Updated [ATT / Bell / Telus / Rogers]Share Thread:
work with a phone that is already rooted under 4.0.3 or must the phone first be un-rooted? Thanks.
 
mrhaley30705
Old
#2  
mrhaley30705's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,331
Posts: 5,477
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Georgia

 
DONATE TO ME
Its an Odin flash, so it rewrites everything. You can use it, but if your already rooted, why would you want to reroot?


The Following User Says Thank You to mrhaley30705 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cataloochee
Old
#3  
cataloochee's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 59
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver, WA
I rooted under the original UCLEM 4.0.3 so if I can re-root directly it saves the effort to un-root to stock before re-rooting to stock with root. Does that make sense?
 
mrhaley30705
Old
#4  
mrhaley30705's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,331
Posts: 5,477
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Georgia

 
DONATE TO ME
Not to me, but that's not abnormal for me.


 
cataloochee
Old
#5  
cataloochee's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 59
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver, WA
Since I don't have enough posts to post in the Dev. forums I would like to thank mr Robinson here for the excellent tutorial and necessary files to root my S3 stock. Thanks man you are exceptioal.

FYI: I rooted over a previous CWM root with no issues. Used an old charge/data cable from my previous Palm Pre+ which worked fine. The firmware is now listed as Official not Custom and the flash counter has gone from 3 to 2.
 
mrhaley30705
Old
#6  
mrhaley30705's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,331
Posts: 5,477
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Georgia

 
DONATE TO ME
Fwiw, Triangle Away will reset your flash counter, should you ever need to return for warranty.


The Following User Says Thank You to mrhaley30705 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cataloochee
Old
#7  
cataloochee's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 59
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver, WA
Thanks again for the information re: Triangle Away.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes