Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

Jellybean saved my epic

OP Fataldesain

23rd August 2012, 11:37 AM   |  #1  
Fataldesain's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I love the pure Google experience and I hate the touchwiz or any other skin. And when I say hate I mean like I will never buy or use it again. Anyway was running ICS and it was great but battery life a few other bugs it just never felt like it was meant to run on the phone. So I'm in Miami and maybe lte is around corner was going to sell for a nexus and would give up 4g. Now also must say I have a few sprint phones and the epic by far has always had the worst 3g 4g speeds. Only time it was OK was on el26. Have a nexus s 4g and it blows it out of the water side by side.

So the day I was going to sell and get a gal nex I tried jb ROM on the nexus s 4g and man did it make things better. Then I knew on the epic the Roms had the Los issue but man does it fly. It is perfect to me. All I do is keep on the wifi and never get Los (while connected to WiFi). I feel a perfect jb ROM is near and snappy is the word.

The sad part is phones barely have ICS and by the time job gets up to speed something else will be out. My main fear is another nexus being delayed and exclusive again. Google can't really keep screwing things up iPhone 5 will be very tempting for a lot of people.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Fataldesain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2012, 01:49 PM   |  #2  
tykalx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 29
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Im in miami too, actually contemplating leaving sprint for Verizon just because of the signal strength. But you raise an interesting point, if im patient good things may come.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
23rd August 2012, 02:59 PM   |  #3  
-EViL-KoNCEPTz-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay area
Thanks Meter: 3,496
 
6,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Ahhh the iPhone 5, the iPhone 4s with a few new apps and a new name. Same size screen, still no 4g and same old glass case designed to break the first time it falls off your desk so you have to buy a new one. Shattered case? Not covered by warranty I think ill stick with android and a choice, I don't like being told what I'm supposed to like and what I'm allowed to do with something I own, oh yeah when you buy and apple product you don't own it you just paid to borrow it, they still control what you can do with it :thumbdown: lol. You Miami folks should be seeing LTE by January at the latest, coverage should begin spreading in the next month or so and continue thru January when the whole locale should be upgraded and ready to go live.

We are legion, for we are many.

Sent from the DarkSide of the GalaXy with a MEK device
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -EViL-KoNCEPTz- For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2012, 03:07 PM   |  #4  
Apk07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 75
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
It shouldn't have anything to do with your ROM... Your modem speeds and signal strength are related directly to which modem you're using, and the towers around you. That said, FH13 modem was a colossal improvement in terms of reliability here in Detroit (compared to all previous ics modems)

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app
23rd August 2012, 05:00 PM   |  #5  
revamper's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Meter: 298
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apk07

It shouldn't have anything to do with your ROM... Your modem speeds and signal strength are related directly to which modem you're using, and the towers around you. That said, FH13 modem was a colossal improvement in terms of reliability here in Detroit (compared to all previous ics modems)

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app

That's not entirely true. I get far better data speeds on Gingerbread vs. ICS.
The Following User Says Thank You to revamper For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2012, 06:14 PM   |  #6  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
8,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by revamper

That's not entirely true. I get far better data speeds on Gingerbread vs. ICS.

Same here ny average in my area on gb was about 700-800kbps then right when i flash ics it dropped to 400-500kbps

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
23rd August 2012, 09:46 PM   |  #7  
crkdslider's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Overland Park, KS
Thanks Meter: 221
 
727 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653

Same here ny average in my area on gb was about 700-800kbps then right when i flash ics it dropped to 400-500kbps

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

I'd like to know what your setup was during that speed test in your avatar lol
23rd August 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #8  
Apk07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 75
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by revamper

That's not entirely true. I get far better data speeds on Gingerbread vs. ICS.

I feel like that's a big fat placebo effect. I've gone back and forth from GB to ICS to JB, trying out different modems, and they've all been consistent in garbage speeds. Even FH13 is garbage speed, but it much more consistently gives me a "decent" connection than all the other modems, regardless of what ROM I was on

Quote:
Originally Posted by crkdslider

I'd like to know what your setup was during that speed test in your avatar lol

Says he's on university internet :P

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes